Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Sprint phones on Verizon?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    515
    Phone
    Touch/Vogue
    Carrier
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0

    Sprint phones on Verizon?

    Hello,

    I thought I read on one of these forums you could use Sprint phones on Verizon's network. I know you can for roaming but say Sprint got the EVO 3D and you wanted to use it on Verizon with your Verizon account, could you? Do you have to get it unlocked somehow - I'm talking about buying a legit Sprint phone.

    Will they use the same frequencies?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,325
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Last 5: HTC Thunderbolt
    Motorola Droid, BB Tour, BB Storm, BB Pearl
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm not sure what you mean by you can use them for roaming. Verizon doesn't allow Sprint phones on their network. There have been a few (very few) exceptions where people have "tricked" the system, but the reality of it is, you have virtually no chance of getting a Sprint phone on Verizon.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    NW Georgia
    Posts
    928
    Phone
    HTC Thunderbolt
    Carrier
    Verizon (Alltel Plan)
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you are a Sprint customer and in an area where Sprint does not offer service you can roam off of VZW towers. But I believe data is at a slower speed.

    However you can not bring a Sprint phone over and activate it on VZW.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    515
    Phone
    Touch/Vogue
    Carrier
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks - I'm on sprint now and can use verizon's network for roaming when I can't get Sprint signal. I've read the threads on how to "trick" the system - not too hard. I guess my main question was about the frequencies involved. For example Tmobile and HTC share the same lower band but not the same upper band.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,718
    Phones
    N/A
    Pantech Jest
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The two networks use completely different systems for 4G which are incompatible. For 2G and 3G they are the same modes and frequency bands. Native Sprint uses only the 1900 band, but all but some very old Sprint phones include 850 capability for roaming purposes.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,537
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    Carrier
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by boe_d View Post
    For example Tmobile and HTC share the same lower band but not the same upper band.
    That statement makes absolutely no sense.

    PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900
    I am a little confused. My Verizon phone was able to roam on GSM because they used TDMA. Tell it was shutdown. The phone recognizes it as Analog. If PCS has TDMA, It could be technically be used on GSM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tabla View Post
    Y'know, I'm used to hysterical 14-year-old ******** on the internet, but this is exceptional. Never before in human history have so many nerds hyperventilated so publicly over so little.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4,325
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Last 5: HTC Thunderbolt
    Motorola Droid, BB Tour, BB Storm, BB Pearl
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by budone View Post
    If you are a Sprint customer and in an area where Sprint does not offer service you can roam off of VZW towers. But I believe data is at a slower speed.

    However you can not bring a Sprint phone over and activate it on VZW.
    Ahhh, that makes a lot more sense. For some reason I read it as the phone working if the OP was a Verizon customer and was roaming (which makes no sense).

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 07:33 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2010, 12:13 PM
  3. Can Verizon use Sprint Phones Yet...???
    By srainess in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 03:21 PM
  4. Sprint phones on Verizon
    By Hurricane350 in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-28-2009, 01:02 AM
  5. Replies: 103
    Last Post: 02-04-2009, 08:10 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks