Carrier
    Rogers
    Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

Our Nokia Lumia 920 review: Nokia's Last chance

Name:  IMG_2988.JPG
Views: 3122
Size:  65.1 KB
    Here is Nokia’s new flagship, the Nokia Lumia 920. I’ve been reviewing phones for almost 12 years now. My first really cool phone was a Nokia 5190. Over the years many of my favorite phones were Nokia’s. The 3650, one of the first real smartphones. I’ve got fond memories of my old 8190, 6620, 6681, 8800, n80, n95, n85, e71, n86 among others. However, since the n86 things have gone down hill for Nokia.

The iPhone came out around the same time as the n95 while Android came about a year later and since then, they’ve been clobbering Nokia to the point that they’ve dumped their own Smartphone OS and started using Windows Phone around a year ago. Their first Windows Phones, the Lumia 800 and 900 were nice phones in their own right but with the intense competition in the smartphone marketplace, they ended up getting lost in the mix.

This time around, Nokia has got some help with a new version of Windows Phone. Not only is Windows Phone 8 new, but Microsoft released new versions of Windows for computers and tablets with a unified user interface. Hopefully, the buzz around Windows will help consumers notice Nokia again.

Since Nokia’s first generation of Windows Phone didn’t sell that well, I’d say that their latest version is a bit of a last chance for them. If new ones don’t work out, it’s hard to imagine that there will be many more generations after this.

Its hardware places it in the upper midrange. You get a dual-core Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 processor. I first tried this processor on the HTC One X about 7 months ago and it’s currently being supplanted by the Quad-core Snapdragon S4 Pro, Quad-core ARM Cortex A-9 chips like in the Galaxy Note II and dual-core ARM Cortex A-15 chips on Android..