Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Why didn't a pre-paid T-Mobile SIM work on an unlocked HTC Inspire?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0

    Why didn't a pre-paid T-Mobile SIM work on an unlocked HTC Inspire?

    ATT, tonite, gave me the unlock code for the Inspire which said, after the code was entered, that it was successfully unlocked.

    After putting in the TMO SIM, the phone never exprienced a signal.

    Is it something with the frequencies?

    thnx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    7,905
    Phones
    Nokia 8290 (TMO primary and site checker) / 6200 (850 roaming) / 6340i (AT&T PAYG and site checker)
    Nokia 8290 on Simple Mobile (T-Mobile site checker)
    6340i (AT&T site checker) / 6200 backup GSM phone with 850
    Carriers
    Simple Mobile / AT&T PAYG (for backup & checking cell sites) / PagePlus (trial)
    Vodafone NZ / M1 (SIN)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Where are you? A native T-Mobile service area?
    AT&T and T-Mobile SF Bay Area+ Cell Sites - with Cell ID labels
    http://sfocellsites.com/
    Over 1,100 AT&T sites in the 9 Bay Area counties + San Benito, Santa Cruz and Monterey counties
    Now over 1,500 T-Mobile sites in these 12 counties

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4,165
    Carrier
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a SIM unlocked and s-off Inspire 4G and I'm able to use my T-Mobile SIM in it just fine. You might want to set the phone to 2G only so its able to search faster. If it can't find a signal after 5 minutes, put it in airplane mode, and then out of airplane mode and wait 10 minutes.

    I am assuming you have another T-mobile phone that your T-Mobile SIM currently works with.
    Verizon 4G LTE----------------------------------AT&T 4G LTE

    FreedomPop 4G WiMax

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm in nyc. There's no way to switch to 2g on inspire as I already asked that question on here months ago. Yes the sim is active on t mobile now. Will try the airplane mode thing in the AM. thanks all.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tried the airplane mode off and on and now waited over 30 mins and still no signal.

    aww well. guess aint gonna happen here.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tried it today again on the unlocked Inspire for over an hour and still no signal....

    anything else I can do?


    thnx

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,037
    Feedback Score
    0
    I take it that T-Mobile SIM card will work in a T-Mobile branded device perfectly fine where you are trying to use the Inspire?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15,051
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Have you tried to speak with T-mobile to manually enter the IMEI of your unlocked HTC Inspire into their billing system ?? When all else fails, that might work.
    If I'm annoyed and you're annoyed, does that make us a paranoid ??

    Sarcasm is a fine art...

    "Don't believe everything you think"

    It's not a matter of if you win or lose, it's how you assign the blame

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    2,359
    Carrier
    Cingulatt
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a Tmobile pre paid sim in an unlocked ATT branded HTC HD7S and the combo works fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    15,051
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wlo8 View Post
    I have a Tmobile pre paid sim in an unlocked ATT branded HTC HD7S and the combo works fine.
    That's nice, but it doesn't solve the OP's issue.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    Have you tried to speak with T-mobile to manually enter the IMEI of your unlocked HTC Inspire into their billing system ?? When all else fails, that might work.
    I guess I will have to try that. I just want to see IF it will work before I port outta ATT to Pre Paid TMO.

    Cant afford ATT any longer and out of contract. I like the Inspire though and I know it wont get 3G, only 2G cause of the 1700mhz thing.


    thnx

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    104
    Carriers
    t mobile prepaid
    virgin mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    You need to try to stick another t mobile sim inside this device to see if that sim works. You should get bars on the device regardless if the t mobile sim is active or not. If you stick another sim inside this device and you get a singal. Then you have a sim issue.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SF Bay Area
    Posts
    2,359
    Carrier
    Cingulatt
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by veriztd View Post
    That's nice, but it doesn't solve the OP's issue.
    I guess that says T-mobile does not lock their pre-paid sims to their pre-paid phones like AT&T?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2,800
    Carriers
    AT&T,
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes. Tmobile does NOT lock their sims to the phone. I currently have a tmobile prepaid sim in an unlocked AT&T HTC inspire working without any problems. When you go into settings->mobile networks what do you see there?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    NYC/OK-TX
    Posts
    1,061
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    not connected is all its says, i will have to try another working SIM in it to see it the first TMO SIM is just not working cause its quirky

Similar Threads

  1. how often are you paid from work?
    By andrios in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 42
    Last Post: 06-27-2010, 07:54 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-09-2010, 05:52 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-25-2009, 09:15 AM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-28-2009, 07:40 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks