Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Revealing the identity of "Emergency Calls Only"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0

    Question Revealing the identity of "Emergency Calls Only"

    When you phone displays "Emergency Calls Only" is because it can't find or hold on to a signal from your carrier and it has found some other carrier -- a carrier that won't allow you to roam with them and will only allow you to use their network to call emergency numbers 911, 112, etc. If you see the "Emergency Calls Only message too often, some other carrier might have a better signal than yours in that area.

    Is there an app that can tell you what is the carrier (name or MCC-MNC) your phone is holding on to during those "Emergency Calls Only" periods?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,209
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    No app needed, just look at Mobile Networks/ Network Operators and you'll see what signals you have.
    Un-Rogered

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    That doesn't work. When the notification bar reads "Emergency Calls Only", the Mobile Operators item just reads "Select a mobile Operator". When the notification bar does read "AT&T" then the Mobile Operators item reads "AT&T" too.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,209
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have to strongly disagree. Here's a screenie from my Nexus S. Please note there is no sim in the device.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oh, that screen! Mine has AT&T and PR Claro. Weird that T-Mobile is not present, even though there is T-Mobile service here -- with crappy signal but still there. I think AT&T completely bans T-Mobile on GoPhone SIM's.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,209
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    Or, the device doesn't 'see' it because you may have it set to 3G, and ignores it. Try 2G only, and see if you pick it up. I've found it to help at times.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually, it's an unlocked T-Mobile MyTouch Slide so I have it set to GSM-only. (2G)

    I'm suspecting something evil is going on; something I have not seen since back in the D-AMPS days. (TDMA) I'm afraid this phone, despite having been unlocked, has a radio programmed to dump AT&T (or any non-T-Mobile carrier) and cling onto a T-Mobile tower. I'm frquently grab this phone and out of standby, I find it on "emergency calls only" mode even though there is decent AT&T coverage.

    I really would like to find an app that actually tells you what network the phone is camping on in these cases, given that AT&T is also notorious for hiding other carriers alpha tags in their SIM cards.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    2,209
    Carrier
    Koodo
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the device did that, then you would see the T-Mob towers, right? Is there a FW flash for it somewhere? XDA, maybe?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Carolina, Puerto Rico
    Posts
    8,198
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S Glide
    Samsung Galaxy Appeal
    Samsung Galaxy Tab 2
    Carrier
    AT&T Go Phone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried CM7 but it has the same issue. Not sure if CM has a different radio compared to stock HTC/Tmo build.

Similar Threads

  1. Emergency calls only
    By Mikebyrne000 in forum Other Manufacturers
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2004, 03:40 AM
  2. Emergency Calls Only??
    By biffs in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 12-18-2003, 09:04 AM
  3. T720i or S105 Emergency Calls Only
    By bhishan in forum Mobile Phone Reviews
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-31-2002, 04:51 PM
  4. "Emergency Calls Only" with T28w?!
    By furball in forum Fido
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-24-2002, 02:58 AM
  5. Emergency Calls Only
    By Goofyguy in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-07-2002, 10:41 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks