Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Used Phone IMEI check

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    68
    Feedback Score
    0

    Used Phone IMEI check

    I'd like to sign up for the new $30 unlimited data/text prepaid plan but would prefer to purchase a used T-mobile android phone instead of buying the Dart from Walmart. I'm currently on Net10. My question is how to verify the ability to activate a used T-mobile phone PRIOR to purchase. That is, I don't want to buy a stolen phone that is blackballed. I called T-mobile customer service 3 times to ask just that question and never got an answer. In fact, I'm not sure they understood what I was asking. I see if I got to the T-mobile online activation page the first step is to enter the SIM number, activation number and IMEI. I would guess that if it was not a clean IMEI it would be kicked out at this step. Is this the only way to be assured I'm buying a legit phone? If I do so and the phone is blackballed, I hope the SIM and activation number is still available for used with the next phone IMEI tried.

    Anybody have any experience with buying used T-mobile phones and trying to be assured you are not getting stuck with a phone that they will not activate for you?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    1,215
    Phone
    Note II Repaired after SDS
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    I've been told that Tmobile does not use IMEI blacklists. As such I have bought and used many TMobile used phone w/o worrying if its stolen. They all worked.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    3
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm by no means an expert on these things. But from my understanding, the ESN found with CDMA is typically the stopping point for those who try to activate a phone that's not legit. GSM phones, again from my limited understanding, are much more flexible due to the replaceable sim card.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Space City
    Posts
    616
    Carrier
    NET10/TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Deleted post

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    395
    Carriers
    T-Mobile Prepaid
    Truphone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by drooper View Post
    <snip>
    Anybody have any experience with buying used T-mobile phones and trying to be assured you are not getting stuck with a phone that they will not activate for you?

    Thanks.
    GSM cell services, including T-Mobile, activate the SIM, not the phone. So if the phone works, and your'e using a new SIM card, you're ok.
    Now Tracfone free!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    68
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks everyone. I appreciate the info!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    78081
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    Optimus T
    Optimus T
    G1
    Carrier
    T-Mobile prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just activated a prepaid SIM on TMO website using the 999* IMEI. Activated fine and has been running for a few days with no problem.
    Inspire 4G: CM7 official, 16gb sdhc. TMO PAYG (no data)
    My android page

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fratermus View Post
    I just activated a prepaid SIM on TMO website using the 999* IMEI. Activated fine and has been running for a few days with no problem.
    What do you mean by "the 999* IMEI"? Is this a special number that can be used for any activation?

    I'm asking because I've been unsuccessful in signing up for the new $30 Monthly4G plan online. I bought a T-Mobile 4G phone from eBay to use, and I'm pretty sure it was from a responsible owner who moved on to a new phone. After selecting the plan in their online process, I get an error page that tells me to call a customer service number. It doesn't explain why the activation failed, but I'm assuming it's due to my IMEI. I've read about other people's experiences with this same problem.

    I've read that it's impossible or extremely difficult to activate the new $30 plan through customer service, so I'm hoping there's something I can enter for the IMEI to get me through the online activation.

    Any help's appreciated, and thanks in advance!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    6,938
    Feedback Score
    0
    Buy a $20 or less prepaid Tmobile phone, activate with that. Transfer the sim from that phone to your other phone. Done.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    78081
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    Optimus T
    Optimus T
    G1
    Carrier
    T-Mobile prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yehp View Post
    What do you mean by "the 999* IMEI"?
    9s all the way across instead of the actual IMEI of the phone. I don't remember how many digits there are, so wildcarded (*) them.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by fratermus View Post
    9s all the way across instead of the actual IMEI of the phone. I don't remember how many digits there are, so wildcarded (*) them.
    Thanks, that worked perfectly. I got my activation text message right away.
    I wish I had known this trick a week ago!

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    29
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by yehp View Post
    What do you mean by "the 999* IMEI"? Is this a special number that can be used for any activation?

    I'm asking because I've been unsuccessful in signing up for the new $30 Monthly4G plan online. I bought a T-Mobile 4G phone from eBay to use, and I'm pretty sure it was from a responsible owner who moved on to a new phone. After selecting the plan in their online process, I get an error page that tells me to call a customer service number. It doesn't explain why the activation failed, but I'm assuming it's due to my IMEI. I've read about other people's experiences with this same problem.

    I've read that it's impossible or extremely difficult to activate the new $30 plan through customer service, so I'm hoping there's something I can enter for the IMEI to get me through the online activation.

    Any help's appreciated, and thanks in advance!
    I had the same problem with the website I had to call customer service. The reps themselves can't do it. The rep put me on the 30 dollar 1500 minute plan and his supervisor switched it to the 100 minute unlimited text unlimited data then everything was golden. Not too difficult just tell them the website isn't working.

    Sent from my SGH-T959 using Tapatalk

Similar Threads

  1. buyer is requesting imei to check compatibility?
    By neotekz in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 03-19-2011, 02:23 AM
  2. Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 12:41 AM
  3. How to check the baseband of iphone 4 using IMEI?
    By MameXP in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2010, 01:24 PM
  4. IMEI check with new AT&T phone
    By Pink Jazz in forum AT&T
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-30-2009, 03:07 PM
  5. check imei is original or fake
    By mamamobile in forum Nokia
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-19-2009, 06:12 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks