Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Buy Phone, Verify ESN, Activate Phone, Bricked.

Phones
    Moto Q 9m
    v551
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score

Angry Buy Phone, Verify ESN, Activate Phone, Bricked.

I have had no love with Verizon Customer Support and Managers and wanted to get the forums take on my issue.

I bought a phone, 3rd party, verified the ESN and activated successfully.
    Since then I have been using it for 2 years. I recently upgraded and was planning to give this phone to my wife.

When I tried to activate it on her account, I was informed to call customer server from which they told me it was reported stolen, but there was no notes on my account. With further research they found out that the previous owner reported it lost/stolen, 10 days after I activated it. They initially charged him for not returning a phone, but later refunded him as their 'investigations' determined that it was 'lost' en route and they could not locate the phone. Apparently this was a device that was supposed to be sent back because he got a replacement device.

Verizon told me there is nothing they can do because it was already flagged.

Verizon has access to every device and ESN.
    I verified and activated 10 days before he reported it stolen.
    Verizon never notified me at any point, until I tried to reactivate the phone.
    And because it is 2 years later, I have no longer have me emails and txts from the guy who sold it to me. There is no way for me to go after him or even verify that the seller was the original owner with Verizon.

And to top it off, the Verizon Manager said that there is a LOOP-HOLE in their SOP's. Anyone can sell a good device. Wait a few days and report it stolen.

I have been with Verizon since 2007 and they would not do anything for me at all. So now I will be leaving to another carrier.

Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S3
    Last 5: HTC Thunderbolt
    Motorola Droid, BB Tour, BB Storm, BB Pearl
    Carrier
    Verizon Wireless