Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Setting up unlocked Android

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    Setting up unlocked Android

    I've been considering ordering an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S2 online from the US or UK. I would probably use Rogers or Fido for service. I've never bought an unlocked phone before (or an Android phone) so I'm a little worried about making sure it works properly on a carrier that doesn't officially support it or have its own settings pre-installed.

    Do I need to know special APN settings to get it to work with the carrier? Could the phone have features that won't work with a carrier? Could some carrier features not work with the phone? (call display, voice mail, etc..)

    And are there any other potential issues I haven't thought of?

    I'm probably being a bit paranoid here but I don't want to risk spending a lot of money and ending up with a paperweight. If anyone has advice it would be appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,656
    Phone
    HTC Vivid with ICS
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    As long as it has the 3G bands that your carrier has then you have no problem's at all, I believe that the two you spoke of both use the same 3G bands as AT&T which is the 850/1900 bands. So I would make sure that it had those, as for any other set up the phone should get all it needs from the sim card. I have never had any problem's at all with setup on my unlocked phones. If you do need the APN setting all you need do is Google them and you should not have any problem's at all. All I ever do is put the sim in the phone and it is good to go.
    HTC Vivid with 4.0.3.7 ICS Offical AT&T release
    ________________________________________
    ipad 3

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Guam
    Posts
    3,544
    Phones
    Nexus One, Droid Incredible, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S
    iPod Touch 64gb, Droid Eris (reserve)
    Blackberry Tour (sold), Nokia N85, Nokia 5530, MyTouch 3G (reserve)
    Carriers
    DOCOMO Pacific (HSDPA);
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by guyincognit0 View Post
    I've been considering ordering an unlocked Samsung Galaxy S2 online from the US or UK. I would probably use Rogers or Fido for service. I've never bought an unlocked phone before (or an Android phone) so I'm a little worried about making sure it works properly on a carrier that doesn't officially support it or have its own settings pre-installed.

    Do I need to know special APN settings to get it to work with the carrier? Could the phone have features that won't work with a carrier? Could some carrier features not work with the phone? (call display, voice mail, etc..)

    And are there any other potential issues I haven't thought of?

    I'm probably being a bit paranoid here but I don't want to risk spending a lot of money and ending up with a paperweight. If anyone has advice it would be appreciated. Thanks.
    Yes you need the APN settings to work for each carrier (even if the phone is used with different carriers, your APN settings are entered only one time and the phone will always associate them with the right carrier).

    You can always find the APN settings for the different carriers easily by asking your carrier, checking the settings on your previous phone, or by googling them.

    Should be noted that somehow, Cingular APN settings are always preentered with the Nexus S, something I don't see with any other Androids or the Nexus One.
    I am @guamguy on Twitter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,963
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Get the ATT version. It will work with Rogers no problem. The apn values for Rogers are very easy to find online. All other features will work with the phone. You can check Pacific mall for unlocked phones as well but be very careful as they are usually the euro models and will not get 3g on Rogers.

    Sent from my Desire HD using HowardForums
    Samsung u740->HTC Dream->HTC Magic->Motorola Milestone->HTC Nexus One->HTC DesireHD->Samsung Galaxy Nexus

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,471
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile (09/2010-present)
    Bell 05/2005-08/2006, Virgin Mobile Canada 08/2006-11/2009, Fido 11/2009-09/2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    The USA versions of the S2 are not out yet. The UK version has *one* of two 3G bands for Rogers/Fido (the 1900 band). So you would get 3G in the cities but some indoor reception problems, and EDGE everywhere else (850 is used for between-city coverage and deeper indoor signal penetration).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles area & PA/NJ, USA
    Posts
    17,403
    Phones
    Nexus One
    N97 Mini (SOLD)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cmstlist View Post
    The USA versions of the S2 are not out yet. The UK version has *one* of two 3G bands for Rogers/Fido (the 1900 band). So you would get 3G in the cities but some indoor reception problems, and EDGE everywhere else (850 is used for between-city coverage and deeper indoor signal penetration).
    The galaxy s2 has all the bands needed, both 850 and 1900 3g.

    All you have to do is pop in your sim card and you're good to go. No need to do anything special.

    Sent from my Nexus One using HowardForums
    Current Device: Nexus One
    Phone History: |N97 Mini| |5800| |E71-2| |N95-4| |N95-3| |N75| |6131| |6230| |SE T616|


    | My HoFo Feedback |

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,471
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile (09/2010-present)
    Bell 05/2005-08/2006, Virgin Mobile Canada 08/2006-11/2009, Fido 11/2009-09/2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Source?

    All reports so far have indicated the European and Asian Galaxy S2 doesn't have 850 3G.

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for all the info, everyone!

    According to these sites the euro version has:

    GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

    http://www.mobilecityonline.com/wire...roductid=27671

    http://www.clove.co.uk/samsung-galaxy-s-ii-i9100-16gb

    Does that cover all of Rogers' frequencies?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    6,471
    Carriers
    WIND Mobile (09/2010-present)
    Bell 05/2005-08/2006, Virgin Mobile Canada 08/2006-11/2009, Fido 11/2009-09/2010
    Feedback Score
    0
    Interesting. Well, go for it, and we'll see if the specs are true!

    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    1,963
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by guyincognit0 View Post
    Thanks for all the info, everyone!

    According to these sites the euro version has:

    GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

    http://www.mobilecityonline.com/wire...roductid=27671

    http://www.clove.co.uk/samsung-galaxy-s-ii-i9100-16gb

    Does that cover all of Rogers' frequencies?
    If those specs are true, yes that would cover Rogers. I know I've seen a few phones released recently with quad band HSPA so its not impossible.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Los Angeles area & PA/NJ, USA
    Posts
    17,403
    Phones
    Nexus One
    N97 Mini (SOLD)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by guyincognit0 View Post
    Thanks for all the info, everyone!

    According to these sites the euro version has:

    GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
    HSDPA 850 / 900 / 1900 / 2100

    http://www.mobilecityonline.com/wire...roductid=27671

    http://www.clove.co.uk/samsung-galaxy-s-ii-i9100-16gb

    Does that cover all of Rogers' frequencies?
    Yes that covers all you need for Rogers. And yes its universally proven the galaxy s2 is fully working on both Rogers and att 3g networks, guaranteed. The UK version is the one, not heard about the Asian version so just stick with the UK one.

    Sent from my Nexus One using HowardForums

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Guam
    Posts
    3,544
    Phones
    Nexus One, Droid Incredible, HTC Desire, Samsung Galaxy S
    iPod Touch 64gb, Droid Eris (reserve)
    Blackberry Tour (sold), Nokia N85, Nokia 5530, MyTouch 3G (reserve)
    Carriers
    DOCOMO Pacific (HSDPA);
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Asian version shouldn't be any different as the European version, as both use the 900 and 2100.

    Putting quad band 3G raises the initial cost of a handset, but you reduce your SKUs, so in a high volume, it reduces your cost.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,436
    Phones
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Rogers SonyEricsson c510 (unlocked)
    Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB (unlocked)
    Carrier
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by guyincognit0 View Post
    Could some carrier features not work with the phone? (call display, voice mail, etc..)
    Name Display might not work with non-Rogers / non-Fido approved phones (I'm not referring to the name being in the contact list)... those people on Rogers/Fido know what I'm talking about since Rogers/Fido is the only carrier that I know of which offers outgoing/incoming Name Display on their cellular network.
    Fido (monthly plan - personal/data): Novatel Wireless MC950D or Nokia CS-18

    Fido (monthly): ZTE WF720 Wireless Home Phone

    Rogers (pay as you go - Canadian prepaid): "Fido" Samsung Nexus-S

    Rogers (monthly BIS data plan): Blackberry Q10 <- CANCELLED over Dispute

    Lycamobile (US prepaid): Sony-Ericsson c510 or Sony-Ericsson w300i

    T-Mobile (US prepaid): unlocked Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB or LG Nexus-4

    Bell (tablet plan): LG Nexus-4


    My Tech Blog

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 38
    Last Post: 02-11-2011, 10:34 PM
  2. Setting up Android POP Emails With Two Different Providers
    By vwsounds in forum Desire Z/T-Mobile G2
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-17-2010, 09:38 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-24-2010, 11:20 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-30-2010, 07:32 AM
  5. List of e-mail setting for Android
    By Brian56 in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2009, 08:30 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks