Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 305

Thread: Unlocked phones on MTS HSPA+: Success, Failures and Q&A

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Outside of Winnipeg
    Posts
    98
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 (UK)
    Carrier(s)
    MTS 4G
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unlocked phones on MTS HSPA+: Success, Failures and Q&A

    Has anyone used an unlocked device from outside of MTS and had success? Were there any complications? I would like to hear your story! I am particularly interested in Flash capable (smooth playback) devices.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    194
    Carrier(s)
    MTS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I activated an HTC Desire HD, which I bought outright from Telus.

    I rooted and did S-off, which also SIM unlocked the phone.

    I then flashed Android Revolution HD 3.3 onto it.

    Voice worked right away when I put my SIM card in, to get data working, I just had to add the APN #1 profile:

    APN Profile #1

    Name: MTS
    APN: sp.mts
    Proxy: Not Set
    Port: Not Set
    Username: Not Set
    Server: Not Set
    MMSC: http://mmsc2.mts.net/
    MMS Proxy: 209.4.229.90
    MMS Port: 9401
    MCC: Should be auto set to 302
    MNC: Should be auto set to 660
    Authentication type: Not Set
    APN: Not Set

    That was it. Everything works, and fast to I might add

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    I activated a Rogers HTC Magic no problem. I got the unlock code from ebay (Unlock4u). Put MTS SIM in and entered the unlock code, voice worked right off the bat, then MTS employee entered APN settings for me. It's been working like a charm. I bought the phone used on kijiji.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    11
    Carrier(s)
    MTS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I bought an AT&T branded Samsung Focus, unlocked it FastGSM.com and activated it Thursday morning. The guys at the local MTS dealer took it, called in, programmed the APN and switched my plan over while I went back to work...everything worked perfectly when I went back at lunch.

    I did run into the lack of coverage in Saskatchewan, unfortunately, in a location where I had CDMA coverage and I know Sasktel has HSPA+ coverage. Come on roaming agreement!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    10
    Carrier(s)
    MTS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've got my motorola atrix (bought unlocked) to work on the mts network. AMA.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    my unlocked motorola atrix worked fine for voice & sms, but would not save my APN settings so i had no web on the phone, switched back to my old blackberry

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    10
    Carrier(s)
    MTS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by KCO2734 View Post
    my unlocked motorola atrix worked fine for voice & sms, but would not save my APN settings so i had no web on the phone, switched back to my old blackberry
    That is quite strange since the apns that were imputed saved just fine. I did go about it a different way then most I believe. This is the way I went about it for my atrix.

    1. Load Boot menu by holding the Volume Down button while starting the phone.
    2. Press the Volume Down button until the option "Boot Android (NO BP)" appears at the top of the screen.
    3. Press the Volume Up button to select this option.
    4. On load, the phone will bypass the No SIM card screen, but will ask you to register a MotoBlur account.
    5. At that point I used my home wifi and then registered.
    6. Once that was done it got to the main screen and now you can play around with your atrix. I also rooted my phone at this point.
    7. I then popped in my dad's sim card from rogers just to see if it recognized it and to verify that my phone was indeed unlocked.
    8. I hurried on down to the mts store at pembina and bishop, talked to an awesome dude named James and we popped in a mts sim and imputed the apns. Everything was golden from there.

    This is only for the motorola atrix. Hopefully the way I did it works for others!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Outside of Winnipeg
    Posts
    98
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 (UK)
    Carrier(s)
    MTS 4G
    Feedback Score
    0
    its starting to look like bells atrix doesnt work on mts. at&ts does but its upload speed is broken.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    217
    Device(s)
    Nexus S
    Carrier(s)
    MTS
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by neonneophyte View Post
    its starting to look like bells atrix doesnt work on mts. at&ts does but its upload speed is broken.
    I wouldn't say upload is "broken", just the HSUPA or whatever is disabled in the firmware. I'm pretty sure there are ROMs in the XDA forums that claim to enable the faster uplink.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Outside of Winnipeg
    Posts
    98
    Device(s)
    Samsung Galaxy S II I9100 (UK)
    Carrier(s)
    MTS 4G
    Feedback Score
    0
    pardon my choice of words... not broken, disabled. its a big deal though, 400 kbps is unacceptable.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am looking at going with the Talk, Text & Surf Plan for 54.99 / Month unbundled with Unlimited Data, I was planning on picking up a Blackberry Bold 9780, and eventually using that as a spare because I plan on buying a new Dual Core Android Device once more of them start rolling out.

    If I do go with the blackberry, Will data work on another android device if I just switch the SIM. A coworker had told me that I may be able to do that but will not get data because everything will be configured to use the RIM servers.

    Can any one confirm if I could get the contract on a blackberry and purchase a Unlocked Android and have full use of data on that device?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    186
    Carrier(s)
    MTS Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jospehd View Post
    I am looking at going with the Talk, Text & Surf Plan for 54.99 / Month unbundled with Unlimited Data, I was planning on picking up a Blackberry Bold 9780, and eventually using that as a spare because I plan on buying a new Dual Core Android Device once more of them start rolling out.

    If I do go with the blackberry, Will data work on another android device if I just switch the SIM. A coworker had told me that I may be able to do that but will not get data because everything will be configured to use the RIM servers.

    Can any one confirm if I could get the contract on a blackberry and purchase a Unlocked Android and have full use of data on that device?
    That's a very good question. I'm fairly certain that it should just work if you put in the correct APN setting that you will find in the stickied thread in this forum.

    If it actually isn't that easy, then there shouldn't be any reason why an MTS rep wouldn't be able to set you up so you can use your unlocked Android. It's not like you are signing a new contract.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    650
    Carrier(s)
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jospehd View Post
    I am looking at going with the Talk, Text & Surf Plan for 54.99 / Month unbundled with Unlimited Data, I was planning on picking up a Blackberry Bold 9780, and eventually using that as a spare because I plan on buying a new Dual Core Android Device once more of them start rolling out.

    If I do go with the blackberry, Will data work on another android device if I just switch the SIM. A coworker had told me that I may be able to do that but will not get data because everything will be configured to use the RIM servers.

    Can any one confirm if I could get the contract on a blackberry and purchase a Unlocked Android and have full use of data on that device?
    Should be just fine as I did that with Rogers, the key here is that the BB has the different encryption process and the providers need to know and put you on a the BB servers. When I went over to my Android Captivate, I called in to Rogers and they said no problem all data will work no problems. I can assume that it should be the same with MTS as the phones are coming from Rogers. Worked okay for me!!

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    I want to report that I got my Desire HD working without a glitch. The store was going super slow, but once it was my turn the guy had a nice cheat sheet on how to access the setup, it took 20 minutes to get it done.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    186
    Carrier(s)
    MTS Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    How did you guys unlock your Desire HD? I've found a few sites to do it, but I'm just curious what you used.

    Today I ordered a Bell HTC Incredible S! Super excited!

Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. HSPA: Unlocked Phones on HSPA Network (not offered by Telus)
    By RNUOVR in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-15-2010, 04:27 AM
  2. New HSPA phones on Bell and Telus unlocked?
    By cwelpro in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 10:30 PM
  3. Bell HSPA Launched Today, Success or Fail?
    By ecgz88 in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 11-06-2009, 01:28 AM
  4. HSPA: Will Telus allow unlocked gsm phones to be used on HSPA
    By frang in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 55
    Last Post: 11-05-2009, 04:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks