Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: ST sim in HTC Aria

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0

    ST sim in HTC Aria

    Decided to start new thread instead of derail the other.

    Ok so here is what I have.
    The HTC Aria is in, I reactivated my Nokia E71 and swapped the sim.
    As stated in the other forum the Phone and Text work, but when I go in to change my APN info all the sections are grayed out and I can not access them. Is there a step I am missing here?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    766
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, you need to use APN backup and restore to delete existing apns... refer to the other thread and read the instructions

    Sent from my HTC Inspire™ 4G

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    Are these the directions you are referring to?

    Here are the steps I used to get MMS working on Moto Backflip with Android 2.1

    First download Apn Backup and Restore app from app store, and delete all existing APNs. Then manually enter APNs. In android you must have 2 apns setup for mms to work (at least in my case).

    Here are my settings:

    Name
    HOME

    APN
    att.mvno

    Leave everything else alone EXCEPT the bottom selection that says:

    APN type (here you must enter the following)
    default,supl

    Then save, next choose to add another APN
    make it look like this:

    Name
    MMS

    APN
    att.mvno

    skip down to
    MMSC
    http://mmsc.cingular.com

    MMS proxy
    proxy.mvno.tracfone.com

    MMS port
    80

    skip to:
    APN type (enter the following)
    mms
    THEN SAVE

    You will see that only one APN has the option to be chosen, that is ok, Just choose the one that is able to be chosen.

    Now go back to Homescreen and then reboot your phone.
    This works for me, hope it can help you. I tried a hundred different ways and this was it. Capitalization is important, and the APN type was the trick.
    GOOD LUCK and let me know if it worked for you.
    I can not download any apps as I don't have data, which is why I have to change the apn.

    How can I get this app/apps on my phone?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    766
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Use WiFi

    Sent from my HTC Inspire™ 4G

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    DOH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thats why you get paid the big bucks

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    Zmk76. You are the MAN
    Thought for sure I would screw this up some how, but it worked like a charm.
    Big thanks to ya.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just wondering.
    Everything works except GPS. It shows it is looking for a signal but in never links up to the service.
    Any ideas?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    766
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try gps fix from the market.

    Sent from my HTC Inspire™ 4G

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    K it just started working on its own some time later. Not sure what the heck was going on.

    GPS Fix. An app for everything under the sun. lol

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    7
    Feedback Score
    0
    it worked!!! with my htc aria, thankyou, (pictures, internet, etc)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    198
    Feedback Score
    0
    In the end the settings above did the settings on my Aria as well. The GPS was just the phone not getting a signal for some strange reason.
    A few hours later it started working and has been fine since.

    And again I would like to thank Zmk76 for all the help.
    And the "Use WiFi" cause I'll be darned if that would have occurred to me.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    766
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    You're welcome.


    Sent from my iPod touch 3G using HowardForums

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    ST SIM in LT Optimus T509...

    Thanks Zmk76 - your APN settings were simple enuf to add and they worked (albeit w/o the APN backup & restore).

    And/however, Youtube does not play well on T509 as it did on the E71 - not sure if it is a network issue of device issue. any ideas? (not imp to me but it means the world to my daughter ;-)

    also, any ideas on how to get just a new sim from ST ? willing to pay for it...

    thanks again,
    s-

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,719
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by shesh View Post
    Thanks Zmk76 - your APN settings were simple enuf to add and they worked (albeit w/o the APN backup & restore).

    And/however, Youtube does not play well on T509 as it did on the E71 - not sure if it is a network issue of device issue. any ideas? (not imp to me but it means the world to my daughter ;-)

    also, any ideas on how to get just a new sim from ST ? willing to pay for it...

    thanks again,
    s-
    I`m guessing that when you say new SIM you mean an additional SIM? If you have a legitimate reason they will send a replacement SIM, but the one being replaced will be de-activated (only one SIM can be active. The only way to get an additional SIM is to buy an additional Nokia phone.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    766
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    The phone you are using is an unlocked t-mobile phone right? So with that I would say the YouTube problem you are having is because you are stuck with an edge connection and with the e71 you had the 3.5g connection, which is much faster.

    Sent from my HTC Inspire™ 4G

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Sold: htc aria
    By warriorpluto in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-20-2010, 03:29 PM
  2. Sold: HTC Aria like new
    By thanhdang in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2010, 05:16 PM
  3. FS: htc aria
    By kateramsey7 in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 08:23 AM
  4. HTC Aria
    By Jixer in forum AT&T Agents and Employees
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: 06-22-2010, 08:45 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks