Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: AT&T iPhone to Virgin Mobile?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    34
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0

    AT&T iPhone to Virgin Mobile?

    Is it possible? Will Virgin Mobile unlock or will AT&T allow the unlocking of their iPhone to Virgin Mobile?

    I have a 4s. Would LOVE to cut my bill in half. I'm paying $111/month right now. I'd even be happy w/ a $60/month bill. ATT has good service and Virgin Mobile is good too, so I wouldn't mind switching.
    My body is a cage,
    My mind holds the key.
    Except I lost the key.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    321
    Feedback Score
    0
    The reps on their facebook page say that you must purchase a VM iphone. bummer :-(

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    130
    Feedback Score
    0
    AT&T uses GSM, while Virgin Mobile/Sprint uses CDMA. It is physically impossible.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,629
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FallenAnjel View Post
    Is it possible? Will Virgin Mobile unlock or will AT&T allow the unlocking of their iPhone to Virgin Mobile?

    I have a 4s. Would LOVE to cut my bill in half. I'm paying $111/month right now. I'd even be happy w/ a $60/month bill. ATT has good service and Virgin Mobile is good too, so I wouldn't mind switching.
    Are you in a contract?

    If so and if you have a good VM coverage, you could start over and get a VM iPhone and break even in about 17 months. If you don't have an etf, it might be 12 months. Either scenario doesn't include whatever you'd get from selling your iPhone.

    BYOD with US CDMA carriers is just not an easy process (if at all possible).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    1,629
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Etegral View Post
    AT&T uses GSM, while Virgin Mobile/Sprint uses CDMA. It is physically impossible.
    I think the VZ and Sprint iPhones have GSM. I'm not sure if the AT&T one supports CDMA. Regardless, VM wouldn't activate it willingly.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,746
    Carriers
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by exuberance View Post
    The reps on their facebook page say that you must purchase a VM iphone. bummer :-(
    And that's consistent with the history of this provider. VMUSA has never let customers bring their own devices.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,413
    Phones
    iPhone 5 16GB
    iPhone 5 32GB (wife)
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by FallenAnjel View Post
    Is it possible? Will Virgin Mobile unlock or will AT&T allow the unlocking of their iPhone to Virgin Mobile?

    I have a 4s. Would LOVE to cut my bill in half. I'm paying $111/month right now. I'd even be happy w/ a $60/month bill. ATT has good service and Virgin Mobile is good too, so I wouldn't mind switching.
    Your best bet would be to switch to Straight Talk, which is an AT&T MVNO. You can use your current iPhone, and don't even need to unlock it. $45/month for unlimited talk, text and data*. You can buy a micro SIM for $15 on their web site: http://www.straighttalksim.com/

    *provided your idea of unlimited data is < 100 MB/day, and < 2 GB/month. You'll lose all data if you go over that - at least according to their customers' postings on HoFo.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,574
    Phone
    EVO 4G LTE
    Carrier
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by quagmire View Post
    Your best bet would be to switch to Straight Talk, which is an AT&T MVNO. You can use your current iPhone, and don't even need to unlock it. $45/month for unlimited talk, text and data*. You can buy a micro SIM for $15 on their web site: http://www.straighttalksim.com/

    *provided your idea of unlimited data is < 100 MB/day, and < 2 GB/month. You'll lose all data if you go over that - at least according to their customers' postings on HoFo.
    That's definitely one of the best deals for service on an iPhone, the big downfall is no data streaming allowed. Many people like to use Pandora, Slacker, or tuneinradio and the like but if not it's a great option.
    Sensorly --- Signal Check Pro --- Root Metrics

    $100 - 4 Lines (Framily)
    $15 - 2GB Tablet Plan
    $15 - 2GB Tablet Plan

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    3,664
    Phones
    Motorola Triumph, LG Optimus V
    Motorola Triumph
    LG Optimus V
    Carrier
    Virgin Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by JDubTrey View Post
    I think the VZ and Sprint iPhones have GSM. I'm not sure if the AT&T one supports CDMA. Regardless, VM wouldn't activate it willingly.
    It's possible they have world phone chips, but it's not a feature Apple touts ("look at our shiny screen"). So no, VZ iPhones use CDMA, Sprint iPhones use CDMA, and I'm sure that with Apple's stranglehold leaving bruisemarks on the necks of their most devoted users, it will be awfully difficult to put an (up-to-date) CDMA iPhone onto Virgin Mobile's network.

    Aww.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1,979
    Carrier
    AIO, Cricket or whatever AT&T is calling it this week
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 503ducati View Post
    the big downfall is no data streaming allowed.
    Streaming? On Straight Talk it's not allowed, and on Sprint's EVDO it rarely works due to slow speeds. Plus, Virgin caps you back to the stone age if you exceed 2.5GB in a month anyway.

    If someone likes to stream media, T-Mobile's 5gb plan or Clear WiMax (if you have coverage) are where it's at. Unfortunately, the iPhone currently supports neither option directly. There are WiFi hotspots (or hacking a cheap Android phone to be a hotspot) that can run on those networks, but you lose most of the savings advantage and end up having to carry an additional device.

    The next iPhone is rumored to have LTE. The OP could always just wait and sign up for actual Sprint postpaid and get unlimited LTE once their network is all built out. It's something to consider, anyway.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    usa
    Posts
    688
    Phone
    lg optimus,motorola i425,samsung r211
    Carrier
    boost mobile,cricket paygo,virgin mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (lg optimus v,huawei m835: Opera/9.80 (Android; Opera Mini/7.0.29952/27.1993; U; en) Presto/2.8.119 Version/11.10)

    who cares.this thread was a simple question and a simple answer. no

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    2
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by primetechv2 View Post
    It's possible they have world phone chips, but it's not a feature Apple touts ("look at our shiny screen"). So no, VZ iPhones use CDMA, Sprint iPhones use CDMA, and I'm sure that with Apple's stranglehold leaving bruisemarks on the necks of their most devoted users, it will be awfully difficult to put an (up-to-date) CDMA iPhone onto Virgin Mobile's network.

    Aww.
    There is no difference in iPhone 4S models around the globe with the exception of the ones China Mobile uses.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0

    Maybe it will work

    I believe VM now supports some GSM units. Sprint too, now has some GSM capabilities. I'm not sure about the details or whether it all works with AT&T or T-Mobile.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    75
    Feedback Score
    0
    Confusion and misinfo continue to persist in spite of the facts and available info. Here's an article from 1.5 years ago:

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-574...r-u.s-carrier/

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    51
    Carriers
    AT&T
    Turkcell
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tli View Post
    Confusion and misinfo continue to persist in spite of the facts and available info. Here's an article from 1.5 years ago:

    http://news.cnet.com/8301-1035_3-574...r-u.s-carrier/
    How about a factory unlocked phone? Does Sony Xperia Z1 compact have CDMA capability? Can I use it with VM?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. iPhone on Virgin Mobile???
    By punisherbv in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-17-2012, 08:53 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-01-2010, 02:41 PM
  3. Virgin Mobile to launch iPhone in February
    By clewis4u91 in forum Virgin Mobile Canada
    Replies: 61
    Last Post: 11-22-2009, 12:11 AM
  4. New Virgin Mobile plan could influence others ahead of iPhone in Canada
    By TelecomZombie in forum Virgin Mobile Canada
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-20-2007, 06:48 AM

Bookmarks