Page 79 of 95 FirstFirst ... 29 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 ... LastLast
Results 1,171 to 1,185 of 1418

Thread: Samsung S390G

  1. #1171
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    2,044
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Negolien View Post
    Still looking for download suggestions if anyone wants to chime in.
    Not sure what else could be downloadable on a phone.

    Check sites like getjar.com and mobilerated.com (there are many others).
    All sorts of games of course. Social media apps(like facebook), productivity apps(like spreadsheets), and more (the Bible and other books).

  2. #1172
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    20
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    slingpoopy,
    The dates posted above for the F4 build are Jun of 2012, so it's the later version (B6 being from Feb 2012)

    I can delete wi-fi fine with the B6 rev, while C/dog can't.

    joshofstl has F4, and looks to not have problems either.
    Yeah, it looks like there's no clear difference in the B6 vs. F4 versions. I'm curious what they needed to update, since TF usually doesn't make changes unless they're essential.

    My other theory with the problem is that Wifi configurations may become frozen if the phone is restored without deleting configurations manually first. For example: On my unactivated S390g, I created only 2 wifi configs. I then restored the phone, deleting all data. Then I went back in to connect to my home router, the config was gone (of course) and asked me to enter the password, etc. However, I noticed the router name was now automatically called "Home router (2)" I changed it to "Home router" and it said "Name already in use".

    Since I had done a full restore, the fact that the name is still in use (but configuration details gone) may be the problem. I suspect if I did this 11 times, eventually the phone would reach "Home router (12)" and prompt me to delete the other 11, but since the configs are actually missing (erased during the restore) -- the system can't find them and is not capable of deleting the checkboxes.

  3. #1173
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    central Florida
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by C/dog View Post
    Yeah, it looks like there's no clear difference in the B6 vs. F4 versions. I'm curious what they needed to update, since TF usually doesn't make changes unless they're essential.

    My other theory with the problem is that Wifi configurations may become frozen if the phone is restored without deleting configurations manually first. For example: On my unactivated S390g, I created only 2 wifi configs. I then restored the phone, deleting all data. Then I went back in to connect to my home router, the config was gone (of course) and asked me to enter the password, etc. However, I noticed the router name was now automatically called "Home router (2)" I changed it to "Home router" and it said "Name already in use".

    Since I had done a full restore, the fact that the name is still in use (but configuration details gone) may be the problem. I suspect if I did this 11 times, eventually the phone would reach "Home router (12)" and prompt me to delete the other 11, but since the configs are actually missing (erased during the restore) -- the system can't find them and is not capable of deleting the checkboxes.
    This makes sense and as I recall my first phone(the F4),acted the same and did become frozen with several repeat entries with the name of my home network. I also did the complete restore to try to clear up the entries "before" going back and deleting each one.These"repeats" plus the other hotspot trials are what apparently loaded up my quota before I realized that there was a limit or quota.So,your theory sounds about right.
    All these problems could have been easily avoided if Samsung was aware and had provided end users with a precautionary alert about the problem.But,after all...it does sell more phones....
    Last edited by slingpoopy; 03-27-2013 at 07:46 PM.

  4. #1174
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    102
    Feedback Score
    0
    Howdy - so I bought two refurbed 390s via Tracfone and after a nightmarish week trying to get numbers and minutes ported over (neither phone came with the SIM card that TF had registered to the phone, necessitating dozens of calls, case numbers, supervisors, FedExing, etc) -- I have two main questions. I've tried searching but can't seem to get the answers. And I have a printout of the 150-page manual, which, while helpful, doesn't address these two things:

    1) How do I get the phone to default to storing stuff on the memory card? I've downloaded Opera Mini and a game and recorded some audio, and they go to the phone storage, even though I've set "memory card" on every storage setting I can find.

    2) How do I connect to WiFi networks that require a password?

    Thanks for any guidance -- I do like the phone a lot, but these two things are frustrating.

  5. #1175
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    34
    Carriers
    Boost Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm interested in any recommendations for useful/fun apps that anyone has installed on their S390G. (If there's already a thread on this, please redirect me.) Probably mentioned somewhere in this thread but I did not scan all 79 pages! Getjar.com did not seem to have this model of Samsung listed, and I'm downloading a few from mobilerated.com but haven't really tried anything yet.

  6. #1176
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Scotty yours is easiest so I'll start there lol. I have downloaded Mini-opera, google maps and Yahoo games chess. I did go to getjar and saw some apps there but I didn't try and dl em should work though because someone here recommended them and I had no problem navigating around there.

    Ok now the hard one lol. I got a 32g Micro sd card. Installed it and formated it. Then I put the USB to mini-usb B wire whatever it's called into the phone and into the computer. I downloaded all my music onto the phone from music library. I then went into the "my folder" area of the phone. I saw all the music in there under "on phone" I think it was. I went to one song and hit options then hit move and multiple click it which will select all your music. Then when it says where you highlight memory card. You will see highlighted on top "on card" then scroll down to either audio or a folder you already made called something else. Click options again and select "move to selected folder"..

    It took some trial and error for me to get the hang of it so be patiant and just screw with it a little. You should be able to get the hang of it. Sorry forgot about the wifi question.

    I have my own wifi which you will probably need. You can use wifi that is someone elses if it's not pass worded. If it is your screwed unless you know the pw. If you do know the password click the wifi link then the wifi name then options then edit scroll down and you'll see pw area. if you're gonna spend a couple of bucks on a wifi router just follow the instructions. My $23 d-link was supper easy.

  7. #1177
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    102
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks very much for the reply, Negolien --

    Two additional things: under games/apps, there is no "move" option. There is start, delete, rename, lock and properties.

    I do see "move" under music and photos and video. But I am not sure how I would move apps (like Opera) to the card. I guess maybe I should just download them to the card while it's in my computer slot, and that would solve the problem?

    Also, I access a work network that requires in addition to a password my computer username. I don't see any way to input that - probably out of luck there, yes? Not a big deal if that's true.

  8. #1178
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    I too have my wifi pass worded If you do a refresh in your wifi options while at work you should see your work wifi name. Go to options then edit and put in the password...

    As for the apps now that my friend is a good question lol. I too have my apps in the "on phone" area and can't move em. Maybe ST dog can shine some light on this issue. Not too sure about down loading em onto a card but I think some people said they have done that.

  9. #1179
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    2,044
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kren Ster View Post
    But I am not sure how I would move apps (like Opera) to the card. I guess maybe I should just download them to the card while it's in my computer slot, and that would solve the problem?
    As far as anyone have figured so far, you can't use the card for apps. They all go to the phone's internal memory. Luckily it's fairly large and can hold a lot of apps. Just use the card for music, pics, videos, etc.

    Also, I access a work network that requires in addition to a password my computer username. I don't see any way to input that - probably out of luck there, yes? Not a big deal if that's true.
    Is it a WPA "enterprise" setup or is it a login page after connecting to the network?

  10. #1180
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the post ST appreciate the help

  11. #1181
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    102
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    As far as anyone have figured so far, you can't use the card for apps. They all go to the phone's internal memory. Luckily it's fairly large and can hold a lot of apps. Just use the card for music, pics, videos, etc.

    Is it a WPA "enterprise" setup or is it a login page after connecting to the network?
    Thank you, ST Dog.
    The network is highly locked down. When I click edit I get WPA2 for the auth type, AES for the encryption type, and it Tracfone gives me a space for the password, but that does me no good because to get onto this network I have to type a username too.

  12. #1182
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    2,044
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Kren Ster View Post
    The network is highly locked down. When I click edit I get WPA2 for the auth type, AES for the encryption type, and it Tracfone gives me a space for the password, but that does me no good because to get onto this network I have to type a username too.
    Best I can suggest is to talk to the IT guys at work. They should know the proper setings, and be able to look at the phone's options and find the correct ones.
    My guess is that they are using WPA-Enterprise, and the phone may not support it (I've never dealt with it)

    One quick quetion for you. Can people generally connect to it? Phones, tables, laptops
    Perhaps some other software needed on them?

  13. #1183
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    102
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah, I routinely use my iPad at work -- in fact the intranet has specific instructions for connecting with all kinds of devices. It's not a Tracfone kind of place, though, so the instructions are for iPhones and Blackberries. LOL.

    Thanks for your help; will discuss with IT.

  14. #1184
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    DownEast
    Posts
    36
    Carrier
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Games and stuff: I use Opera 7.1, and no, I can't store it on my card, but have it along with several apps in the phone memory. The majority of apps get deleted after a few days because I don't use them, so my initial concern about memory space is not a problem for me. I currently have Opera and 5 games loaded with room for more. Hey, it's a very inexpensive phone, not a pricey Thing-Pad. I can't complain.

    Opera has at least one, sometimes two, game sites at the top of the main screen. There are a LOT of free apps and some pay apps. I have not run into any games from Opera that surprise me with pathetic Asian porn. Opera identifies my phone as Generic Java, no compatibility hangups. Very few games use the track pad, so I've been nerve damaging my old rusty thumbs with the keypad buttons. Tracfone games are purchased with minutes, a few dollars, worth it when I choose well. Minute equivalent of $4.99, around 50, I think.They are currently selling their games 2 for the price of one. My best game ever since last fall is UNO. There is also UNO SPIN. The first is the straight UNO, the one that we with grandchildren remember. SPIN is the same game with a whole lot of extra action, it's good but I prefer the original. Both have many skill levels. GAMELOFT makes the best games I've found. The best games drain the battery fast, I keep the sound off. Also tried MIDNIGHT POOL. Amazing detail and precision but my eyes tire from squinting at the tiny screen. Platinum Solitaire 2 is my favorite of the SOL group, uses thumb buttons, draws one from the pile at a time instead of 3 as most Sol games do. Not great. It was free. I will not admit to anyone except you guys that I play it a lot. If you delete a game from Tracfone and decide to download it in the future, it remembers you already paid for it and simply redownloads it. I have a few word games, scrabble/anagrams knockoffs. I get bored with them quickly. I've downloaded some really stupid apps, probably from m.GETJAR. Strobe lights that flash the phone screen randomly. No music sync. Might have been fun at that ZEP concert 40 years ago. Magic XRAY apps that when you hold your camera phone in front of a pretty lady you can see beneath her clothes. The XRAY devices from comic book pages for 25 cents in 1955 worked better. Dog barking apps have not gotten any response from my Great Dane. As I've mentioned here before, I am still searching for a fart app that sounds authentic. No luck on that. Burp apps are just as pathetic. I'll be exploring Opera's game site more, I'll let you all know when I find another goodie. There are many killing and shooting games but Olde Hippies are a peaceful lot and not into war.

    Good luck and keep us posted with your finds. Everyone has different wants from a game, mine tend toward games I have played in real life. The Help files and instructions for all java games, good ones and bad, really stink. Now there's an idea - a Fart app with smell-o-vision!

  15. #1185
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    48
    Feedback Score
    0
    I use WPA on my S390G no issues. I put the name in the set name box and then I put the password in the PW spot. You shouldn't have to change anything else. Just hit edit and refresh right before you want to log in and you sould see the name of the wifi network in there then edit that.

Page 79 of 95 FirstFirst ... 29 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My PERSONAL opinion on the Samsung 8580
    By howardchui in forum Samsung
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 08-25-2001, 12:00 PM
  2. Ringtones for samsung 3500
    By nitro82 in forum Samsung
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-17-2001, 11:07 PM
  3. Samsung
    By WirelessToronto in forum Samsung
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-13-2001, 03:06 PM
  4. Samsung 3500
    By DaBigBR in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-09-2001, 11:10 AM
  5. Samsung Volume
    By WirelessToronto in forum Samsung
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-06-2001, 09:39 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks