Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: LG 840g GPS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    25
    Feedback Score
    0

    LG 840g GPS

    I have the phone, from HSN, where they said in the video, GPS capabilities. Does it or doesn't it have GPS? If it does how do access it?
    Thanks
    Joe

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    25
    Feedback Score
    0
    Nobody has any Idea?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    39
    Phones
    Razr
    TracFone
    Samsung Fascinate
    Carriers
    "page Plus wireless"
    Frontier land line
    Feedback Score
    0
    I just got mine in the mail and it has to charge for 5 hours. I don't think it has GPS. Nothing on the box says that. Also, this is from the Tracfone site:

    Features:

    2 Megapixel Camera
    Alarm Clock
    Bluetooth Capable
    Call Waiting
    Caller ID
    Color Screen
    E-mail
    Graphics Download
    HAC Compatible
    Handsfree Speaker
    Mobile Web
    MP3 Player
    Phone Book with up to 1,000 Entries
    Ringtones Download
    Text/Picture Messaging
    Vibration Alert
    Video Recorder
    Voicemail

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    680
    Carriers
    Straight Talk (ATT SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0

    LG 840g GPS

    There may be a gps chip inside of it but no type of navigation is possible.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    54
    Carrier
    TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    They are referring to being able to download the Google Maps app to it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by kerstuff View Post
    They are referring to being able to download the Google Maps app to it.
    This smart phone stuff is all greek to this old fart. Is Google Maps a GPS program or just a maps thing like Mapquest? Either way, What version do I need and is it easy to install? see in the instruction guide that this is a Java phone but will it accept Android apps?

    TIA

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    1,889
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StubbrnDutchman View Post
    Is Google Maps a GPS program or just a maps thing like Mapquest?
    It's a bit more than just MapQuest (or the Google maps site in a browser)

    The big part is it tries to determine your current location. It will use GPS is available, or it will use the cell towers to triangulate location. How well the later works varies though. Sometime it's pretty good, other times it can't figure out anything at all.


    As for the version, go to m.google.com and it will send the correct J2ME version of the app.


    Finally, no, you can't run Android apps. The phone runs Java Mobile apps (J2ME) only.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    I tried m.google.com several times and always end up at google maps for Androids. I guess I am too ignorant to find the right one. Should I just proceed and try to download the android version???? Is my problem because I am trying to do the download on my PC to save minutes???

    Sorry!!!

    Don

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,181
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StubbrnDutchman View Post
    I tried m.google.com several times and always end up at google maps for Androids. I guess I am too ignorant to find the right one. Should I just proceed and try to download the android version???? Is my problem because I am trying to do the download on my PC to save minutes??? Sorry!!! Don
    Is there a reason why you don't do the download directly to the phone using wifi which is free? Have you already tried and it failed?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    I'm out in the boonies. Just trying to figure things out from my laptop/air card. I'm having so much trouble figuring things and navigating these google pages I don't want to use up minutes connecting w/o wi-fi.

    When I get to a wi-fi hotspot and use the lg840g, should things go easier? I'll hold off for now and try following your previous instructions when I finally get to a wi-fi hotspot.

    Thanks.

    Don

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    1,889
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StubbrnDutchman View Post
    Is my problem because I am trying to do the download on my PC to save minutes???
    That would cause problems. The server doesn't detect your phone, so it doesn't know which version to offer to you.

    Using wi-fi on the phone would be easiest.
    Alternatively you could spoof the UserAgent in the browser on the PC. That means getting a plug-in/extension to allow it and figuring out the correct UserAgent to use.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    BFE
    Posts
    1,889
    Phone
    S390G LG500G T404G T301G V170
    Carrier
    TracFone (AT&T SIM)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StubbrnDutchman View Post
    I'm out in the boonies. Just trying to figure things out from my laptop/air card.
    I'll hold off for now and try following your previous instructions when I finally get to a wi-fi hotspot.
    Can you set the laptop to be a hotspot using the wi-fi in it?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    1,894
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's better to let your phone hook up directly. Then Google can see exactly who the customer is. They prefer to deal direct.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    13
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ST Dog View Post
    Can you set the laptop to be a hotspot using the wi-fi in it?
    I'm cluless but will do some research. That would be great for helping me learn this smartphone! Thanks for the suggestion, never even knew it was a posibility.

    BTW: My previous and first cell phone was an old refurbished Motorola C139. Simply nothing more than a phone.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Central Florida
    Posts
    2,181
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by StubbrnDutchman View Post
    BTW: My previous and first cell phone was an old refurbished Motorola C139. Simply nothing more than a phone.
    I still have 2 of them. One of them is pink. Very fond of them. And I have a Motorola C155. Silver colored. When I hold it across my fingers (it doesn't fill out my whole hand), I feel like I am holding a newborn baby R2D2.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. US cellular gpsOne -- hybrid "wireless assisted" GPS?
    By st63z in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-17-2001, 08:58 AM
  2. Qualcomm CDMA2000 chipset in new BT + GPS phones (like Audiovox 9155GPX)?
    By st63z in forum General Mobile Questions and Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-15-2001, 06:24 AM
  3. Sony/Ericsson to get GPS add-on for T60c
    By tolwyn in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2001, 03:19 AM
  4. Sprint to offer E911 - GPS phone
    By crislau in forum Sprint
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-04-2001, 02:40 PM
  5. Communicator+GPS+GSM at one place!
    By incognito in forum Fido
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-14-2001, 12:25 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks