Thread: how to tell if iPhone is jailbreak or software unlocked?

Phone
    HTC Kaiser
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

how to tell if iPhone is jailbreak or software unlocked?

im a iphone noob and about to make a trade for a used iphone 3gs and was just wondering if there is a way to find out if the phone is unlocked using software? i ask because i was told it was a telus iphone and wanted to make sure thats what im getting. its going to be for my sister so i dont want her to have to deal with any software unlock thats may be on the phone. thanks.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by neotekz View Post
    im a iphone noob and about to make a trade for a used iphone 3gs and was just wondering if there is a way to find out if the phone is unlocked using software? i ask because i was told it was a telus iphone and wanted to make sure thats what im getting. its going to be for my sister so i dont want her to have to deal with any software unlock thats may be on the phone. thanks.
    Safest way is to bring a sim from 2 providers.

Sent from my iPhone 4 using HowardForums app

Phone
    iPhone 5
    Carrier
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mystery View Post
    Safest way is to bring a sim from 2 providers.
    So if it works with both SIMs, how would that tell you whether it's an officially unlocked phone or one that was unlocked via a software exploit?

OP: If it's properly unlocked by Apple, it should remain unlocked after a restore, so ask that the seller restore the phone and then make sure there are no extra icons on the home screen, particularly Cydia or any other jailbroken apps.

PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900