Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Razr Maxx/HD on AT&T

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    124
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Razr Maxx/HD on AT&T

    Will there soon be a phone similar to the razr maxx/hd on att? Right now that is what is stopping me from going to att, I need the battery life.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,585
    Phone
    iPhone6Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    They have the Atrix HD, which is the regular Droid RAZR HD.

    I'd buy one if AT&T brought over the Droid RAZR MAXX HD
    T-Mobile™: The carrier with the the worst reliability, data performance, call performance and text performance nationwide! -RootMetrics™ Go Uncarrier!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    604
    Carriers
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by AutoUnion View Post
    They have the Atrix HD, which is the regular Droid RAZR HD.
    Not quite. It's smaller, with a smaller screen and smaller battery.

    Unfortunately the RAZRs aren't going to make it to other carriers in the US. You could get something like a Galaxy S III and put an extended battery on it, or you could buy a RAZR MAXX secondhand and hack it to run on AT&T. Since they have GSM radios, that's possible.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    124
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by twbrn View Post
    Not quite. It's smaller, with a smaller screen and smaller battery.

    Unfortunately the RAZRs aren't going to make it to other carriers in the US. You could get something like a Galaxy S III and put an extended battery on it, or you could buy a RAZR MAXX secondhand and hack it to run on AT&T. Since they have GSM radios, that's possible.

    I have a maxx with Verizon and I cant use it on the GSM networks here in America. I tried tmo and att and called Verizon tech support.

    If/when ATT gets something similar, I will switch that day

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    604
    Carriers
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    I have a maxx with Verizon and I cant use it on the GSM networks here in America. I tried tmo and att and called Verizon tech support.
    It has the bands, but it's blocked from using the US GSM networks. You'd need to hack it to enable it to take an AT&T SIM card. The most likely place to find something like that would be XDA-Developers.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    6,014
    Phone
    iPhone 4S 64GB, Moto G, SGS III
    Carrier
    MSV 10GB 4 lines
    Feedback Score
    0
    Couldn't it be unlocked by one of the phone unlocking services? Or does that not work for CDMA/GSM phones?
    I usually support government regulation, but It is unfortunate that the government over-regulated and killed the AT&T/ T-Mobile Merger
    The best explanation of the pricing nutiness in the industry.
    Why Sprint and T-Mo will always suck.
    The only way to end the pricing insanity is to eliminate contracts and subsidies.
    I want Wifi calling on AT&T.
    If you text while driving, you're an idiot. End of story.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    916
    Feedback Score
    0

    Razr Maxx/HD on AT&T

    Quote Originally Posted by GSMinCT View Post
    Couldn't it be unlocked by one of the phone unlocking services? Or does that not work for CDMA/GSM phones?
    I'm wondering if it could be hacked. The best place to ask is XDA developers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    IA, NE
    Posts
    1,157
    Phone
    Nexus 5, Galaxy S4 GPE, Moto X, iPad Air, Nexus 7
    Carrier
    AT&T, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Razr Maxx/HD on AT&T

    Quote Originally Posted by macher50267 View Post
    I'm wondering if it could be hacked. The best place to ask is XDA developers.
    I don't think it can be easily. I was interested in getting one for awhile and was following the efforts of xda and it wasn't going good... but that was several months ago. If you don't need the Maxx you can get the Razr HD that Rogers uses.. I think it even works with att lte

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using HowardForums

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    124
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by sprke81 View Post
    I don't think it can be easily. I was interested in getting one for awhile and was following the efforts of xda and it wasn't going good... but that was several months ago. If you don't need the Maxx you can get the Razr HD that Rogers uses.. I think it even works with att lte

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using HowardForums

    I see that you use ATT and are in IA and that area. How is att in the remote areas? Do you get 4g?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    604
    Carriers
    Verizon Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GSMinCT View Post
    Couldn't it be unlocked by one of the phone unlocking services? Or does that not work for CDMA/GSM phones?
    The problem is that it's not conventionally locked; you can put in an international GSM SIM and be on your way. But it's blocked from using the AT&T network in the US to avoid people jumping ship with their phone.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    IA, NE
    Posts
    1,157
    Phone
    Nexus 5, Galaxy S4 GPE, Moto X, iPad Air, Nexus 7
    Carrier
    AT&T, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    I see that you use ATT and are in IA and that area. How is att in the remote areas? Do you get 4g?
    My business is in Omaha and ATT is great there. I live in southwest IA and am on the edge of the Omaha coverage. If I lived 5 miles farther east into IA I would be roaming on a terrible roamer carrier called Commnet. When I go to visit friends and family farther into southwest IA I cannot use data at all on Commnet..its voice and text only. Basically if you venture to far out of Omaha..don't use ATT.

Similar Threads

  1. New RAZR MAXX coming to T-Mo?
    By DarkTemplar194 in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 06:28 PM
  2. Razr Maxx and MotoRIZR
    By megaman1x in forum Motorola
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 01:17 PM
  3. NEW Motorola KRZR K1, RIZR, V3xx and RAZR maxx
    By sandrita in forum Motorola
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 01:14 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-25-2006, 11:02 AM
  5. Razr Maxx and MotoRIZR
    By megaman1x in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 07-24-2006, 11:38 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks