Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: AT&T MVNO APN Settings for Wi-Fi Tethering Hotspot?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    177
    Phone
    iPhone 5 on ST
    Carrier
    Straight Talk/AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T MVNO APN Settings for Wi-Fi Tethering Hotspot?

    This one beats me but.. Does anyone know the Wi-Fi Tethering Hotspot APN settings for AT&T MVNO's? I've looked everywhere and can't find it. (I have Jolt Mobile, which is a AT&T MVNO, as well as a partner of Red Pocket) and it would be nice if I were able to tether with my Samsung Galaxy S2. I'm sure other people would like to know these as well. Let me know if you have know the APN settings for tethering. Thanks!

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S2 using HowardForums

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,609
    Phones
    N/A
    Pantech Jest
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    The APN settings are the same as for using data on the phone. Assuming your phone is already configured to link to the internet and the browser works, the tethered data would go out over the same 3G connection.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Al
    Posts
    87
    Phone
    samsung vibrant
    Carriers
    net10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by HF305 View Post
    The APN settings are the same as for using data on the phone. Assuming your phone is already configured to link to the internet and the browser works, the tethered data would go out over the same 3G connection.

    Yep...you will be using your existing data connection ( and apn), just broadcasting it like a router would. since you have an sgs2, you come setup for wifi tethering out of the box.

    Go to settings, then wireless and network, then mobile AP.

    That's it...now your phone is a mobile hotspot.

    Sent from my GT-I9000 using HowardForums

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    177
    Phone
    iPhone 5 on ST
    Carrier
    Straight Talk/AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    No guys, this isn't the case. Whenever I try to do that it says a mobile Hotspot plan is required to use this service, so that's why I assumed I needed a special APN for this?

    Thanks for all your time & help.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S2 using HowardForums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4,206
    Carrier
    AT&T GoPhone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Anarchypunk101 View Post
    No guys, this isn't the case. Whenever I try to do that it says a mobile Hotspot plan is required to use this service, so that's why I assumed I needed a special APN for this?

    Thanks for all your time & help.

    Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S2 using HowardForums
    You need to root your phone end delete the AT&T tethering app/manager. That will get rid of that message.

    You could also download something like PDANet or Barnacle, which doesnt need root.

    Sent from my Atrix 4G

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Space City
    Posts
    636
    Carrier
    NET10/TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like the problem is not the APN but the wireless plan.

Similar Threads

  1. APN setting for p910i?
    By kitwolf in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-10-2007, 02:02 PM
  2. APN Settings For Blackberry 8700c
    By bluearchtop2 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-11-2006, 02:50 PM
  3. Help!: Need Web (not Wap) APN settings for TIM in Brazil
    By ellipsified in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-14-2005, 04:41 PM
  4. Need help, MMS quit, need location of APN settings for MMS messages
    By Cell2Be in forum Windows Mobile Standard (Smartphone)
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-27-2004, 09:40 PM
  5. New GPRS APN settings for IP access??
    By SFJeff in forum AT&T
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-06-2002, 08:22 PM

Bookmarks