Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 3G speeds on Motorola Triumph

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    3G speeds on Motorola Triumph

    i use the motorola triumph and i'm getting very erratic internet speed test results.
    When i'm at my home, the internet speeds are quite slow, around 1kpbs-300kpbs from test results.
    Actually it is usually 50-200 kpbs when i'm inside my home.
    however when i'm outside of home, the speeds are quite faster like 200-400kpbs.
    I rarely get speeds above 500 kpbs, and if i do it is usually between a lot of slower test results.
    Having never used a smartphone b4, is this considered ok results for 3g speeds? should 3g be a lot faster?
    Despite the slow speeds, i never had much problem with it since browsing web pages doesn't use much bandwidth. in fact web pages load up very quickly.
    It's the problem when i'm at home that it slows down, but outside it is fine and decent speed.
    I do wish it was faster, is it because of the motorola triumph's hardware or Virgin Mobile giving me slow speeds?

    I have considered going to MetroPCS for their 4g once the LG Esteem gets there.
    I think their 4g speeds are much faster than VM's 3g.

    Does the Optimus V get better speeds?
    Has anyone else experienced these same speed problems?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N.Texas
    Posts
    1,049
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Opera/9.80 (Windows NT 5.1; U; en) Presto/2.9.168 Version/11.50)

    It's not Triumph. This a standard VM network data speed (at least for most of us). Sometimes there is no data at all. With 200 kbps consider yourself is a lucky person .
    This is an average for VM in "anytime" (mobil browser test):
    877 kbps / 396 ms
    4221 samples

    Today:
    Speed Test #98525212 by dslreports.com
    Run: 2011-09-03 16:52:23 EST
    Download: 431 (Kbps)
    Upload: 45 (Kbps)
    In kilobytes per second: 52.6 down 5.6 up
    Tested by server: 54 java
    User: 2 @ dslreports.com


    Not so bad (tether).Java test.
    Last edited by andyhrn; 09-03-2011 at 03:55 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    35
    Feedback Score
    0
    Test Date: Aug 22, 2011 11:26:15 am
    Connection Type: EvdoA
    Server: Boston, MA
    Download: 1466 kbps
    Upload: 538 kbps
    Ping: 393 ms

    External IP: 66.87.26.153
    Internal IP: 28.194.74.153
    Latitude: 41.86381
    Longitude: -69.98196

    A detailed image for this result can be found here:

    http://www.speedtest.net/android/77737577.png

    Sent from my MOTWX435KT using HowardForums

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N.Texas
    Posts
    1,049
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2.2; en-us; SPH-M910 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    Google and navigation(w/o GPS) picked up my location about 50 miles from original one (in other city actually ). But there are Sprint's towers nearby and VM doesn't use them. I have Sprint service too and it's a rock solid at the same location.
    Last edited by andyhrn; 09-04-2011 at 11:40 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    954
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by andyhrn View Post
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2.2; en-us; SPH-M910 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    Google and navigation(w/o GPS) picked up my location about 50 miles from original one (in other city actually ). But there are Sprint's towers nearby and VM doesn't use them. I have Sprint service too and it's a rock solid at the same location.
    Sprint has a reciprocal roaming agreement with Verizon; your Sprint phone isn't necessarily talking to a Sprint tower.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N.Texas
    Posts
    1,049
    Phone
    Samsung Galaxy Note 3
    Carrier
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2.2; en-us; SPH-M910 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    Quote Originally Posted by GTwannabe
    Quote Originally Posted by andyhrn View Post
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 2.2.2; en-us; SPH-M910 Build/FROYO) AppleWebKit/533.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/533.1)

    Google and navigation(w/o GPS) picked up my location about 50 miles from original one (in other city actually ). But there are Sprint's towers nearby and VM doesn't use them. I have Sprint service too and it's a rock solid at the same location.
    Sprint has a reciprocal roaming agreement with Verizon; your Sprint phone isn't necessarily talking to a Sprint tower.
    Maybe. I just assume it's Sprint because there's Sprint store close to where I live and a map shows full 3/4G coverage. I've been using Sprint for 9 years already. Still no excuse for VM to route the signal trough the server located in 76.4 miles ( I thought 50) away.

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola Triumph Cases?
    By mackloon in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 169
    Last Post: 12-07-2011, 07:51 PM
  2. Motorola Triumph -#dp.
    By austrie in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 11:54 PM
  3. Motorola Triumph Volume
    By austrie in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-25-2011, 11:26 AM
  4. Replies: 23
    Last Post: 07-24-2011, 04:28 PM
  5. Triumph - slow tethering speeds
    By Emkorial in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 01:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks