If your buying a smartphone with only fido $ then you are required to take a 3 year data plan. If you already have a data plan then it's the full price + tax - fido $. The left over balance will show up on your bill. As far as I know you can't cancel your account in the same cycle as the upgrade. So you may need to wait before cancelling.