Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Don't let WIND tell you that you need to buy a new SIM to port in or change a number

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    549
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Don't let WIND tell you that you need to buy a new SIM to port in or change a number

    Hello WIND people, I ported in to WIND today. I did notice on these forums a few people saying that WIND charges you $25 if you port in a number over top of an existing one, and that there are "technical" reasons for this. So I thought I would share my experience so that you all know there is no technical reason why, it's just a cash grab for $25.

    I signed up a pre-paid WIND account yesterday and walked around all the usual places I go to check out the service. I came back in today, 24 hours later, satisfied with the experience and asked to port my number in. At first I got the run-around, you will have to buy a new SIM, no we can't move your top-up over to the new account, that's right you have to pay $40 plus $25 all over again, sorry blah blah.

    Well I said in that case I don't want anything to do with WIND, cancel my account right now, I will stay with Mobilicity, I don't do business with people who have those sorts of practi---> sir I'm transferring your call to retentions. OK?

    So retentions come along and low and behold all on the phone, without physical access to my phone, they can port my number in on my EXISTING SIM, just by asking me a few questions. Done.

    So it can be done, don't let them tell you otherwise! They can port in onto an existing SIM, do whatever they like, and they can do it all over the phone. The story that you need to pay $25 for a new activitation or to port a number or change one is crap, get someone to transfer you through to retentions and they will handle it.

    Just so you all know.

    So aside from that little run-around, which was resolved successfully, at this point in time, a WIND subscriber for less than 24 hours, I am still happy

    Happy New Year all.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    hamilton, on
    Posts
    226
    Device(s)
    Galaxy Note 2
    Carrier(s)
    Wind
    Feedback Score
    0
    when i signed up with wind when they first started, i got a sim to test the service, and so i did for a month, after that month i was happy and called asking to port my number and they told me i needed a new sim, so i went to the store and asked them to port me using the sim i had and they said it wasnt possible but they gave me a new sim with my ported number on it for free and cancelled my test sim..... so i didnt mind at all
    With Wind Since Early 2010.
    Holiday miracle 40 2010
    Pay your way 2012

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Vancouver
    Posts
    743
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6P, OnePlus One, Moto E 2nd gen.
    Carrier(s)
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    It had some serious issues in the early days. They attempted to do it for me in June 2010 and it fried the SIM card. Spent about 2 hours on the phone trying to revive it with 3 different people (transferred to various departments) but in the end I had to get a new SIM (free of charge).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    549
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well it worked fine for me. The port was a bit weird, took two hours longer than they said, and oddly my number said out of service during the wait, but now it's working great.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    4,868
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by rjwells View Post
    So I thought I would share my experience so that you all know there is no technical reason why, it's just a cash grab for $25.
    Of course it's a cash grab but WIND's policy's say that you must get a new sim card. Whether they charge you for this sim card or not is a a different story.
    Quote Originally Posted by rjwells View Post
    Well I said in that case I don't want anything to do with WIND, cancel my account right now, I will stay with Mobilicity, I don't do business with people who have those sorts of practi
    Your point is very valid but your statement to WIND customer service would mean that you shouldn't be a Mobilicity customer either. I understand that you might have had to say something along those lines just to get WIND to override this ridiculous rule but you should realize that Mobilicity does exactly the same thing.
    Last edited by computergeek541; 12-31-2011 at 09:13 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    549
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Well they did it for me without any new SIM card. They just reprogrammed the existing one, and they did it over the phone. As for whether it is their policy--it is until you threaten to cancel over it, and then it isn't.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    does this mean if I have a deactivated sim I can port a new number to it>?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    14
    Device(s)
    LG P500h, LG Dlite
    Carrier(s)
    TELUS
    Feedback Score
    0
    maybe.. lol Id just buy the SIM then you dont have to worry about it I believe their covered under a one year warranty, they will drop in price some day but 25 bucks for a sim is nothing compared to what rogers used to charge for them when they were the only GSM/WCDMA carrier in Canada until BELLus launched there HSDPA network back in 2009, then they dropped to 10 Dollars almost over night I recall they were 35 Bucks, heck I bought an extra Sim and stuffed it in a file folder if I ever fry my sim I just call them up tell them I fried MY sim they give me the whole BOO HOO I tell them just register the other one

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    200
    Device(s)
    HTC One X
    Carrier(s)
    Koodo, WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Its more of an issue of customer care reps not having the proper training to complete an after-the-fact port. It can be done....Im sure in very near future, especially if Windsor is going to start taking calls...this will not become a problem anymore.

    Its more of a mistake by WIND that they pass on to customers; b/c 99% of reps do not know how to do this...it has been "policy" to start a new activation.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    12,011
    Device(s)
    Moto X
    Carrier(s)
    Fido Solutions
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Oxygen.1 View Post
    Its more of an issue of customer care reps not having the proper training to complete an after-the-fact port. It can be done....Im sure in very near future, especially if Windsor is going to start taking calls...this will not become a problem anymore.

    Its more of a mistake by WIND that they pass on to customers; b/c 99% of reps do not know how to do this...it has been "policy" to start a new activation.
    Actually, porting is is not even an option in the system for front end reps and stores on existing lines. The only option to port is during initial activation. Same with Mobilicity.

    FIDO $40/4GB BYOD
    PUBLIC $38/4GB BYOD
    WIND $15 AITF unlimited data (10GB full speed)


    All my posts are my own opinion only and not necessarily that of any of my employers, past or present.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    191
    Device(s)
    BB 9700
    Carrier(s)
    WIND Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JustinCredible View Post
    Actually, porting is is not even an option in the system for front end reps and stores on existing lines. The only option to port is during initial activation. Same with Mobilicity.
    Likewise, the plan needs to be current/active.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    7,180
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    The Big-T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by JustinCredible View Post
    Actually, porting is is not even an option in the system for front end reps and stores on existing lines. The only option to port is during initial activation. Same with Mobilicity.
    This needs to change. Its 2011 and not 1911.

Similar Threads

  1. Info you need before buying a new phone?
    By Bashok in forum Sprint
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2008, 04:33 PM
  2. I'm a happy TMO customer now but let me tell you...
    By overmyminutes in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 09:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks