Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Non Rogers LTE Phone will it work on Rogers LTE network?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    8,341
    Feedback Score
    0

    Non Rogers LTE Phone will it work on Rogers LTE network?

    Guys,

    say I get a non Rogers LTE phone and want to use Roger's LTE coverage will they allow me too (Rogers) is it just simply adding the LTE APN's or do they need to have my non Rogers IMEI # be put in their system?


    Also,

    What about Bell and using say a Rogers LTE (unlocked) phone on Bell's LTE network?


    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    2,264
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S II LTE, Samsung Galaxy S4
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should work fine as long as

    A) The phone in question works on the same LTE frequencies as Rogers.
    B) It is unlocked.

    A Bell/Telus LTE phone will work great, because Bell/Telus use the same frequencies as Rogers. If it's a model from elsewhere, make sure it supports AWS LTE (and although not necessary at this time, 700 MHz LTE). A Verizon phone probably won't work, but some of theirs MAY.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Canada/Montreal
    Posts
    1,086
    Phone
    Iphone 5 iphone 4s Galaxy Nexus
    Carrier
    ROGERS
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have a bell galaxy note on the Rogers network and lte works fine!

    Sent from my SGH-I717M using Tapatalk 2

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    13,256
    Phones
    A3LSMG900T, L6ARCV70UW, QMNRM-381, A3LGTI9100, PYARM-601, PYARM-529, PPIRM-598, QMNRM-11
    PYARM-244, QTLRH-106, PPIRM-510, QTKRM-364, QURRM-485, QMNRH-66, QMNRH-55, QMNRH-71, QMNRH-34,
    BCG-E2817A, BCG-E2816A, IHDT56PG3, PKRNVWMC679, N7NAC763S, QISE181, QFXRM-675X...
    Carrier
    TELUS, Bell, SpeakOut, CSL, China Mobile, au by KDDI, Travel SIM UK
    Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    OCZ,

    1. Like others have said, no problem as long as your compatible unlocked device supports LTE Band 4 (AWS) (also LTE Band 7 (2600) like some modems). Make sure your Rogers' line is tied a current plan with LTE access. Steve Punter can fill this in with his story...

    2. Some things applied. I have no problem using Bell and TELUS LTE service with the compatible unlocked devices from Rogers.
    --

    HC - NO "i"
    I am NOT "the" HC, we are TWO different individuals!


    "If we amplify everything, we hear nothing!" - Jon Stewart, Comedian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    8
    Feedback Score
    0
    So to clarify an unlocked Telus LTE phone's will have no problems running LTE on Rogers/FIDO LTE bands?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    2,470
    Phones
    Nokia E71
    Factory unlocked Iphone4
    Nokia E71
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I'm certainly not a techie, and this may be a stupid question....but if I have an LTE data plan, it is also reverse compatible to use it on non LTE device to access 3G data.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,778
    Carrier
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Of course it's backwards compatible.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Markham
    Posts
    2,470
    Phones
    Nokia E71
    Factory unlocked Iphone4
    Nokia E71
    Carriers
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Eluder View Post
    Of course it's backwards compatible.
    Haha.... thanks.
    Sorry to have stressed u out.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    525
    Phones
    OnePlus One 64GB
    LG Nexus 5
    Iphone 6 on reserve
    Carriers
    Fido
    Feedback Score
    0
    yes it will work just fine. Instead of LTE speeds you will get HSPA+
    $50 Unlimited local calling + Unlimited LD US/Canada + Unlimited TXT US/Canada
    $30 6Gb Smartphone Data Plan
    $12 Value pack
    $10 Credit

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    3,778
    Carrier
    Rogers Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by theplayground View Post
    Haha.... thanks.
    Sorry to have stressed u out.
    No stress at all.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Mississauga, Ontario
    Posts
    2,264
    Phones
    Samsung Galaxy S II LTE, Samsung Galaxy S4
    Samsung Galaxy S4
    Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by BiPolarBear View Post
    So to clarify an unlocked Telus LTE phone's will have no problems running LTE on Rogers/FIDO LTE bands?
    That is correct. Telus and Bell LTE devices support the same bands as used by Rogers. However you MAY have to manual enter the Rogers ltemobile APN into the phone, as a Telus or Bell device will most likely not come with this entered natively. You can easily find the necessary parameters for this APN by typing following search terms into Google:

    rogers lte apn

    I've used this information a number of times for manually setting up the necessary APN on non-Rogers devices.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-02-2005, 10:45 PM
  2. thinking of buying this phone...will it work on rogers?
    By smokster in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 08-31-2005, 12:30 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-13-2005, 12:37 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-13-2003, 02:38 PM
  5. GAIT phones will not work in new york
    By dd61999 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-23-2002, 03:05 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks