Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Red Pocket and International Dialing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0

    Red Pocket and International Dialing

    Hi,

    Red Pocket advertises direct dialing for international calls and no need to use calling cards, etc, but this simply has not proved to be true. I am completely blocked from dialing any International calls without an access number. I also find it ironic that they claim coverage in Puerto Rico, but they count Puerto Rico as an International Call. So does that mean if I'm in PR I can call home, but I can't actually call anywhere on the Island? Silly.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    7,274
    Carrier
    T-mobile,VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Red Pocket SIM is supposed to intercept the international call and send it off to the access number. I wonder why that's not happening for you.
    "I didn't get fat by accident. This was a personal choice. " - Kevin Gillespie

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mch View Post
    The Red Pocket SIM is supposed to intercept the international call and send it off to the access number. I wonder why that's not happening for you.
    I finally called customer service again after the first moron told me I had to use the access number. They some how fixed it on their end. Ugh.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec (Canada)
    Posts
    6,447
    Phones
    Unlocked Rogers Blackberry Q10 | LG Nexus-4 | Samsung Nexus-S
    Rogers SonyEricsson c510 (unlocked)
    Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB (unlocked)
    Carrier
    Fido | Rogers Prepaid | LycaMobile US | Bell | T-Mobile Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by mch View Post
    The Red Pocket SIM is supposed to intercept the international call and send it off to the access number. I wonder why that's not happening for you.
    Yes. That is what is supposed to happen.

    When you call a number which isn't a US number, if I remember correctly, you should hear a message saying "Connecting your call". This is with Red Pocket Mobile's Pay As You Go plan. At the point of the "Connecting your call", it automatically deducts 1 minute from the balance even if the other line is busy. This only happens for international calls (calls outside the US). If you call a US number and it is busy, you aren't billed the minute if the other line is busy.
    Fido (monthly plan - personal/data): Novatel Wireless MC950D or Nokia CS-18

    Fido (monthly): ZTE WF720 Wireless Home Phone

    Rogers (pay as you go - Canadian prepaid): "Fido" Samsung Nexus-S

    Rogers (monthly BIS data plan): Blackberry Q10 <- CANCELLED over Dispute

    Lycamobile (US prepaid): Sony-Ericsson c510 or Sony-Ericsson w300i

    T-Mobile (US prepaid): unlocked Fido iPhone 3GS 32GB or LG Nexus-4

    Bell (tablet plan): LG Nexus-4


    My Tech Blog

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    28
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oddly enough, they consider Puerto Rico an international call even though none of the other carriers do. The things is, just like with calling cards, I can't complete my call during peak times.

Similar Threads

  1. Unlocked Motorola and Red Pocket package
    By Frontierjustice in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-04-2009, 08:02 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-27-2008, 07:48 PM
  3. International dialing codes and prefixes
    By dialcode in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 06:10 PM
  4. international dialing and calling rates
    By vgill in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2004, 07:04 PM
  5. Questions re international dialing and roaming
    By Alex_de_Large in forum AT&T
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 02-02-2004, 06:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks