Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 107

Thread: Wind Internet Settings

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    when you say 'flawlessly', do you mean that your 3g internet is not knocked out when you send an mms? go ahead, try it out.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    251
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by phphreak View Post
    when you say 'flawlessly', do you mean that your 3g internet is not knocked out when you send an mms? go ahead, try it out.
    Ah yeah it got knocked out for about 20-30 seconds. Guess I hadn't noticed because I was on wifi every time I tried it. Manageable but weird problem.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's a small problem, to be sure. I'd gladly take that problem for a savings of $50 a month over my other cell phone plan: Rogers. Sigh.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    251
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Yeah it was hard giving up my iphone but can't say I'm disappointed with android/unlimited for tons less than I was paying before.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey guys, I'm trying to get data and MMS working on my Motorola Spice and no luck. I'm using the following information

    for Inernet

    Name: Internet
    APN: internet.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC:49 because when I use 490 it disappears
    APN Type: internet

    for MMS
    Name: mms
    APN: mms.windmobile.ca
    Proxy: 74.115.197.70
    Port: 8080
    MMSC: http://mms.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MMC: 49 because when I use 490 it disappears
    APN type: internet+mms

    Can someone please help, thanks in advance.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
    Posts
    99
    Device(s)
    Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    Wind Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Ace9923 View Post
    Hey guys, I'm trying to get data and MMS working on my Motorola Spice and no luck. I'm using the following information

    for Inernet

    Name: Internet
    APN: internet.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC:49 because when I use 490 it disappears
    APN Type: internet

    for MMS
    Name: mms
    APN: mms.windmobile.ca
    Proxy: 74.115.197.70
    Port: 8080
    MMSC: http://mms.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MMC: 49 because when I use 490 it disappears
    APN type: internet+mms

    Can someone please help, thanks in advance.
    APN type should be just mms (not internet+mms) on your 2nd APN

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Hey ....i also just got a motorola spice (xt300) unlocked from mobilicity and trying to use it on windmobile ....can you please tell me if the above settings actually work for you ....it is really wierd that MNC: 490 makes the whole APN setting disappear when trying to save it. Is this a flaw in the motorolo spice phone or is it acceptable to have the MNC value as 49..thanks

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    GVRD
    Posts
    202
    Device(s)
    HTC Mytouch 3G Slide
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    I found a fix that should work for some people running Android and having trouble with MMS messaging. Per this community thread (see Mike_A's last post, second from bottom right now), setting the MMS APN name as "mms.windmobile.ca" seems to make it work, along with the settings on the front page. Worked for me, maybe it'll work for you? If we get enough people in service, perhaps it should be added to the OP.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    138
    Device(s)
    Nexus 5
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    The APN name should have zero impact on its functionality. The name, as far as I know, is entirely for reference purposes. In no way is it used in the connection process.

    You could name it Pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis and it should still work :P

    Also, with it configured as I listed in the first post, MMS works just fine for me on my Nexus One.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    95
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mkomkomko View Post
    Yeah it was hard giving up my iphone but can't say I'm disappointed with android/unlimited for tons less than I was paying before.
    It is difficult to give up the iPhone, but quite frankly Android is 80-90% as good as the iPhone in my opinion. It'll be even closer when they release Skype video calling for Android.

  11. #41
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ~David View Post
    For both Data and MMS to function, you need to set up two APNs:

    Data
    ---------------------------
    Name: Wind CA
    APN: internet.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Type: default,supl

    MMS
    ---------------------------
    Name: Wind CA MMS
    APN: mms.windmobile.ca
    MMSC: http://mms.windmobile.ca
    MMS Proxy: 74.115.197.70
    MMS Port: 8080
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Type: mms


    On Android phones, this can be configured in Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile networks > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN. Be sure to select Menu > Save APN when done entering the above information.
    I wonder why this doens't work for me....what does the supl type do?. When I put them both in there, I couldn't get internet connection..

  12. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Kanata (Canada eh)
    Posts
    9,554
    Device(s)
    Samsung S4
    Carrier(s)
    WindMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I can confirm the MMS settings do work on the Nexus one. I took a test picture and sent it to myself. It went through and came in as a mms message on the phone.
    Come Visit The Farside, If you Dare!



    Can you save Al Gore?

    *Not the real Adam Savage, just a fan*

  13. #43
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    647
    Device(s)
    Xiaomi Redmi Note 3 Pro
    Carrier(s)
    Mobilicity/Chatr
    Feedback Score
    0
    Confirmed.This is a network issue.
    Original OP settings did not work for me from the beginning , but now I can send and receive MMS.
    Carriers tested:
    Wind to Wind
    Wind to Bell
    Wind to Rogers

  14. #44
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    This set may have some problem as I am too having issues although i precisely follow the setup.
    iPhone spy app

  15. #45
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    128
    Feedback Score
    0
    Data
    ---------------------------
    Name: Wind CA
    APN: internet.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Type: default,supl

    MMS
    ---------------------------
    Name: Wind CA MMS
    APN: mms.windmobile.ca
    MMSC: http://mms.windmobile.ca
    MMS Proxy: 74.115.197.70
    MMS Port: 8080
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Type: mms

    ---------------------------
    On Android phones, this can be configured in Settings > Wireless & networks > Mobile networks > Access Point Names > Menu > New APN. Be sure to select Menu > Save APN when done entering the above information.

    I have the Samsung Galaxy S on Wind Mobile and I just switched to the Holiday Miracle Plan. The MMS settings that I used which worked are:
    Make ONE APN with the following settings:

    Name: WIND
    APN: internet.windmobile.ca
    Proxy: Not Set
    Username: Not Set
    Password: Not Set
    Server: Not Set
    MMSC: http://mms.windmobile.ca
    MMS proxy: 74.115.197.70
    MMS port: 8080
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Authentication type: Not Set
    APN type: internet+mms
    ---------------------------

    Laptop Plan
    ---------------------------
    Name: Wind
    APN: Broadband.windmobile.ca
    MCC: 302
    MNC: 490
    Type: internet


    Does that pretty much sums it up?
    is "type" case sensitive? or is it just line name (does not really affect anything)?

    Thanks

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. MMS Settings on WIND
    By ace309 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-04-2012, 08:07 AM
  2. HD7 MMS settings on Wind Mobile
    By pistol44 in forum Windows
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-07-2011, 11:17 AM
  3. WIND MMS Settings?
    By vro25 in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-05-2010, 10:07 AM
  4. WIND Internet Data Server Settings?
    By JimCanuck in forum Freedom Mobile (previously Wind Mobile)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 08:53 PM

Bookmarks