Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: ATT 9810 (torch2) on T-Mobil will HSPA+ and UMA Work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0

    ATT 9810 (torch2) on T-Mobil will HSPA+ and UMA Work

    Hello.

    I am looking at purchasing an 9810 from ATT to unlock and use on T-Mobile. According to the specs on RIM's web site the phone supports:

    9810
    Tri-band 3G UMTS network: 2100/1900/850/800MHz
    Quad-band GSM/GPRS networks: 850/900/1800/1900MHz
    14.4 HSDPA, 5.76 HSUPA3

    Covered by Wi-Fi802.11 b/g/n enabled
    WPA / WPA2 Personal and Enterprise
    Cisco CCX certified
    Wi-Fi® access to BlackBerry® Enterprise Server
    Wi-Fi access to BlackBerry® Internet Bundle
    Support for UMA (carrier-dependent)

    I thought that T-Mobile used 1700 and 2100 MHZ for their 3g/4g networking and therefore think it should work. I am looking for someone that has already done this or is in the know and can tell me if this will work.

    Thanks,

    Gregg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Boston
    Posts
    654
    Device(s)
    Blackberry 9700
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile/Voicestream,
    Feedback Score
    0
    i am also looking for the same answer! My friend has a 9900 bought unlocked from hong kong and we popped in a tmobile usa sim card and he got 3G!!?? I guess i lost the best on that one...i told him he was only going to get EDGE but as soon as the sales guy put in the sim card and the phone bootup it said 3G Maybe the 9810 have the same maybe penaband freq?
    --- here is my HoFo feedback ---
    my SE hbh-pv705 review

    (\__/)
    (='.'=)
    (")_(")

    (\__/)
    (o.O )
    (> < )


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,679
    Device(s)
    LG-G4, wife S7
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    At present, NO RIM phone anywhere w. OS 7 has UMA, even the 9900 and 9360 carried by TM. Supposedly it will arrive with an OS update by the end of the year.
    ONLY TM branded phones will have UMA. ATT does not have it built in. Rogers in Canada has UMA, but they won't register here on UMA even the older BB models.
    GoogleVoice (domestic call forwarding and cheap intl. calls) Use GV to give us a "home" number in a 2nd location
    6 T-Mobile lines - Unlimited talk and text, data. 2G fast data on each line . $120/mo. + taxes. We have had no landline in more than 10 years.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can someone explain to me the following:
    On Blackberrys web site it states the 9810 as the following:
    9810
    Tri-band 3G UMTS network: 2100/1900/850/800MHz
    Quad-band GSM/GPRS networks: 850/900/1800/1900MHz
    14.4 HSDPA, 5.76 HSUPA3

    On Tmobile's site it shows:
    Band (frequency):
    850 MHz;900 MHz;1800 MHz;1900 MHz;UMTS: Band I (2100);UMTS: Band IV (1700/2100);UMTS: Band V (850)

    is it just a software setting to turn on the Band IV UMTS that Tmobile uses? There does not appear to be a distinction between model numbers to show that they are actually different.

    Any Ideas?

    Thanks,

    Gregg

Similar Threads

  1. UNLOCK BLACKBERRY 9810 TORCH - How to Unlock Torch 9810 by MEP Unlock Code
    By cellunlocker1 in forum CELLUNLOCKER.NET - UNLOCK your Phone to Any GSM Network, Fastest & LowestPrice 100% Guaranteed
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 11:14 AM
  2. TRADE: Nexus One /t-mobil,wind mobil/ for Nexus one /rogers,AT&T/
    By ronyb in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-05-2010, 12:24 PM
  3. AT&T LG Vu on Virgin Mobil Can / Does it work ?
    By 210Dan in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-31-2010, 12:09 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks