Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Activate/Port from Tracfone

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    333
    Carriers
    StraightTalk
    PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Activate/Port from Tracfone

    ok, some of the old threads make me nervous and my porting experience was not fun either. I am about to try and activate/port 2 lines from Tracfone to PP for my in-laws. Is the account number for Tracfone just the MEID of there current phones? Can the activate/port be done in one shot like the app implies? The Tracfone accounts are active so there should not be any problems but those are always famous last words.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,106
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Carriers
    PagePlus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    No, the MEID is NOT the account #. You need to get the account # and passcode from your inlaws before initiating the ports. But you DO need the MEIDs/ESNs of whatever phones you're going to use on PPC, and triple check them to make sure you make no mistakes with the MEIDs/ESNs. Yes, port and activation can be processed in one step. If you're nervous, use a reputable dealer. One reputable dealer has a special for free ports going on right now.

    EDIT:
    Based on the posts below, for Tracfone, the MEID number IS the account number. Sorry for the misinformation!
    Last edited by Boz1; 07-21-2012 at 03:03 PM.
    PagePlus---13 Years & Counting . . . . . Lycamobile---1 Year & Counting
    *Ericsson AF738, Jul 2001-Dec 2003, *Qualcomm QCP 2760, Dec 2003-Feb 2008, *LG VX-8600, Feb 2008-Apr 2010, *Samsung Omnia SCH-i910, Apr 2010-Nov 2011, *HTC Droid Incredible (CM7.2 ROM), Nov 2011-Jun 2013, *HTC Droid Incredible 2 (CM7.2 ROM), Jun 2013-Present

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually for Tracfone the MEID number is the account number.
    Are at least it was six months ago when I ported from Tracfone to Pageplus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    333
    Carriers
    StraightTalk
    PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Boz1 View Post
    No, the MEID is NOT the account #. You need to get the account # and passcode from your inlaws before initiating the ports. But you DO need the MEIDs/ESNs of whatever phones you're going to use on PPC, and triple check them to make sure you make no mistakes with the MEIDs/ESNs. Yes, port and activation can be processed in one step. If you're nervous, use a reputable dealer. One reputable dealer has a special for free ports going on right now.
    yep, I know what the MEID is but they were not given an account#. One Tracfone thread said to use the MEID as the Tracfone account but it was a few years ago. I'll just enter that and see what happens. What makes me nervous is PP's track record with ports. We shall see. If this goes smoothly I'll give props. Otherwise...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    2,825
    Carrier
    PagePlus - No Dealer Required
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sjv View Post
    yep, I know what the MEID is but they were not given an account#. One Tracfone thread said to use the MEID as the Tracfone account but it was a few years ago. I'll just enter that and see what happens. What makes me nervous is PP's track record with ports. We shall see. If this goes smoothly I'll give props. Otherwise...
    I ported a number from trac recently and the account number IS your MEID/IMEI. The pass code is the last four of the phone number. Also free ports can be had on the official PP website. https://www.pagepluscellular.com/Onl.../Activate.aspx


    I recently tested the "don't mention a PP Dealer by name" rule here on PP Hofo......trust me, it is still in effect - got me a 7 day ban.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    SE PA
    Posts
    412
    Phones
    SAM T404g
    MOT W490,Nokia 6030
    SE TM506,LG VX5600
    Carrier
    T-MO/TRAC/VZ
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by tracnet View Post
    I ported a number from trac recently and the account number IS your MEID/IMEI. The pass code is the last four of the phone number. Also free ports can be had on the official PP website. https://www.pagepluscellular.com/Onl.../Activate.aspx
    Yes

    i also have ported multiple phones from Trac & Net10 to VZ,TMOB,etc. This is the correct info.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    5,106
    Phone
    HTC Droid Incredible 2
    Carriers
    PagePlus Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Sorry for the misinformation! Maybe I'll remember that for similar questions in the future!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    333
    Carriers
    StraightTalk
    PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    Yes, it turns out the MEID is the account# for Tracfone. It also turns out this porting experience is as painful as it was 7 months ago when I ported my number in. PP somehow lost my first activation/porting request (filled out online on their web site) and the second one would not have gone through without several phone calls and hand-holding of both companies involved in the port. I am not sure what PP does with the information it requests on their web site since its as though none of the porting information was passed along to Tracfone. We are still waiting on the re-submitted second request but God only knows how many phone calls will have to be made to get them through another port. Heaven forbid a phone company actually processes a port smoothly! Its really not as hard as PP makes it seem.

Similar Threads

  1. Porting from Tracfone/AT&T to Verizon postpaid
    By Slinkwyde in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 08-25-2009, 09:17 AM
  2. Porting from Tracfone to Speak Out
    By iamdrumming in forum General Prepaid discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-09-2009, 12:51 AM
  3. Porting from Tracfone to Speak Out
    By iamdrumming in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 07:26 PM
  4. Porting from Tracfone
    By asabru88 in forum T-Mobile prepaid
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-14-2008, 11:16 PM
  5. Porting from Tracfone, do I lose time/minutes?
    By cherry3m in forum Tracfone/Net10
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-13-2008, 05:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks