Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 29

Thread: Virgin OV 2.2.2 WiFi hotspot tethering

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0

    Lightbulb Virgin OV 2.2.2 WiFi hotspot tethering

    Virgin OV 2.2.2 WiFi hotspot tethering

    OK its been many days of playing, even installing XP on an old laptop as XP is all wireless ready. [PC is windows 2000 pro] yea yea yea but I like it.

    Anyways, after lots of programs. I ended up with PDAnet and was able to get USB tethering to work.

    tried to activate hotspot a few time with PDAnet with no luck.

    then about the 5th try PDAnet said I needed to goto the market and get FoxFi to be able to tether, so I downloaded it and walla I have WiFi hotspot working on the XP laptop, then it took about 5 mins to get it working on the Win2kpro PC. Which I am using right now. [web pages never loaded so fast]

    Now I am enjoying this to much to go back and start all over.

    but I wonder if you even need PDAnet as all it does it auto launch FoxFi for you, which would make PDAnet not neeed unless you wanted to USB or BlueTooth tether.

    [I am well aware on the TOS rules to tethering but I will not be doing anything different then I do on my OV now, I can just have a bigger screen, keyboard and mouse to use. As we only got dial up out here, so I heavily use the OV for everything by default.]
    *NEW Ramos W17PRO Dual Core Cortex A9 1.5Ghz 1GB DDR3 ICS Tablet > FLsuperstore.com
    - KindleFire -
    LG Optimus V Bone stock Fryo 2.2.2 - [FoxFi Tethering]
    2X LG Optimus V Rooted Fryo 2.2.2 WiFi Only Phone -
    Eken T02A Allwin A10 Tablet Gingerbread 2.3.4 > FLsuperstore.com -
    My Apps List -
    WiFi Antenna Build

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    157
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have an OV 2.2.2 and just tried FoxFi. It worked fine. I just let a friend download the Amazon FAOTD on her Kindle fire. Uninstalled. No use for it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,664
    Phones
    Motorola Triumph, LG Optimus V
    Motorola Triumph
    LG Optimus V
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by 350X View Post
    then about the 5th try PDAnet said I needed to goto the market and get FoxFi to be able to tether, so I downloaded it and walla I have WiFi hotspot working on the XP laptop, then it took about 5 mins to get it working on the Win2kpro PC. Which I am using right now. [web pages never loaded so fast]

    Now I am enjoying this to much to go back and start all over.

    but I wonder if you even need PDAnet as all it does it auto launch FoxFi for you
    But what does pdanet have to do with FoxFi? As of yesterday I didn't know it existed, I could have sworn it was a separate entity from pdanet, and I'm still using version 3.02 of that and wireless tethering simply isn't available.

    What the heck is going on, Charlie? Pdanet wasn't updated since August, and this app never hit my radar until now. The one should not know about the other.

    Sent from my LG-VM701 using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0
    ^ thats my question, but since its working well, I haven't gone backwards and removed PDanet and only used FoxFi, as they must have join them somehow as if I just launch FoxFi, PDAnet launches too. yet Im not restricted on sites n stuff [free PDAnet don't let https sites to work], but its ok, I do like how PDanet show sent and recieved bytes, so I can watch my tethering useage in action.

    And so far, I use less data on tether as the phone is in use, so im not downloading movies n music all day.

    been "online" for two hours. only used 893k/559k

    if I wasn't tethered, id done downloaded a 100 megs plus by now.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,664
    Phones
    Motorola Triumph, LG Optimus V
    Motorola Triumph
    LG Optimus V
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by 350X View Post
    ^ thats my question, but since its working well, I haven't gone backwards and removed PDanet and only used FoxFi, as they must have join them somehow as if I just launch FoxFi, PDAnet launches too. yet Im not restricted on sites n stuff [free PDAnet don't let https sites to work], but its ok, I do like how PDanet show sent and recieved bytes, so I can watch my tethering useage in action.

    And so far, I use less data on tether as the phone is in use, so im not downloading movies n music all day.

    been "online" for two hours. only used 893k/559k

    if I wasn't tethered, id done downloaded a 100 megs plus by now.
    Well I'm starting to see here. Maybe it just invokes whatever service is required for tethering... on the Optimus Slider, it starts pseudo-native hotspot tethering...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    710
    Phones
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Shorty, LG290C, VX5500, S380C, 235C, 440G
    401G
    Carriers
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Page Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just installed foxfi. It works for me! Got 800k downstream and 45k up. Never installed pdanet. Thanks 305x!

    Oh, Optimus V 2.2.2.

    Would be nice if somebody could verify if this works on a Samsung, the Wildfire and/or Motorola.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    109
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just downloaded. It works great. Optimus V 2.2.2

    Sent from my VM670 using HowardForums
    My mediafire folder with Rumor Touch games and apps.
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ri5on32xtffo0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,664
    Phones
    Motorola Triumph, LG Optimus V
    Motorola Triumph
    LG Optimus V
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Should work on everything, according to the app market page. Why not check reviews there?

    Sent from my LG-VM701 using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    117
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Eeeexcellent! Thanks for the find!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0
    Also note people one the best part is FoxFi has a password option installed.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0
    This is a real nice and cheap USB adapter to use WiFI, software it comes with is great.

    Rosewill RNX-EasyN1 IEEE 802.11b/g/n USB 2.0 Wireless-N 4.0 Dongle (1T1R) U

    [same item, same seller, different ways to buy]

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/300630483737

    or

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833166041

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0
    Got my 2nd Rosewill RNX-EasyN1 in the mail today, only for a test I tried it on the laptop in the kitchen, through 4 walls and a closet of junk, I still got 57% link quality, 100% signal strength accoring to the Rosewill RNX-EasyN1 software.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Chelsea, Michigan, United States
    Posts
    512
    Carrier
    Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for telling me about Foxfi. With everyone so absolutely gung ho about quick settings and acting like there isn't another App out there that can enable wifi. Thank you for proving them wrong!

    Sent from my VM670 using HowardForums

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    NW Ohio
    Posts
    200
    Phones
    OptimusV-2.2.2
    LG Optimus V
    Kyocera Loft
    Carrier
    Virgin
    Feedback Score
    0
    yea that quick setting is a POS, and there is a strange way on how some programs are pushed around the sites.

    First thing to disqualify an app for me is if it has ads.

    There is always one just like it, without ads, that ill never read or click anyways.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,664
    Phones
    Motorola Triumph, LG Optimus V
    Motorola Triumph
    LG Optimus V
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by 350X View Post
    yea that quick setting is a POS, and there is a strange way on how some programs are pushed around the sites.

    First thing to disqualify an app for me is if it has ads.

    There is always one just like it, without ads, that ill never read or click anyways.
    Umm... Quick Settings doesn't have ads. (Not the normal kind anyway; occasionally it asks you about its paid alternative, which I have purchased and don't really like as much.) There are also a lot of similar apps like My Settings, that have Airpush installed. I obviously don't use those :C

    Anyways it sure as heck was the only way to enable wireless hotspot, until this new app came out of nowhere. And this new app is friggin' awesome dude.
    Name:  napoleon-dynamite-54061.jpg
Views: 2372
Size:  2.8 KB

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-24-2012, 12:25 AM
  2. Motorola Triumph Wifi Hotspot Tethering
    By pocketpenguin in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 230
    Last Post: 12-30-2011, 09:38 AM
  3. Wifi Hotspot (tethering)
    By rmesser in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 09-03-2011, 09:05 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-31-2011, 01:59 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-20-2010, 01:18 PM

Bookmarks