Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Reception and Roaming Question LG100C and LG501C

Feedback Score

Reception and Roaming Question LG100C and LG501C

This is my first post and just wanted to say thanks for all the valuable info!!

I am new to tracfone. I purchased a LG100c bundle from Walmart over a week ago for $9.88 to give the service a try. I live in an area where my reception is great in town and not at home. This is with all cell carriers except SoLinc.

With the LG100 I get one to two bars inside my home and it shows roaming on and off. I can receive calls with just one bar and this happened a couple of times. I decided to try another phone and got the LG501C from Dollar General Friday for $20. I like this phone better it is bigger and would be easier to text with, however, the LG501 does not seem to get as much signal as the LG100c. It usually has one less bar not only at home but in areas where the
    signal is very strong. Also it never shows it is roaming and shows "no signal" in most places in my home except right up at a window.

Do you think something is wrong with the phone or is it normal for one phone to show roaming and more signal than another on the same carrier in the same area.

If so, could you recommend one of the tracfones that has "best" reception. I also read about external antennas and wonder if any of the tracfones have and external port to install one? Did not see any on the ones I looked at.

I don' t use my cell much at home but would like to have it if needed. I planned to use it to text from time to time as that would be more cost effective. Just want to get the best reception with out spending too much money.

Thanks for help!!

Smitty

Carrier
    TF GSM & ST CDMA
    Feedback Score
    smitty60,
    Here is something that might help with your reception but won't hurt anything if it doesn't.
    When you have reception problems with any of the CDMA phones (the models that end with a C)