Thread: Need easy to use smartphone for the wife.

Feedback Score

Need easy to use smartphone for the wife.

The wife is not tech savvy. She expects computers and the such to know what she wants without her having to learn how to do it. And after I show her 15 gazillion times how to do it, she still forgets every time.

So... Am I stuck with an iPhone? I don't particularly care for most of the overpriced "i" products but I have no experience with the iPhone or any other smartphone.

More info:
    I will probably have to go with Verizon because I have T-mobile with non-smartphones now and the reception is poor to non-existent in the area where I live but Verizon phones get a strong signal.

I want to avoid paying text message fees (use internet based texting) and I've read that it is super easy with an Android phone but more complicated for an iPhone. I do NOT want complicated! But I have not researched this much.

Phone use will be mostly voice calling and texting. I think she wants a smartphone just because other people have them. She will probably also use it to check email and for basic web surfing on weekends and on vacation. The only thing I will use a smartphone for is Pandora music streaming and maybe reading books.

Wife is CHEAP when it comes to stuff like this. She has always gotten free or very low cost phones before. I'm fairly sure I can convince her to spend $99 on a smartphone (with contract). $199 for a phone would be a tough sell, but may be do-able if there is a clear reason.

Thanks for any help!

Phones
    Nexus S, Samsung Blackjack i607
    LG L3
    Nokia 2855i
    Carrier
    PC Mobile
    Feedback Score