Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: HTC Vivid APN Change Problems (Please help!)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    237
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0

    HTC Vivid APN Change Problems (Please help!)

    Alright Hofo, Have a doozey here. Just aquired an HTC Vivid running Android version 4.0.3. Ive downloaded every apn changing app in the play store and ICS has blocked the ability to change apn settings on the phone. I of course need to change the apn settings to access the Internet for Straight Talk. Does anyone have any information on a work around or an App that has system access so the apn settings can be changed? all help would be greatly appreciated! this is an awesome phone and I'd love to be able to use it with full functions on Straight talk..

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    204
    Carriers
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Straight Talk Data and MMS Settings for HTC Inspire or Vivid
    (This phone is a bit different that other Android phones...you have to trick it)

    Use attached instructions, you should be fine.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PLEASE, don't PM me with questions that could and should be answered in the open forum. Then everyone can benefit from the answer, and you will get more than "one" opinion... Thanks.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    81
    Feedback Score
    0
    I have the same phone and I got mine set up fairly easily, I am also running 4.0.3, unfortunately you cannot delete the default APN in there, but you can add one and just select it afterwards.

    Go to System Settings
    Then go to Mobile Network
    Go to Access Point Names
    Press the menu Key and select New APN

    Name: straight talk
    APN: att.mvno
    Proxy: not set
    port: 80
    username: not set
    password: not set
    server: not set
    MMSC: http://mmsc.cingular.com
    MMS Proxy: 66.209.11.33
    MMS port: 80
    MMS Protocol: WAP 2.0
    MCC: 310
    MNC: 410
    Authentication type: Not Set
    APN Type: default,admin,fota,mms,suplex,hipri
    Bearer: Unspecified

    DO NOT FORGET TO PRESS THE MENU KEY AND SELECT "SAVE"

    Then you can go back to the list of APNs and select the new one you created. I would recommend pulling the battery out and hold the power key for 30 seconds, then put the battery back and boot it up.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    237
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    You guys are absolutely awesome. Thanks so much for your help. As you can see by the signature, I'm up and going. +1 to the both of ya and God Bless!!

    Sent from my HTC PH39100 using HowardForums

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried using both sets of instructions above and did not find success.
    I tried both approaches separately, clearing out the APNs between each attempt. I also then tried them both at the same time, still unsuccessfully.

    I'm using an HTC Vivid that's updated to ICS 4.0.3, and it comes pre-loaded with an APN called AT&T PTA that is locked & cannot be edited or deleted.

    I'm at my wits end trying to figure out what to do, I've searched on HoFo and the web and tried not only the standard ST APN settings but also the ones that are unique to the HTC Vivid. I've factory reset the phone and tried the settings with no luck. I contacted ST and they sent me to HTC, and HTC hasn't responded.

    Any help is appreciated!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,263
    Phone
    Atrix/Skyrocket/R455C/Samsung Jack
    Carrier
    GoPhone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    start over

    how many apns are showing right now?

    make sure there are only two the original locked apn and the one you create using the instructions. be sure you carefully and calmly enter the settings exactly.

    then make sure you select the one you created to be active.

    reboot your phone.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    81
    Feedback Score
    0




    Make sure everything matches. Otherwise it might be the phone, try another sim..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    How are you able to get rid of the original AT&T APN? (AT&T PTA)

    It's locked for me so I can't delete it - but otherwise the screenshots below are what I have, which I believe are the same as yours - and I'm still unable to connect.

    I'll try and round up another sim card to test and see if I can access data through the phone, but I don't really have extra ones laying around. Are there any other pieces of advice? It seems a lot of people have had trouble getting the Vivid to work properly with Straight Talk, but that some have been successful...

    Name:  Screenshot_2012-07-29-18-05-06.png
Views: 8964
Size:  53.3 KBName:  Screenshot_2012-07-29-18-05-13.png
Views: 8729
Size:  67.5 KBName:  Screenshot_2012-07-29-18-05-29.png
Views: 8331
Size:  30.0 KB

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    782
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    It looks like you have an unneeded space in your apn type , fix that and reboot.

    Sent from my TeamDRH ICS for GTablet using HowardForums

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    2,263
    Phone
    Atrix/Skyrocket/R455C/Samsung Jack
    Carrier
    GoPhone LTE
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Zmk76 View Post
    It looks like you have an unneeded space in your apn type , fix that and reboot.

    Sent from my TeamDRH ICS for GTablet using HowardForums

    good catch i looked at it twice.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    849
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    heh, i dont even use a port number for the apn ..

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    5
    Feedback Score
    0
    Deleted the extra space, rebooted, still nothing.

    When I called ST, they said that I would need to find a way to delete the locked APN for AT&T PTA. (And then sent me to contact HTC).

    Other potential reasons data & MMS wouldn't work? Is a bad sim card a common enough thing to cause this, without affecting phone & SMS?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    782
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Try leaving apn type completely blank. Don't forget to save and reboot phone. If that doesn't work I would try the two apn setup similar to the HTC Inspire. I don't think there is anyway to delete stock apn other than maybe rooting and using custom rom.



    Sent from my TeamDRH ICS for GTablet using HowardForums

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    849
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    You don't have to delete the stock apn.. my Samsung infuse has 2 stock locked apns for att and font interfere ... the only difference I see in your setting is that your using a port number for the apn (not the mms) I left mine blank .. also is LTE turned off on your device?

    Sent from my SGH-I997 using HowardForums

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    81
    Feedback Score
    0
    I am running a custom rom, thats how i got rid of the original ATT APN. But when I was on the stock rom, I was still able to access all of the network having the ATT and straight talk APN on the phone.

    Are you still able to make phone calls?

    I would recommend to try the sim in another att android phone, this was we can determine if its the sim or the phone.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-24-2009, 11:13 AM
  2. Htc touch ring problem! Please Help!
    By gman34 in forum Windows Mobile (Before 7)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-06-2008, 05:33 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2007, 01:15 AM
  4. Changing Calling Plan Problem Please Help
    By IsTeAlJeTtAs in forum General Nextel Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-19-2004, 01:20 PM
  5. i95 case change problem PLEASE HELP!!
    By pacetech4 in forum Hardware Modding Only
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-23-2003, 10:36 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks