Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Samsung galaxy s 4g on Straight Talk

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0

    Samsung galaxy s 4g on Straight Talk

    I have got a problem with this phone. i have everyting working. Internet, MMS, texting,+......... all of that. But im in a 3g coverage area and it only gets edge. Is there a fix for this

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Alienx14 View Post
    I have got a problem with this phone. i have everyting working. Internet, MMS, texting,+......... all of that. But im in a 3g coverage area and it only gets edge. Is there a fix for this
    I believe the problem is that you are using a T-Mobile branded SGS4G? if you are using the SIM from a E71, they run off the AT&T network T-Mobile uses different bands than AT&T.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am using the sim out of the e71. I'have also unlocked the phone

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    77
    Feedback Score
    0
    Was the phone on t-mobile or ATT before Straight Talk?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    the samsung galaxy s 4g is on tmobile

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    2,080
    Phones
    Apple iPhone 5
    iPad WiFi + Cellular (3rd Gen)
    FreedomPop Photon
    Carriers
    Verizon (iPhone/iPad LTE)
    FreedomPop (Clear MVNO)
    Feedback Score
    0
    You're more than likely gonna see EDGE-only with that phone. The 'unlocked' ST SIMs typically use at&t towers for coverage and fallback to T-Mobile (or rural carriers) when away from at&t coverage. Also, T-Mobile has no 3G roaming agreement with at&t, so even if you're on T-Mobile towers you're likely gonna be stuck with 2G/GSM/EDGE while using the 'unlocked' ST SIMs.

    The Vibrant, predecessor to this phone, worked on at&t 3G w/ 1900 MHz band when unlocked but 1900 has limited coverage (at&t typically runs 3G on 850 MHz). There was unconfirmed reports that this phone also had 3G capabilites on 1900, but considering you're not seeing 3G I wonder if the reports were false w.r.t. the Galaxy S 4G (or that they might still be true but you're in an area that has no at&t 3G on 1900 MHz).

    Might be worth selling that phone and picking up a Captivate (assuming you want a Galaxy S brand phone) or something similar that was marketed with at&t 3G bands. There's places selling the Nexus S for Telus/Rogers/Fido unlocked (they use at&t bands) that would work too.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    204
    Carriers
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I would use that phone on Simple Mobile. You are crippling an otherwise very fast phone with a ST sim in it. With SM you will get T-Mobile's 4G speed if you're in a 4G footprint with that phone. With a mytouch 4G I get 10-16 mbps download speed with a SM sim card in it. I have an Atrix with a ST sim in it, and I don't get near the speed on AT&T's supposedly 4G network (2-6 mbps) as I get with the SM mytouch 4G (10-16 mbps). BIG difference.
    PLEASE, don't PM me with questions that could and should be answered in the open forum. Then everyone can benefit from the answer, and you will get more than "one" opinion... Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    ok thanks for the information guys

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Would debranding the phone fix the problem

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    16,845
    Phones
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    Carrier
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    The phone does not have the frequency bands for AT&T 3G service. Nothing can change that.
    Earl F. Parrish

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    ok i just was seein

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    84
    Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by efparri View Post
    The phone does not have the frequency bands for AT&T 3G service. Nothing can change that.
    The phone does have the 1900mhz band I know it cuz I've used it for a week before selling it. If you only get edge then your area does not have the 850mhz band.

    Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    16,845
    Phones
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    AT&T Apple iPhone 5S
    Carrier
    AT&T Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Apparently there are two versions of the phone. The T959V has 1700 MHz and 2100 MHZ 3G bands. The T959P has 850 MHz and 1900 MHz 3G bands. http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=3136

    Based upon the behavior described by the Original Poster, he has the T959V model since the T959P model has both of the 3G bands used by AT&T.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually i got 3g signal. I was in douglasville GA earlier today. it was in mixed signal mode and got it.

Similar Threads

  1. new samsung t401g thru straight talk
    By katy put in forum Samsung
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-21-2011, 03:06 PM
  2. FS/FT samsung r451c on straight talk
    By shaolinchamp in forum Non GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-17-2010, 11:31 PM
  3. Samsung R451C straight talk
    By mrwsga in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-16-2010, 01:05 PM
  4. Straight Talk Samsung Finesse $275.00
    By wnyhiphop in forum Non GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-11-2010, 09:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks