Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 308

Thread: Guide on flashing your iPhone 4 (CDMA) to metroPCS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Guide on flashing your iPhone 4 (CDMA) to metroPCS

    Hi,

    I'm starting a thread on how to flash the iPhone 4 (CDMA) to metroPCS because when I was looking for it on Google it took me so long.

    This is only for the Verizon iPhone 4 (CDMA).

    First off it doesn't matter whether or not the iPhone 4 (CDMA) you have has a good or bad ESN. metro doesn't care.

    Keep in mind only talk and text works. All data will require WiFi but you can't beat unlimited talk and text for $40 (plus $5 unlimited international texting).

    Now. You will need to download

    iPhoneBrowser
    http://code.google.com/p/iphonebrows...3.exe&can=2&q=

    metroPCS 1038 PRL (renamed to 130VZW.prl)

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35084515/310VZW.prl
    Configuring the phone for use on metroPCS

    the metroPCS PRL
    1. Jailbreak using either redsn0w (4.2.9) or JailbreakMe (4.2.8 and lower)
    2. Download afc2add on Cydia
    3. Open iPhoneBrowser
    4. Go to /System/Library/Carrier Bundles
    5. Scroll all the way down to Zeppelin_US.bundle
    6. Delete the 310VZW.prl file first then drag the metroPCS 1038 PRL file there

    metroPCS Roaming Lists
    1. Dial *22801 on your iPhone (on the top left it should say Roaming)
    2. Follow voice directions to get the latest Roaming Lists
    3. When it's Done it should say Service Update Complete

    Your phone is now fully configured for use on metroPCS. Easy right?

    To get your ESN you need to convert it from the MEID number the iPhone gives you.
    The ESN should be an 18 digit number (there should be no letters). Google for a MEID to ESN converter.

    Now the hard part.

    Getting your iPhone's ESN added into the metroPCS inventory
    I learned this the hard way but you can't just go to a metroPCS store and have them add it for you. This is applicable not only for iPhones but for all flashed phones. The only way they can add it is if you're phone is officially flashable with metroflash. Why? Because there software adds the ESN automatically when the phone is flashed.

    To have it added manually you have to find someone who is willing to do it. Most corporate stores will do it but they will charge you for it.

    Otherwise I would recommend this guy on eBay.
    http://myworld.ebay.com/bigbuyer707/...id=p4340.l2559
    He adds ESNs at 3-4PM Pacific Time (6-7PM Eastern Time).
    His number is 6509213360

    To verify your ESN has been added
    (link) and check if your ESN is verified as a metroPCS ESN.

    Anyways after your ESN is added all you have to do is either
    Dial *228 on your phone and talk to customer service (important!) and have them add them switch the phones for you, it should be done automatically.

    or

    Go to a metroPCS store and have them add it for you.

    After that, talk and text should be working on metroPCS.

    Some things to note:
    There won't be a carrier name showing on the top but you can just use FakeCarrier or something to do it. Honestly though, I prefer the clean look of having no carrier name though.

    If you want to get rid of the O next to the carrier name or signal bars. Just disable Cellular Data. It's an indication saying it couldn't connect

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Reserved for future use

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,553
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    Carriers
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Awesome guide. Question, do you happen to know how to do this on cricket?

    thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I think it's the same on Cricket

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    2,553
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    Carriers
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Im not so sure. You need the cricket prl obviously, but I think it is more complicated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    102
    Feedback Score
    0
    This should be a sticky

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vandenberg AFB
    Posts
    1,933
    Phones
    IPhone 5
    Verizon/Motorola W755
    AT&T Blackberry Bold 9700 for work
    Carriers
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hellojustinr View Post
    Hi,

    I'm starting a thread on how to flash the iPhone 4 (CDMA) to metroPCS because when I was looking for it on Google it took me so long.

    This is only for the Verizon iPhone 4 (CDMA).

    First off it doesn't matter whether or not the iPhone 4 (CDMA) you have has a good or bad ESN. metro doesn't care.

    Keep in mind only talk and text works. All data will require WiFi but you can't beat unlimited talk and text for $40 (plus $5 unlimited international texting).

    Now. You will need to download

    iPhoneBrowser
    http://code.google.com/p/iphonebrows...3.exe&can=2&q=

    metroPCS 1038 PRL (renamed to 130VZW.prl)

    http://dl.dropbox.com/u/35084515/310VZW.prl
    Configuring the phone for use on metroPCS

    the metroPCS PRL
    1. Jailbreak using either redsn0w (4.2.9) or JailbreakMe (4.2.8 and lower)
    2. Download afc2add on Cydia
    3. Open iPhoneBrowser
    4. Go to /System/Library/Carrier Bundles
    5. Scroll all the way down to Zeppelin_US.bundle
    6. Delete the 310VZW.prl file first then drag the metroPCS 1038 PRL file there

    metroPCS Roaming Lists
    1. Dial *22801 on your iPhone (on the top left it should say Roaming)
    2. Follow voice directions to get the latest Roaming Lists
    3. When it's Done it should say Service Update Complete

    Your phone is now fully configured for use on metroPCS. Easy right?

    To get your ESN you need to convert it from the MEID number the iPhone gives you.
    The ESN should be an 18 digit number (there should be no letters). Google for a MEID to ESN converter.

    Now the hard part.

    Getting your iPhone's ESN added into the metroPCS inventory
    I learned this the hard way but you can't just go to a metroPCS store and have them add it for you. This is applicable not only for iPhones but for all flashed phones. The only way they can add it is if you're phone is officially flashable with metroflash. Why? Because there software adds the ESN automatically when the phone is flashed.

    To have it added manually you have to find someone who is willing to do it. Most corporate stores will do it but they will charge you for it.

    Otherwise I would recommend this guy on eBay.
    http://myworld.ebay.com/bigbuyer707/...id=p4340.l2559
    He adds ESNs at 3-4PM Pacific Time (6-7PM Eastern Time).
    His number is 6509213360

    To verify your ESN has been added
    (link) and check if your ESN is verified as a metroPCS ESN.

    Anyways after your ESN is added all you have to do is either
    Dial *228 on your phone and talk to customer service (important!) and have them add them switch the phones for you, it should be done automatically.

    or

    Go to a metroPCS store and have them add it for you.

    After that, talk and text should be working on metroPCS.

    Some things to note:
    There won't be a carrier name showing on the top but you can just use FakeCarrier or something to do it. Honestly though, I prefer the clean look of having no carrier name though.

    If you want to get rid of the O next to the carrier name or signal bars. Just disable Cellular Data. It's an indication saying it couldn't connect
    Doesn't *22801 load the PRL. You say you have to manually load the PRL and then dial *22801 to load the "roaming list". The PRL--preferred roaming list is the "roaming list".

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    13
    Carriers
    Sprint
    MetroPCS
    Feedback Score
    0
    anyone have any info on tinypwn thats supose to get the the data working? had my Viphone on metro for about 2-3 months now. but want data!!!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0
    Update 2: I was reading ona different forum that you have to use Houdidi to officially flash to metropcs not just replacing the PRL.... anyone has thought on that?

    Update!! OP's first step was correct but after intensive research online, you actually have to dial *22804 to update roaming list after the PRL upload so the metro will download the newest PRL for you. After that it will say "system update completed" then you can call 611 to verify if it's configured to metro.

    Next step is the same, convert the ESN to MEID using that tool. Get someone or store to add it to inventory, then talk to a rep by dialing *228 to add the phone. You should be done at this point.

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------

    Well, I am new and tried to follow the guide here...
    I done jail break, iphone browser, delete the old VZW310.prl and drag the metro.prl in there.

    Here's where I got stuck,
    I tried calling *22801 it will keep prompting for VERIZON program not Metro, what am I doing wrong? Please advice!!
    Last edited by lok214; 08-12-2011 at 05:16 PM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    17
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Clear
    Feedback Score
    0
    Does this work in all metroPCS markets or only certain ones?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    BTA027
    Posts
    16,528
    Phone
    iPhone 5
    Carrier
    American Telephone & Telegraph Company
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jbounce View Post
    Does this work in all metroPCS markets or only certain ones?
    The CDMA iPhone only supports the CLR and PCS bands, it does not support the AWS band. Therefore, a CDMA iPhone will only work on metroPCS in markets where they use the PCS band (FL, GA, CA, MI, TX). In markets where they use the AWS band (MA, NY, PA, NV), this will not work!

    PRL Interpretations
    XFF's AlphaTag software
    Cellular and PCS License Maps
    Quote Originally Posted by gpatrick900
    I am a little confused. My Verizon phone was able to roam on GSM because they used TDMA. Tell it was shutdown. The phone recognizes it as Analog. If PCS has TDMA, It could be technically be used on GSM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tabla View Post
    Y'know, I'm used to hysterical 14-year-old ******** on the internet, but this is exceptional. Never before in human history have so many nerds hyperventilated so publicly over so little.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    sorry i haven't been on in a while and yes you have to put the PRL in first before you dial *22801.

    *22801 doesn't just magically replace the PRL for you, it just updates it to the latest one.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I meant 22804 sorry

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jtludwig View Post
    Doesn't *22801 load the PRL. You say you have to manually load the PRL and then dial *22801 to load the "roaming list". The PRL--preferred roaming list is the "roaming list".
    22804 doesn't add it for you it only updates it

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Orlando
    Posts
    187
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just a heads up, some good news, updated to the iOS 5 beta (latest beta is beta 6 right now) and it doesn't affect the metroPCS PRL flash, it sticks onward to iOS 5 even if you restore (I restored).

Page 1 of 21 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Flashing a MetroPCS Indulge TO MetroPCS?
    By ickster in forum MetroPCS Flashing and Modding
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-26-2011, 08:58 PM
  2. PPC/Touch Pro Unlocking & Flashing Guide
    By Isriam in forum Cricket/AIO
    Replies: 75
    Last Post: 09-12-2010, 03:27 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2010, 11:22 PM
  4. V80 firmware flashing guide
    By Vincent Leung in forum Motorola
    Replies: 59
    Last Post: 03-02-2010, 01:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks