Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Infobar A01 by AU KDDI and Sharp - Anyone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

    Infobar A01 by AU KDDI and Sharp - Anyone?

    This looks like the first KDDI phone that can be truly usable outside of Japan - because of the Global Passport CDMA/GSM radio.
    Here are the phone's specs for anyone who doesn't know them:

    Screen size: 3.7 inches
    Resolution: 960 x 540 pixels (QHD)
    Processor: Qualcomm MSM8655 at 1.4 GHz
    RAM: 512MB
    Built-in memory (ROM): 2 GB (1.1 GB available to the user), expandable up to 32GB (SDHC)
    Camera: 8 megapixel CMOS
    Wi-Fi: b/g/n
    Bluetooth: 3.0
    Infrared
    Mobile Wallet FeLiCa
    One Seg digital TV
    Global Passport CDMA / GSM
    Measures: Approximately 63 × 118 × 11.8mm
    Weight: 113g
    I see it's already on sale - two on Ebay (for $700 and $580 auction start price), which I personally find too much as it's also available on Rakuten - from 292 EUR to 350 EUR (average) up to 500+ EUR (highest).

    Care to comment?
    Last edited by cheeseus; 08-16-2011 at 09:14 AM.
    Sharp mobile devices database & tips for Sharp smartphones: http://sharp.cheeseus.org
    Selling: Near mint Sharp SoftBank 005SH: SIM unlocked, permanent root, 16 GB microSD, leather case
    Selling: Sharp Aquos Phone 007SH – The Hybrid, SIM-unlocked, permanent root, 16 GB microSD, optimised.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    718
    Device(s)
    sh-06a, f-01a
    Carrier(s)
    at&t singtel
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    It's a01 not 01a
    I don't think hypersim will works on au phones.
    http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...es-be-unlocked
    There's no sms. Can you live with that.
    EVERYTHING'S GONE

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    No need for hypersim, they can be soft (or factory?) unlocked (or at least that's what the ebay auctions referred to in the OP suggest).

    Is the SMS issue a software or hardware issue?

    That said, most people I know use whatsapp or a similar alternative, and since this is an android phone at heart that should install/work fine, so that might not be as large of an issue as it was in the past.
    iPhone 6s | N-06C

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    @Klanse: model name fixed, thanks!

    I've no idea if hypersim is needed or not. Could it be that KDDI have simply made an unlocked phone?

    I can live without SMS just fine as long as there is e-mail and internet (wi-fi/gprs) And you can actually send an SMS to someone's telephone number using your email application. On my mobile operator you just need to send an email to [email protected] Sure that should be possible with other and much more advance carriers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can you receive sms via the email client as well though?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by yamanote View Post
    Can you receive sms via the email client as well though?
    Yes, it is possible but now sure how. I think it requires some sort of registration...

    But isn't SMS an operator's network's option? I mean, if you're using the Inforbar outside of Japan, just install some Android SMS application, enter your operator's SMS centre number, and there you go!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's what I was thinking. SMS isn't possible on, say, the W64S bc you can't sideload an alternative SMS app but with this being based on android...

    Sent from my SH-12C using HowardForums

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just a heads up- there are several used infobars available in multiple places (sofmap being one) for around 39000 yen.

    Sent from my SH-12C using HowardForums

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The User Interface on the InfoBar is really attractive. I hope development continues and we see it on other phones as well (I guess it's an IIDA development, not Sharp's) and it's not just another UI that gets forgotten quickly, e.g. the First ELSE's sPlay.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Played with a demo model at Yodobashi and the ui is not only cool but also very smooth.

    I'd buy one, but not with an unknown unlock status...

    Sent from my SH-12C using HowardForums

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Bulgaria
    Posts
    1,446
    Device(s)
    Aquos Zeta SH-01G
    Carrier(s)
    Mtel Bulgaria
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by yamanote View Post
    Played with a demo model at Yodobashi and the ui is not only cool but also very smooth.

    I'd buy one, but not with an unknown unlock status...

    Sent from my SH-12C using HowardForums
    If we had a CDMA network here in Bulgaria (they were working on it, but plans were dropped last year), and the phone could be unlocked, I'd get one. Too many IFs

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    HKG/YVR
    Posts
    4,455
    Device(s)
    HTC One X LTE
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers | Three HK
    Feedback Score
    0
    Janpara in Shinjuku has one in red/white for 27k yen (prices sure dropped quickly). Took it out and looked under the hood- there's a sim slot but is clearly marked 'au IC カード' (au ic card). Not sure if that will work with a normal sim, or a hypersim, but asked whether or not it'd work with a docomo sim and they said no (ie it's not factory unlocked).

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    718
    Device(s)
    sh-06a, f-01a
    Carrier(s)
    at&t singtel
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Edit -sorry wrong thread. :P

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am wondering that without AU simcard, can this phone operate such function like camera, music, game.... or not?

    Anyone know?

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Japan
    Posts
    1,116
    Device(s)
    HTC One X
    Carrier(s)
    AU by KDDI
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yamanote View Post
    Janpara in Shinjuku has one in red/white for 27k yen (prices sure dropped quickly). Took it out and looked under the hood- there's a sim slot but is clearly marked 'au IC カード' (au ic card). Not sure if that will work with a normal sim, or a hypersim, but asked whether or not it'd work with a docomo sim and they said no (ie it's not factory unlocked).
    I'm going to test next time I'm out of Japan, but it could be like some Verizon or Sprint world phones with GSM bands - the phone is locked in the US but outside the US, using non-US carriers, is possible and unlocked. Just a pipe dream probably but I'll test regardless with my Digno when I travel ;

    Quote Originally Posted by k66473 View Post
    I am wondering that without AU simcard, can this phone operate such function like camera, music, game.... or not?

    Anyone know?
    It's an Android phone, so it probably works. Actually I've never used my AU phone without its SIM card, so now I'm curious.. I'll have to try too one day

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. iPhone on KDDI au
    By fireshark in forum Japanese Phones
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-16-2011, 04:56 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-07-2010, 06:45 AM
  3. Au kddi
    By dorobo18jp in forum Japanese Phones
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-28-2010, 09:58 AM
  4. Using AU KDDI phones in the USA
    By sabeerkibria in forum Japanese Phones
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 05:11 AM
  5. au kddi
    By kanti in forum Japanese Phones
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 06-21-2009, 03:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks