Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Signal problems with Net10 L600G

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0

    Signal problems with Net10 L600G

    Last week, we activated a NetTen L600G with 300min (bought a while back). Got a number no problem but no airtime. Had to call customer service, tried a bunch of things and eventually they had us entering about 20 20-digit numbers into the phone, and we got our 300min/60days.

    Since then the phone seems to lose its signal and has to be power cycled to come back up. Otherwise it works fine.

    Before I spend another hour on the phone with customer service, is this a common problem, hopefully with a common DIY (or DIM) fix?

    Thanks!
    =aw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,908
    Feedback Score
    0
    Put your number into wirelessamberalerts.org and see who your carrier is. It won't sign you up for anything. You might just have a sim that is not the best carrier for you. This can be changed.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks I'll try that when I get my hands on the phone (a friend has been using it). It now turns out she's not getting a message, the phone is just turning itself off. I'm thinking battery. Though I'm not sure her report of the symptoms is necessarily 100% reliable.

    =aw

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    T-Mobile. Signal should be good at her location.

    Thanks!
    =aw

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    Okay another symptom. She was talking to someone (who's on a landline) and in the middle of the call, the NetTen phone started beeping and then said "insert SIM" [emergency only]. Removing battery and SIM, then replacing, brought it right back to normal.

    I was wondering if there might be known to be a batch of this handset with substandard SIM slots, or a batch of flaky SIM cards.

    Thanks!
    =aw

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,908
    Feedback Score
    0
    It is certainly possible to have a bad SIM card. It wouldn't hurt to start there. And while you're at it, if you want an AT&T SIM, you could try to get one. Call 305-715-6500.

    Was the SIM already installed or did you have to install it?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    It came installed. I think my friend has been removing and reinstalling the battery but not the SIM. I removed and reinstalled the SIM too.

    Is there a reason I'd want an AT&T SIM?

    Thanks!
    =aw

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,908
    Feedback Score
    0
    It seems to be vastly preferred for reception in more locations.

    I have not heard of a problem with the sim holder.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,811
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sounds like either a bad SIM or a bad phone. If you travel around with the phone you will have service in more places with AT&T service.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    1,160
    Carrier
    Telus, TMo PP, H2O
    Feedback Score
    0
    It must have been some sort of operator error. We got the phone back from the friend and haven't had any trouble with it ourselves. We did have trouble initially (it activated but without the 300min) so it seemed reasonable this unit might be doomed.

    Thanks everyone for the advice!

    =aw

Similar Threads

  1. Signal problem with Moto E398
    By webstavros in forum Motorola
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2005, 10:01 AM
  2. Signal problems with 850mhz Jam - Might be a service problem?
    By ZeX in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-27-2005, 03:47 AM
  3. Signal problem with V551
    By alongi in forum Motorola FAQ (Now closed, check the wiki instead)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-22-2005, 02:58 PM
  4. Signal Problems With Siemens SX56?
    By xenakes in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-16-2004, 08:58 AM
  5. signal problems with att t20
    By SHIPPERBOY in forum AT&T
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-24-2004, 07:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks