Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Can one reuse used sim cards that are deactivated?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2,186
    Carrier
    4169582622 ANI #
    Feedback Score
    0

    Can one reuse used sim cards that are deactivated?

    Can one reuse used sim cards that are deactivated?
    25GB Cap? DIY Telnus prepaid/Koodo unlimited EVDO internet (for $10 per 2 months, to keep account "Active"), Max 3Mbps download speed, if you roam on Bell (free), then you get non-NATed IP

    mobile files is reopened - Aug 11/2010
    HoFo = censorship same as US censor wikileaks = china censor

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YWG/YVR
    Posts
    1,589
    Phones
    iPhone 5c, Samsung Galaxy S3, Samsung Galaxy Note 2, iPhone 4S, Nexus 4,
    BlackBerry Bold 9900
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry Bold 9900: Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9900; en) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0.0.317 Mobile Safari/534.11+)

    Unfortunately no. http://www.howardforums.com/showthre...ht=deactivated

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    480
    Phones
    Galaxy Nexus
    XPERIA X1, X10
    Nokia E90, E72, E7
    Carriers
    Rogers
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have tried myself and it worked (Telus). From the web site portal swapped to new sim, later I switched back to the original old sim.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
    --------------
    leobg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    2,803
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    yes i have see this ... i have reuse many old sim card without any problem last week ... just strange ! i have call 611 and no people can confirm if you can re use many time simcard !

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YWG/YVR
    Posts
    1,589
    Phones
    iPhone 5c, Samsung Galaxy S3, Samsung Galaxy Note 2, iPhone 4S, Nexus 4,
    BlackBerry Bold 9900
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry Bold 9900: Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9900; en) AppleWebKit/534.11+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0.0.317 Mobile Safari/534.11+)

    Strange. Well that's good to hear. Maybe some kind of glitch?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    480
    Phones
    Galaxy Nexus
    XPERIA X1, X10
    Nokia E90, E72, E7
    Carriers
    Rogers
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    No, with Rogers and Fido you can't reuse SIM cards, but with Telus you can. It is operator policy, not a technology limitation.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Quebec
    Posts
    286
    Carriers
    Bell
    Feedback Score
    0
    From bulletin and information provided by TELUS to employees, SIM can be reused in the next 90 days, if not reused before that, they won't work anymore. Never tested myself past the 90 days. But definetly work in the 1-3 months range.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Smallville
    Posts
    649
    Phones
    Iphones, Moto Androids
    Ifone4, WinMo7,Milestone
    Sierra 306/298
    Carriers
    Telus-Voice
    Feedback Score
    0
    Do we mean a deactivated SIM can be reused with a new number, or just can have that number reactivated within that amount of time

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,009
    Phone
    HTC One (PN07120)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Can only be reactivated on the same BAN with the same number AFAIK.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    2,186
    Carrier
    4169582622 ANI #
    Feedback Score
    0
    What is BAN?

    When I try to activate an used SIM, but deactivated, on the SAME account, it works.

    but if on a different account, it would say

    Sorry, this equipment (SIM NUMBER) is already in use.
    Why is this, the SIM card is deactivated (swapped to another device) already.

    In the past, CDMA/EVDO phones did not have this problem, the ESN/MEID is freed right away as soon as you swap a dummy esn or some old/garbage phone's esn

    Also does the

    SIM can be reused in the next 90 days,
    limit NOT apply if you still keep your account active?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    10,435
    Carrier
    TELUS Mobility
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (WhiteBerry Bold 9780: Mozilla/5.0 (BlackBerry; U; BlackBerry 9780; en-US) AppleWebKit/534.8+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/6.0.0.668 Mobile Safari/534.8+)

    Quote Originally Posted by kokoman
    What is BAN?
    Billing Account Number

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,240
    Phones
    A3LSMG900T, L6ARCV70UW, QMNRM-381, A3LGTI9100, PYARM-601, PYARM-529, PPIRM-598, QMNRM-11
    PYARM-244, QTLRH-106, PPIRM-510, QTKRM-364, QURRM-485, QMNRH-66, QMNRH-55, QMNRH-71, QMNRH-34,
    BCG-E2817A, BCG-E2816A, IHDT56PG3, PKRNVWMC679, N7NAC763S, QISE181, QFXRM-675X...
    Carrier
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, China Mobile, au by KDDI, Travel SIM UK
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    kocoman,

    Why not? Stop your everlasting quest to compare apples with oranges. Not a single GSM or UMTS carrier would allow the recycling like in your mind. If you want to save the environment, save the money or try to exploit whatever loopholes in your favour, I can understand and 100% supporting you. But asking "why" in the realm of policy is pointless. Think different is good... but certain logic dictates the universe.
    --

    HC - NO "i"
    I am NOT "the" HC, we are TWO different individuals!


    "If we amplify everything, we hear nothing!" - Jon Stewart, Comedian

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    10,121
    Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by leobg View Post
    No, with Rogers and Fido you can't reuse SIM cards, but with Telus you can. It is operator policy, not a technology limitation.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
    You sure can with Rogers, any SIM that has been added to an account can be reactivated/deactivated on the same account. I've done it on my account just have to call in to get it done, never tried it online.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    205
    Carrier
    Telus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Mystery
    Quote Originally Posted by leobg View Post
    No, with Rogers and Fido you can't reuse SIM cards, but with Telus you can. It is operator policy, not a technology limitation.

    Sent from my XT860 using Tapatalk
    You sure can with Rogers, any SIM that has been added to an account can be reactivated/deactivated on the same account. I've done it on my account just have to call in to get it done, never tried it online.
    I've done it online many, many times. I switch back and forth between my iPhone 4 and Blackberry. It"s very convenient to have one SIM in each. The swap takes less than 5 minutes. And of course depends on Rogers online actually being available. .

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    YWG/YVR
    Posts
    1,589
    Phones
    iPhone 5c, Samsung Galaxy S3, Samsung Galaxy Note 2, iPhone 4S, Nexus 4,
    BlackBerry Bold 9900
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ok so I have not used a SIM card for several months. I typed in the numbers on the back of it, and when I enter it in on MYTM it says "The serial number is invalid. Please verify and try again."

    Does this mean it's no good anymore?

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SIM card reuse
    By atforum in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-22-2010, 08:40 PM
  2. Reuse SIM
    By night_sky83 in forum Mobilicity
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-19-2010, 01:59 PM
  3. Reuse expired SIM?
    By foosion in forum AT&T GoPhone
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 08-01-2009, 11:21 AM
  4. Reuse existing sim?
    By money69 in forum Boost Mobile
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-16-2009, 02:55 PM
  5. Can Net10 Reuse SIM Card
    By shawnlg in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-10-2009, 03:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks