Thread: Leaving Area Code - Should I Change My Number?

Carrier
    Telus
    Feedback Score

Leaving Area Code - Should I Change My Number?

Aiyo,

I'm about to move to a different city (in-province but out of area code) for just about a year. I'm wondering if it would be short-sighted of me to not change my mobile number. As it stands now, I will be moving back to the city I'm about to leave when I'm through with my year-long college program (end of Dec. 2011) and I don't really feel like going through two, potentially three new phone numbers in that time.

What with calling cards, texting, Skype, My5/10, email, etc. I feel like I can manage with the number I have now without getting boned on expensive long distance and such, but I'm also a novice in all things mobile. What do you people think I should do?

Thanks,

Jay

Phones
    Blackberry Torch
    iPhone 5 16gb
    iPhone 4S 32gb
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    The only issue I can see is incoming calls. You will get charged LD on every incoming call you get from any phone number...local or LD, except those on your My5/10 list. You could add Nationwide 40 or some other long distance package, to avoid LD charges but this would be an added cost.

My New Rogers Plan
    - $35 Unlimited Local Calling Plan
    - $30 6GB Data
    - $10 Retention Value Pack - Free (2500 texts, CID, VM)
    - 100 mins LD - Free
    - $67 + tax

Bite me Telus.

Phones
    Blackberry 9700
    LG Keybo
    Carrier
    Mobilicity, Koodo
    Feedback Score
    you can let all your friends know your situation and ask them to call you and hang up. you can then return the call to avoid LD charges.

I used to have a Victoria number when I went to uvic. When i'm home at my parents house in Vancouver in the summer, my friends would just call and hang up and wait for me to return a call. 35c/min adds up really quickly and particularly for a student that's unnecessary expense that can be easily avoided.

Phones