Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    3008
    Posts
    4,741
    Phones
    A phone
    with buttons
    'n stuff
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    New SMS phishing scam

    Just wanted to let people know what's going on with a new phishing scam. Text was sent to my girlfriend's phone

    From: Unverified Sender
    (9174963578) V.erizon.wireless.update. Please click on http://verizon.vtext-1.com and proceed.Alert EFMQ

    Going to the site gives you this official looking screen:


    You can enter anything (or nothing) in the boxes, after clicking sign in (the only working "link"), you are taken to m.verizon.com which is legitimate however you are not signed in.

    The site vtext-1.com is registered to:
    Registrant:
    Domain Discreet Privacy Service
    ATTN: vtext-1.com
    12808 Gran Bay Pkwy, West
    Jacksonville, FL 32258
    US
    Phone: 1-902-7492701
    Email: e3692cea0a16121f05eb2a037751724f@domaindiscreet.co m

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    1,306
    Phones
    Motorola ATRIX 4G
    Verizon iPhone 4S (Wife's)
    Carriers
    Straight Talk, Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    That's a bit concerning. Most companies have an e-mail address to forward things like that to them so they can work with the proper authorities to have the fake site shut down. I'm sure VZW has a similar e-mail address.

    Edit: Found it http://support.verizonwireless.com/h...aud_email.html
    You should be able to forward the text to the e-mail in that link.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I keep getting smishing messages for best buy gift card, from this number:

    http://www.whycall.me/773-270-3174.html

    I tried contacting the registrar of the site bestbuyscards dot com but they told me to buzz off, that I have to contact the hosting company? but how do I find out who the host is? I only see name records...

    if we can nuke their sites as fast as they produce them I'm sure it would discourage a lot of these scammers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    3008
    Posts
    4,741
    Phones
    A phone
    with buttons
    'n stuff
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can look up the registrant of the site using Whois

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    OKC, OK
    Posts
    923
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by droidboi View Post
    I keep getting smishing messages for best buy gift card, from this number:

    http://www.whycall.me/773-270-3174.html

    I tried contacting the registrar of the site bestbuyscards dot com but they told me to buzz off, that I have to contact the hosting company? but how do I find out who the host is? I only see name records...

    if we can nuke their sites as fast as they produce them I'm sure it would discourage a lot of these scammers
    nuke their sites? I'd rather see a seal team deploy and shoot the bastards dead. Scammers don't deserve any better than a bullet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    same here, now if only we could do it by calling up some registrar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    125
    Feedback Score
    0
    There are literally thousands of those fake gift card sites popping up daily. It's very difficult to catch some of these players as they constantly switch domain names and hosting services on a daily basis. The best thing to do is to immediately report the scam once you receive it. Always try to collect the url and shortcode used in the scam.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    1,417
    Carriers
    vz
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Vatothe0 View Post
    Just wanted to let people know what's going on with a new phishing scam. Text was sent to my girlfriend's phone

    From: Unverified Sender
    (9174963578) V.erizon.wireless.update. Please click on http://verizon.vtext-1.com and proceed.Alert EFMQ

    Going to the site gives you this official looking screen:


    You can enter anything (or nothing) in the boxes, after clicking sign in (the only working "link"), you are taken to m.verizon.com which is legitimate however you are not signed in.

    The site vtext-1.com is registered to:
    Registrant:
    Domain Discreet Privacy Service
    ATTN: vtext-1.com
    12808 Gran Bay Pkwy, West
    Jacksonville, FL 32258
    US
    Phone: 1-902-7492701
    Email: e3692cea0a16121f05eb2a037751724f@domaindiscreet.co m
    Thanks for the heads up. I've been getting some crazy text lately. The scams are in full force lately.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    New Caprica
    Posts
    2,671
    Phone
    Cylon Droid Communicator
    Carrier
    New Caprica Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Keep all PHONE discussion within the Verizon Phone Discussion sub forum. We will close/move threads without notice if you do not follow the the VZW forum rules. Report inappropriate posts by clicking on the red triangle in the upper right hand corner of any post, or the orange triangle in the bottom left for Premium members.

Similar Threads

  1. New Phishing Scam - Phonehistoryreport.com/Esntracer.com
    By Davo1224 in forum General Mobile Industry Discussion
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-09-2007, 03:44 PM
  2. New phishing Scam
    By rkolec in forum Nextel Lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-24-2005, 02:22 AM
  3. NEED HELP WITH NEW SMS (inter carrier)
    By IdiOTeQnoLogY in forum Sprint
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-02-2002, 01:01 PM
  4. New SMS pricing on Cityfone?
    By FP^.^ in forum Fido
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-04-2002, 04:13 AM
  5. New SMS Craze
    By tolwyn in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-28-2001, 07:17 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •