Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does Virgin phone works on bell network?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    159
    Phones
    HTC Touch
    Moto E815
    Samsung A680
    Carrier
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0

    Does Virgin phone works on bell network?

    This probably been asked before, but I am planning to get the no contract version at virgin ($499 compare to $549 for bell). Will that work on bell or do I have to unlock it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Satyr, Chrisalya, New America
    Posts
    2,825
    Phone
    Sidekick 4G
    Carriers
    WIND
    Feedback Score
    0
    If it's an HSPA device, it will work. (This is based on older handsets. It may have changed but I doubt it.)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,640
    Feedback Score
    0
    Any Virgin HSPA device should work on Bell and vice versa without unlocking. I've heard that Bell and Virgin SIM cards are exactly the same aside from the branding that appears from the packaging, therefore the phone can't really tell the difference.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Montreal
    Posts
    464
    Phones
    SGH-T889V Galaxy Note II
    Previous phones: SCH-n370, SCH-m510, SGH-T746 Impact, GT-S5660M Galaxy Gio, GT-I9020A Nexus S
    Carriers
    Koodo
    Bell Mobility and Virgin Mobile Canada (previous)
    Feedback Score
    0
    B407: I once tried a Bell SIM in a Virgin Samsung Impact and a Virgin SIM in a Bell Samsung Gravity Touch and do recall having one of the phones ask for an unlock code.

    Unfortunately this was months ago and I can't remember which combination didn't work. Both phones are now unlocked so I'd have a hard time reproducing.

    Skinnyboyslim: You didn't say which phone you were looking at buying, but you should still be ahead money-wise even with an unlocking.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    159
    Phones
    HTC Touch
    Moto E815
    Samsung A680
    Carrier
    Bell Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by LouisR View Post

    Skinnyboyslim: You didn't say which phone you were looking at buying, but you should still be ahead money-wise even with an unlocking.

    Sorry, I thought I mention it in my topic, i was meant to say HTC sensation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Thornhill, ON
    Posts
    24,943
    Carrier
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    21 (100%)
    Sensation should be fine.

    Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    1,050
    Feedback Score
    0
    Presidents Choice mobile phones use to work on Bell

    as a matter of fact, if you took an old deactivated PC mobile phone and activated it on Bell, you got $30 free credit !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    202
    Phones
    HTC Sensation 4G
    HTC Sensation 4G
    HTC Desire
    Carrier
    Fido - PrePaid
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The prices for the phone haven't been confirmed publicly yet. If you call or visit either Bell or Virgin, they will only tell you that the phone hasn't been launched yet and there is no pricing.

    Having said that, I have a friend that works for "the Source" and he checked his computer today for the pricing of the HTC Sensation on both Bell and Virgin and they came up the same, $549.99.

    I'm hoping that the Virgin pricing is going to be $499.99 as well as I plan on picking one up on launch for the no contract pricing.
    HTC Sensation - CM10
    HTC Desire - *SOLD*
    HTC Magic - CyanogenMod 6.1.0

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 11:44 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-24-2010, 01:58 PM
  3. Free Nokia Phone on Virgin Mobile (Bell) Network
    By HighTech in forum Phone Plan Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 03:02 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-16-2009, 12:54 PM
  5. Replies: 134
    Last Post: 10-02-2009, 09:43 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks