Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Website to buy cheap phones but could be fake or bootleg?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0

    Website to buy cheap phones but could be fake or bootleg?

    I just came across this website on craigslist.ca that sell phones for cheap prices.The prices of the phones are ridiculously cheap. But I want to know if anyone has had experience with this website or anyone can shed some light on this website. The website is newlysell.com.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,038
    Phones
    GSM (v550, N8)
    CDMA Motorola Milestone X
    WCDMA (V980, N8, TM506)
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    TelnaMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the price is way below what the major online vendors sell for, it could well be counterfeit. I'd only buy from a vendor who has too much to loose if they are caught selling counterfeits.
    Donald Newcomb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    10
    Feedback Score
    0
    Aw jeeeezzz. I decided to try and buy a phone on the website cos I saw that they accept paypal payments. And I know that Paypal has buyer protection. So I had made an order and when the order was placed, there was no indication on where and when to make a payment. The website just provided me with an order number. So I opened up a chat with someone on that website and I asked when and where to make payment. He/she replied Western Union, and immediately I got disappointed cos sending money through Western Union can sometimes come up as a scam and I will never receive my item. I had asked the person I was speaking with I will not pay by Western Union, and I asked him when I can use paypal to make a payment. And the agent said he is updating the paypal account and it won't be available until 2 months later....

    This site is a waste. NEWLYSELL.COM

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Gulf Coast
    Posts
    7,038
    Phones
    GSM (v550, N8)
    CDMA Motorola Milestone X
    WCDMA (V980, N8, TM506)
    Carriers
    T-Mobile
    TelnaMobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yeah. Sounds like a scam to me. I've been burned on a few small online purchases and it's made me pretty shy, particularly of large purchases. Just think, if some little fly-by-night outfit can sell for 1/2 what Amazon or TigerDirect or any of the big boys could sell it for, why wouldn't the big boys just lower their price? I can see someone selling for 10%-15% less but if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    167
    Feedback Score
    0
    Western Union is definitely a red flag. I see this all the time on craigslist for those apartment scams...they even warn you on craigslist to watch out for these types of deals!

    http://www.craigslist.org/about/scams

    NEVER WIRE FUNDS VIA WESTERN UNION, MONEYGRAM or any other wire service - anyone who asks you to do so is likely a scammer.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    6
    Feedback Score
    0
    Many websites that sell phones are fake.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 09-14-2009, 03:44 PM
  2. Buy cheap phone and unlock?
    By iix12 in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 10:44 PM
  3. Trusty Websites to buy Mobile phones from?
    By someone22 in forum Symbian/S60
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 12-13-2004, 08:55 AM
  4. Anybody in montreal wanna buy cheap phones??
    By iTAP in forum GSM phone Buy/Sell/Trade Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-02-2003, 10:34 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks