Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Straight Talk with AT&T Microcell

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0

    Straight Talk with AT&T Microcell

    Since it seems a Straight Talk GMS phones can be registered for use with an AT&T Microcell ..

    here:http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...th-straightalk

    ... and it actually works. I was wondering if this is an option for us Straight Talk users? My sister couldn't get good reception inside her house with the E71 she tried. Could this help? I'm confused about the monthly unlimited fee. It seems the mini-tower works without the monthly fee, but that AT&T customers get charged per call in that case? Anyone have any idea if this would work with Straight Talks E71 and Unlimited plan?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    16,322
    Phones
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    Carrier
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you get the 3G MicroCell Unlimited calliing options, calls initiated on the MicroCell do not count against your regular AT&T minutes. If you do not have the plan, your regular minutes are used. With unlimited mobile-to-mobile minutes, unlimited nights and weekend minutes, rollover and A-Lists, there is really little need for the Unlimited 3G MicroCell option. Some get the plan to get a rebate on the device and cancel after receiving the rebate.
    Earl F. Parrish

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just got a used microcell on craigslist. I had to use my parents wireless att account to activate it and told them that the micro cell is going to be at work since the microcell has gps to let them know where its located. After the device was activated both my wife's and my straight talk phones connected after a restart and signal is great.

    FYI the device was still associated with the owners account. I gave att his number and they called him to verify the device was sold. If you are getting a device on craigslist or ebay just make sure to call and get the device deactivated before you get it so there are no issues.

    But for all that want to know i have an iPhone 4 and 3GS on ST with a micro cell working connected to an active att wireless account. so make sure you have someone to activate it and add your number that has an att wireless account.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Green Bay
    Posts
    98
    Carrier
    StraightTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    I m also using my ST phone number in a microcell. I used my friend's account to activate it and it works fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    378
    Feedback Score
    0
    What kinda speed you getting through the microcell? It for voice only or data too?


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    its for voice and data. The speed is about the same as I get outside. 1 - 2mbs down & 1 up. I have wifi at my house so i didnt care about data. just needed it for voice and sms. i had 1 bar max in my house and now have 5 all the time on the micro cell. voice is great now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    378
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do it improve your battery life of the device? I imagine it may since you say you were getting 1 bar. Battery is under more stress when keeping up with a poor signal. So since you get full bars now does the battery go further?


    Sent from my iPhone 4S using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    496
    Carrier
    AT&T, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    It will work if the microcell is registered under the actual AT&T account of someone else.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Green Bay
    Posts
    98
    Carrier
    StraightTalk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes definitely improve the battery life..I used to get only 1 bar and after Microcell i have 5 bars. Before Microcell my battery will drain at least 20% during night, and now it is not even draining 5%.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    A, A
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    I cant say much about battery life. I never had the 3g toggled on in settings since i was always on edge only with Tmobile. The day after I got straight talk i had to get the micro cell due to poor signal. Now I turned on 3g and bluetooth and the battery sux. Gonna turn off bluetooth tonight.

    But now that I think of it I have a mini cell tower in my house. Not sure I feel safe from the gamma rays. may have to take it upstairs to the mother in laws house

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Our Microcell has given full bars (we have NONE without the Microcell) to every 3G data GSM phone I've tried...regardless of carrier. The phones do not need to be AT&T branded phones as specified (why would they want you to know this is a universal GSM signal booster?), but CDMA models (phones that are not on a network that uses SIM cards like Verizon) will not be able to connect from the Microcell. If you run into a case where your 3G GSM phone does NOT work with the Microcell, you probably need to search for the correct APN settings (or misc. network settings in your phone menu) to allow the phone to detect and use the Microcell. Usually, if your phone has correct settings to allow it to use 3G data, it will pick up the Microcell. I've been using the Microcell with my Net10 phone (we have another AT&T user at home who controls the Microcell). We are both soon switching to Tracfone, and will have to see if the Microcell still functions without an AT&T account tied to the device (you can manage it online). We are getting 3G compatible LG 840G Tracfone phones, and are assuming they'll work as expected with the Microcell, as long as it doesn't disconnect itself when the only AT&T account associated with it is terminated.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Panama City
    Posts
    327
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have one of these at home and at the office. I live in a rural area that has 1 bar in the driveway but no service inside. Now I have 5 bars inside and at the office same type problem. The office is in a heavily built concrete building and in a tourist area that gets heavy traffic and no cell service because the tower is overloaded.

    With the microcell tower I have 5 full bars in the office even if the tower is overloaded.

Similar Threads

  1. Google Talk and Straight Talk Nokia E71
    By cefotetan2gq12 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 02:09 PM
  2. straight talk or page plus talk n text 1200?
    By riverview9 in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 03:27 PM
  3. Straight answers for Straight Talk?
    By HondaDNA in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 11-09-2009, 12:29 AM
  4. Replies: 67
    Last Post: 08-18-2009, 07:38 AM
  5. Straight Talk. Better than Talk n Text?
    By johncase3 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 06-30-2009, 06:43 PM

Bookmarks