Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: LG220c: Can an inactive Straight Talk phone be re-activated as a Tracfone?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    11
    Feedback Score
    0

    LG220c: Can an inactive Straight Talk phone be re-activated as a Tracfone?

    1) Can an inactive LG220c phone that was originally sold as a Straight Talk phone, be re-activated as a Tracfone (simply by getting a Tracfone airtime card and following the usual activation process)?

    More generally...

    2) Can a prepaid CDMA phone that was originally sold as a Net10, Tracfone, or Straight Talk phone, be re-activated as a different one of these same three brands?

    If the answer is "only in certain cases", please describe the cases.

    3) Can a prepaid GSM phone that was originally sold as a Net10, Tracfone, or Straight Talk phone, be re-activated as a different one of these same three brands?

    If the answer is "only in certain cases", please describe the cases.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    564
    Carrier
    TF GSM & ST CDMA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FlipR View Post
    If the answer is "only in certain cases", please describe the cases.
    Nope, not in any case. If it were possible everyone could save about $10 buying the Tracfone phone and taking it to Net10 or Straight Talk.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    BP subsidized Gulf Coast
    Posts
    4,850
    Carriers
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    One expensive possibility; Any of the three Straight Talk Nokias could be operated with a Net10 BTOD AT&T SIM, using only the $50 every 30 day Net10 Airtime.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    564
    Carrier
    TF GSM & ST CDMA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Tracfancier View Post
    One expensive possibility; Any of the three Straight Talk Nokias could be operated with a Net10 BTOD AT&T SIM, using only the $50 every 30 day Net10 Airtime.
    Whoops, I didn't even consider those ST Nokias. I bow to the master.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    I activated a Tracfone LG500 to Safelink without any problems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    564
    Carrier
    TF GSM & ST CDMA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Tracfone and Safelink are the same, it's who pays the bill that differentiates those two. Safelink uses Tracfone phones, usually the cheaper models.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback Score
    0
    BobbyLee, your statement needs a little custom tailoring.

    Quote Originally Posted by BobbyLee View Post
    Tracfone and Safelink are the same, it's who pays the bill that differentiates those two.
    Safelink is a federal program that Tracfone administers using Tracfone phones except in Texas where Safelink runs on Net10 phones. It is not the same as Tracfone. It has its own cost per minute structure, its own text messaging rate (1.0 unit per text) and its own set of promo codes. These codes are specific to Safelink. They don't work on identical Tracfone phones that are operating on the Tracfone system.

    Safelink uses Tracfone phones, usually the cheaper models.
    Safelink ISSUES low end phones for free but once you have it, you can upgrade at your own expense to any Tracfone (Net10 in Texas) including the LG 800 ($50), Sam T404 ($60) or Moto EX124 ($80). That's more than you would pay for a Nokia from Straight Talk.

    Virgin Mobile offers this same federal program under the name Assurance Wireless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback Score
    0
    And Safelink has a Refer - A - Friend program which Tracfone hasn't offered in several years. (HoFo edit function isn't working.)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,217
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by texbiker View Post
    I activated a Tracfone LG500 to Safelink without any problems.
    texbiker, are you in Texas?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    564
    Carrier
    TF GSM & ST CDMA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Annepani,
    Sorry you took what I said so literally. I guess I should have just replied a Tracfone phone can be activated on a SafeLink account. I am very familiar with all the differences you pointed out, our organization signs up a lot of our clients for the SafeLink program when they don't have a phone. I didn’t know that in Texas SafeLink runs on Net10 phones, I’ll give you that.
    Last edited by BobbyLee; 03-09-2012 at 03:34 AM.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    86
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, I am in Texas. My niece uses the Safelink phone.

Similar Threads

  1. What is the best phone you can use with Straight Talk?
    By Lord Summerisle in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 05-06-2013, 10:20 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-07-2012, 09:43 AM
  3. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 02:02 PM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 06:29 AM
  5. Apparently, Straight Talk phones can be used on Page Plus
    By knowbody09 in forum Page Plus Cellular
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-09-2009, 06:21 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks