Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Straight Talk Porting

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0

    Straight Talk Porting

    Today I am recieving my straight talk sim and Minute card. And I heard the horror stories of porting number. And I was just looking for advice whether just to get a new number and get the service started in about 15 minutes or port number and wait for days? It seems like a clear choice lol but I would love to keep my number but then again I really don't feel like waiting. Did anybody have a successful port?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    327
    Phone
    Nokai Lumia 920
    Carrier
    H2O Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Two weeks ago when I first started with StraightTalk I ported from AT&T directly to a StraightTalk AT&T compatiable sims card. I was struggling with the port question myself and decided to go for it. I ported my number when I activated the service. The port took less than 10 mins and I working in that time with the new Sim card. Just yesterday I recieved my StraightTalk T-Mobile compatiable sim card. I just purchased a Dell Venue Pro unlocked Tmobile phone. I decided to tranfer to the new Sim card and because that is changing from AT&T to Tmobile I was working in two hours. I found it best to do this after 7pm or even after midnight. So for now I am staying put I have everything working. YMMV.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Santa Barbara
    Posts
    24
    Phones
    iPhone 4
    iPhone 4
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Another YMMV suggestion. I have found the Customer Service people are very helpful on their Facebook page. People drop questions, and usually they are answered in a few minutes/hours, and I have read a few threads where people got help on their number porting.

    Remember another thing. As I was told, Howard Forums contains a bunch of very technically oriented people who know their phones/systems/everything. (Not all, but a higher percentage than your typical forum.) So, if there's an issue, you'll see it. What you don't usually read is the huge group that had no problems whatsoever. I'll be the odds favor that it will be quick, as long as your AT&T account is current, and you have all the right PIN's and account numbers. It'll probably be done in a few minutes.
    Only Yankees vs Red Sox evokes as much emotion as iPhone vs. Android. Who cares? The Yankees suck however.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    I left a question but they haven't got back to me.. And the service I am coming from is Boost Mobile. I have all the information ready and such.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,740
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by riomaru View Post
    I left a question but they haven't got back to me.. And the service I am coming from is Boost Mobile. I have all the information ready and such.
    Do not call the regular CSR number. They have limited training on only the basics and are easily confused with complicated questions/requests (and language conversions). They have a cheat sheet in front of them with possible customer questions and their responses. You are truly lucky to have someone with experience take your call.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    23
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    Do not call the regular CSR number. They have limited training on only the basics and are easily confused with complicated questions/requests (and language conversions). They have a cheat sheet in front of them with possible customer questions and their responses.
    I heard about that, that is terrible. I should probably send a message on facebook or something

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ported my ATT gophone number to ST using cs and it took under 7min from start of call to everything working on my HTC inpire 4g no problems what so ever.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    952
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Port your number to Google Voice. Start a new number with Straight Talk, then forward your GV number to your ST phone number.

    The ST AT&T SIM supports conditional call forwarding and makes voicemail integration seamless. You can also set the GV app to be used for all outgoing calls so you don't have to worry about the ST-assigned phone number.
    Nexus 5 rooted with ST AT&T LTE SIM & full Google Voice integration

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    458
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0

    Ported and working in less than 2 hours

    Quote Originally Posted by GTwannabe View Post
    Port your number to Google Voice. Start a new number with Straight Talk, then forward your GV number to your ST phone number.

    The ST AT&T SIM supports conditional call forwarding and makes voicemail integration seamless. You can also set the GV app to be used for all outgoing calls so you don't have to worry about the ST-assigned phone number.
    The Tmobile SIM does not support conditional call forwarding, so Google Voice will not work, if you are considering a Tmobile Compatible phone.

    I would recommend you read about porting your number to Google Voice. I had considered it as well. I actually initiated it and when I noticed hours later it was still not moving. I read about another user that had recently done it, taking 23 hours.

    There are some links to the horror stories with Google Voice. That same user also posted his troubles. At that time mine still had not been ported to Google Voice, so I cancelled. Lucky.

    Most importantly there are issues trying to port your number back out of Google Voice, where text or calls never really get forwarded once the port is "done" with Google Voice.

    I then just initiated the port on the web without speaking to anyone.

    Afterwards I posted on FB wall asking for status and decided to call. I had turned off the phone, so I wasn't aware at the time of my call that the port was already done. After I called and got a reply from FB. I turned my phone on two hours after the request and everything was working. YMMV

    NOTE: I use the Google Voice app, and notice that I do not get some calls or text messages when my data connection is spotty...
    DISCLAIMER: The information contained herein is provided for EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. I am not responsible for any physical or mental damages that may occur due to the information provided. I also do not guarantee that said information would work for every individual, or that it would always be effective in the future. -porn

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    32
    Feedback Score
    0
    i've had the same business line number with my regional carrier since 1998. As of last night I'm on straight talk. I expected a long wait for my number to port since I wasn't authorized to make changes to the plan(a secretary is she has the pin #).

    In any case, it was after hours when I started the porting(6pm) and by 8:30 I had cell service with no hassle what so ever.

    Couldn't be more pleased and in 3 months if i like the service still I'll be rocking a Galaxy 2 or equivalent.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    The West Coast of the U.S.
    Posts
    1,564
    Carrier
    Ting, Republic Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you activate first and then port, you'll need to purchase a new SIM card when you do the port. It is only $15.00, but you'll still have to do it, and then call to see if they can transfer the remaining days of service over.

    I have ported over 3 numbers to ST without any trouble at all. One port was from Simple Mobile, one port was from Virgin Mobile, and one port was from Red Pocket (AT&T MVNO). All of the ports went to Straight Talk AT&T. All the ports were initiated on their web-site, without involving anyone. The ports were to an E71, and one of the E71s had the "the SIM # in our system is bad" problem, and they wanted to send me a new SIM. It turns out that you can tell them to send you a new SIM and then immediately call them back and give them the one that came in the box and it'll work.

    I also ported one of my numbers internally, i.e. from a ST AT&T phone to a ST CDMA Verizon phone without any trouble, and then back again. The first port took about 6 hours, because I initiated it as 12 midnight and woke up at 7:00 a.m. to find it working. It might have gotten done in the middle of the night for all I know. When I ported back, it took about 15 minutes.

    My advice is to do the port on their web-site. If you have trouble, use the Facebook Support option, or call the Executive Resolutions Department at 800-876-5753.
    Questions?? Read the FAQs: The Prepaid FAQ . The Straight Talk FAQ
    Disagree with someone? Be Nice!
    Report posts that violate the rules by clicking the dark triangle at the bottom, left of the post.


    I no longer see messages from these users (and won't respond to them):
    pfoneguy, rcentros.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    37
    Carrier
    at&t GoPhone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    I ported from Virgin Mobile to an AT&T SIM using the website and it was done in less than an hour without even contacting customer service. It was as simple as it could get.
    ~Azrael's Kiss~

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    Messed up porting fields

    I believe I have messed up my porting process by entering my pin number for my account number with sprint. how can I go back and fix it or do I need to call straight talk

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    476
    Feedback Score
    0
    Ported from red pocket to att sim. Took about two hours to port. Even did it at 8ish pm.

    Sent from my CM9 CAPPY using HowardForums

Similar Threads

  1. having a huge problem porting from VM to straight talk..
    By mike93hatch in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 01:20 AM
  2. Porting number to Straight Talk
    By 26.2 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 34
    Last Post: 12-11-2009, 02:54 PM
  3. having a huge problem porting from VM to straight talk..
    By mike93hatch in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 08:14 PM
  4. Has anyone ported out of Straight Talk? Tips?
    By Joe12304 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2009, 09:48 PM
  5. Straight Talk - Ported Numbers and Web Browsing?
    By excelblue in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 09-02-2009, 09:02 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks