Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: VM shutoff my wifi hotspot!!!!!!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    402
    Feedback Score
    0

    VM shutoff my wifi hotspot!!!!!!

    Received a replacement phone from VM and when I turn on wifi hotspot with quick settings, data shuts off every time.

    Bastards!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    623
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm surprised how it slipped past in the first place...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    168
    Feedback Score
    0
    (Steps onto soapbox)
    (crowd applauds)
    "you can thank the abusers...."
    Last edited by jrocker; 07-29-2011 at 01:00 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Arlington TX
    Posts
    750
    Phone
    LG G2
    Carrier
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jrocker View Post
    you can thank the abusers.
    Anyone who used the WiFi hotspot in any capacity is an "abuser", get off your soapbox. Whether you used it to check your email one time or downloaded gigs of files with it you were in violation of the VM TOS, myself included. It was good while it lasted, the end.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    623
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by jrocker View Post
    (Steps onto soapbox)
    (crowd applauds)
    "you can thank the abusers...."
    The heavy abusers are probably rooted so that little update is probably irrelevant.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Over There!
    Posts
    18,829
    Carrier
    All of them.
    Feedback Score
    0
    Im sure there will be a way around it... but I dont blame VM for doing this.
    Home ISP, RR-Ultimate WiFi, $90/mo | Verizon 4G, $30/mo Unlimited

    School, $5,000/semester | Work

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,523
    Feedback Score
    0
    So VM has found a way to prevent the use of the Quick Settings activation of the WiFi Hot Spot?
    Well they do sell Individual stand alone WFHS. Not sure what they cost though. They might not be a bad deal if they had a Ethernet out port on them to be used on PCs that don't have wireless.

    ST to IPhone http://howardforums.com/bYd8e
    ST to Android http://howardforums.com/Xael3
    ST to Windows Phone http://howardforums.com/MMuZH
    Tracfone CS at 800-876-5753 or 800-626-4883
    Phone Number for Google Customer Service. 18558363987

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Chelsea, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    512
    Carrier
    Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    My replacement phone did that too. But it runs 2.2.2 instead of 2.2.1. Maybe someone can get the 2.2.1 stock vm rom and test it then. It just prevents the optimus from becoming the mifi.

    Sent from my VM670 using HowardForums

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Chelsea, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    512
    Carrier
    Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AndroidPhoneFan View Post
    So VM has found a way to prevent the use of the Quick Settings activation of the WiFi Hot Spot?
    Well they do sell Individual stand alone WFHS. Not sure what they cost though. They might not be a bad deal if they had a Ethernet out port on them to be used on PCs that don't have wireless.
    The optimus has the USB cord.

    Sent from my VM670 using HowardForums

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2,523
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by arp734 View Post
    The optimus has the USB cord.

    Sent from my VM670 using HowardForums
    Not everyone uses Windows and Mac, Ethernet is universal in its use to provide internet to all PCs regardless of OS.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    missouri and fla
    Posts
    1,818
    Phones
    att , nokia 1100, moto 376g
    iPhone 4s-64 + many others
    Carriers
    att, trac, pageplus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually the broadband mifi isnt a bad deal because you just add data when you need it a half gig for 20 and it will last a month for emergency browsing when i am at a place for a week without wifi. Unlike the phones the mifi account and number will stay active for a year after any top up so if you only need it for a few weeks a year you dont have to go thru the whole activation process you just login and add money and you can use it again even if has been 11 months since you have used it. That is real convenient....

    Sent from my MOTWX435KT using HowardForums
    trying to come up with better signature.......

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    103
    Carrier
    Boost Mobile
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by heatdepot View Post
    Received a replacement phone from VM and when I turn on wifi hotspot with quick settings, data shuts off every time.

    Bastards!
    All new revisions of Optimus V have Wifi Hotspot capabilities disabled. As they have been updated to Android 2.2.2. Not sure if Wifi Hotspot ever worked with the Intercept or not but im sure they locked it down on new revisions of it as well.
    All the world will be your enemy, Prince of a Thousand enemies. And when they catch you, they will kill you. But first they must catch you.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    952
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Boo hoo... root it like a big boy and install Barnacle.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    403
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by heatdepot View Post
    Received a replacement phone from VM and when I turn on wifi hotspot with quick settings, data shuts off every time.

    Bastards!
    Wonderful. I have noticed the network being a bit more responsive lately. Go VM!!!

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    681
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm happily using my hot spot as I type on the Optimus V. I use it lightly, but when needed, it's most welcome. If VM does disable or block this app for me, I'm gone. They advertise the unlimited data, but seems they don't like customers using any portion of it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Is there any ST phone that can act as a wifi hotspot?
    By WallyWest00 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 08-16-2012, 02:06 AM
  2. Pre Plus Wifi Hotspot Speeds
    By alfarmer in forum webOS
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 05-21-2010, 11:11 PM
  3. BB 9000 Wifi hotspot?
    By VICE3 in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-13-2010, 11:09 AM
  4. Turn BB into wifi hotspot
    By wlred in forum BlackBerry
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 11:59 AM
  5. Palm Pre Plus as WiFi hotspot on PPC
    By jwminer in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-21-2010, 11:53 AM

Bookmarks