Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24

Thread: Virgin Mobile Motorola Triumph

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0

    Virgin Mobile Motorola Triumph

    So after many frustrating hours trying to get my computer(s) to see my android device / mass usb storage. I have found out that vm disables usb on the phone. How would one actually remove that ********? I paid $300 so I could use that to access my sd card. Any help appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    202
    Feedback Score
    0
    USB access to the SD card works fine for me, make sure you turn it on, on your phone.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    how exactly? Whenever i hook it up via usb all i see is an error that usb device is not recognized. Installed the motohelper dev drivers 5.2.0 but still doesn't recognize the phone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    43
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ah, yes. You can't figure out how to do something simple so clearly VM must have disabled it. What a terrible phone! $300!!!!!!!!! I think you're looking for this thread: http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...gave-me-herpes.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh if it was simple as it should be it would have been done. Tried 3 different computers, three OS'es *(7,xp, ubuntu 11.04), as well as three different cables. USB debugging on and off. The technician from VM was the one that told me they have a company policy to disable usb access (think he was just trying to get me off the phone). Also found this blog. I have zero problems with my g1. Is VM blocking usb data capabilities like the rep said? Never get the drop down notification on triumph to mount sd card.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    south central WI
    Posts
    1,298
    Carrier
    cingular
    Feedback Score
    0
    is the phone you have defective maybe?

    mine works fine in linux

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,022
    Feedback Score
    0
    Had the same problem with my Optimus.. you need the "right" drivers on your PC... no clue what's "right" for the Triumph. An option is to just install a good Explorer (File Expert or Astro), and connect through wifi if you have that at home.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    43
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Mine works fine in Win7x64, not sure what to tell you. Try another driver (maybe the one that comes with PDAnet?) and make sure you're using a powered USB port as the phone does pull power to charge itself and you won't get mass storage mode in the notification bar if it can't.

    Alternatively, just use Dropbox or another wireless transfer app, or get a microSD card reader for like $0.99 anywhere.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    It works fine, why would they disable it? You're nutsnuts

    Sent from my MOTWX435KT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    That is what I asked the tech support from VM. Said it was to get people to use the vm app to download music. Was on the phone for 1 hour and 45 minutes trying to get them to do an exchange. Guess I will have to try again tomorrow. USB port should be fine. phone charges. my g1 works perfectly doing this. Only thing I could pin it down to was a defective phone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    92
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    the problem is your pc, NOT the phone. You do not have the correct up-to-date drivers. Go online and look for them.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    http://developer.motorola.com/docstools/USB_Drivers/

    Are these suppose to be the correct drivers?
    I have installed Handset USB Driver for Windows (64-bit) for win 7 x64 no luck.
    I have installed Handset USB Driver for Windows (32-bit) for win xp sp3 no luck.
    Two different machines. Even tried the other driver.
    http://www.motorola.com/consumers/v/...008806b00aRCRD

    none of which aid in the phone being recognized. If the problem was my pc then why would my google g1 recognize and mount perfectly fine?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    QC, Illinois
    Posts
    1,134
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S2 Epic 4G Touch
    Samsung Galaxy S2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by beirtech View Post
    how exactly? Whenever i hook it up via usb all i see is an error that usb device is not recognized. Installed the motohelper dev drivers 5.2.0 but still doesn't recognize the phone.
    Are you getting the little android guy or usb symbol in your notification bar when you plug the usb cord into your phone and computer?

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    92
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try this;

    Take battery out. With battery, swipe your buttcrack 3 times while chanting "mecca lecca high, mecca hiney hole"

    it should work ok now. I'm turning into a troll because of the repetitious overplayed same questions. If I get banned I'm ok with it.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    No. The icon to mount the sd card does not show up in the notifications on the phone.

    http://i.imgur.com/oTNlK.jpg

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SOLUTION: NO DATA with Virgin Mobile Motorola Triumph SOLVED!
    By Don Schueler in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-27-2011, 04:50 PM
  2. Triumph with virgin mobile is it worth it?
    By john510 in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 12:14 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 03:25 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-15-2011, 03:49 PM
  5. Replies: 33
    Last Post: 06-22-2011, 03:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks