Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: iPhones without smartphone data plan

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    iPhones without smartphone data plan

    I have an Iphone 4 V 4.3.3 with Gevey unlock. I am using it with t-mobile. I have had a t-zone plan for about 6 yrs.
    Now I can not access the web on my iphone 4. I tried all the apn entries. The web was working fine with my old Iphone 2g with t-zones. The Iphone 4 is not jailbroken.

    Does it have to be jailbroken for the web to work?
    My old 2g Iphone was jailbroken?
    Do I need to upgrade my tmobile data plan to $15 plan?
    Can not connect to T-mobile Edge network?


    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4,218
    Carrier
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is roaming turned on? APN is wap.voicestream.com or epc.tmobile.com?

    Sent from my Vibrant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Long Beach
    Posts
    1,599
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think you have to jailbreak the phone.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes the data roaming is on and the APN is set.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    South Bay
    Posts
    99
    Phones
    Note II N7100 Rooted
    HTC HD2, P905i, Nokia 5800 XM, Iphone 3G, HTC G1
    BB8320(SOLD) Sharp 903sh & SE W810i
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    is the 3g button turned off?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, the 3g button is turned off.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,583
    Phones
    iPhone 3G, 8900 Javelin, G600, Pebl, v80 w/850,
    Stolen - iPhone 3G, V620, Krzr, W810i, Dash. Gotta love NY
    MPx 300 *****es!!
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    I have the same situation as you except mine is on 4.2.1, my T-Zones works with epc.tmobile.com as the APN in both fields. I have 3G off, Cell Data and Data Roaming both on. My Carrier is Carrier Lab 9. Have you tried to reset the settings, then type them in and reboot? It may work if you put it in Airplane instead of a full reboot, then you can avoid all the initial Gevey process.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    TX,US
    Posts
    3,229
    Carriers
    at&t
    Feedback Score
    0
    IMEI internet access banned!
    T-Mobile - the largest fake 4G network in Americas

    HTC HD2 Speed on 3G/HSDPA

    T-mobile 3G/H or Pharos 137

    My broadband speed


    My WM phone is the best GPS now, say good bye junk Andriod

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Coolphone,

    What do you mean by IMEI internet access banned? Can you give me more details?

    Thanks

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    404
    Feedback Score
    0

    T-Mobile blocking data on iPhones without data plan

    My edge is down right now...

    I'm getting some message to upgrade my plan on safari.

    It says web2go

    Subscription Upgrade Required

    your data plan does not work on this device. Click here to sign up for a new plan.

    I've had many iphones on tmobile since they came out & have never got this message until this morning. In fact I was just using EDGE yesterday evening.

    Are you guys getting the same message on your iphones on Tmobile?
    - T-Mobile LG G2 White

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    9
    Phone
    Iphone 2g (16g)
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just got the very same message. Never had it before. I'm still using Iphone 2g

    Quote Originally Posted by tiguy99 View Post
    My edge is down right now...

    I'm getting some message to upgrade my plan on safari.

    It says web2go

    Subscription Upgrade Required

    your data plan does not work on this device. Click here to sign up for a new plan.

    I've had many iphones on tmobile since they came out & have never got this message until this morning. In fact I was just using EDGE yesterday evening.

    Are you guys getting the same message on your iphones on Tmobile?
    And I'm also a Mac

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    404
    Feedback Score
    0
    There's no way I'm upgrading anything. I have the unlimited everything plan for 49.99 from a couple years ago...The only way I'd upgrade my data plan is if I'd be able to use my iphone with 3G/4G speeds on tmobile's network

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Downtown Chicago
    Posts
    3,260
    Phone
    Motorola Atrix HD Maxx / iPhone 5 (backup)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tiguy99 View Post
    My edge is down right now...

    I'm getting some message to upgrade my plan on safari.

    It says web2go

    Subscription Upgrade Required

    your data plan does not work on this device. Click here to sign up for a new plan.

    I've had many iphones on tmobile since they came out & have never got this message until this morning. In fact I was just using EDGE yesterday evening.

    Are you guys getting the same message on your iphones on Tmobile?
    TMobile is blocking iPhones now. You need a smartphone plan.
    Seems like it is cool to have these in your sig?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    9,501
    Feedback Score
    0
    See the T-zones sticky thread. It is happening there as well. However, some devices are working after a temporary outage. So check your device again and post back if it starts working.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    3,583
    Phones
    iPhone 3G, 8900 Javelin, G600, Pebl, v80 w/850,
    Stolen - iPhone 3G, V620, Krzr, W810i, Dash. Gotta love NY
    MPx 300 *****es!!
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    Working fine here.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-10-2010, 02:29 PM
  2. iPhones without data plan on Fido?
    By shinybizarro in forum Apple
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 10:03 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-13-2009, 01:46 PM
  4. Data plan question between iphones
    By BaD1Apple in forum Apple
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 09:52 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks