Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: using Sprint iPhone 4s with Straight Talk?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    593
    Phones
    Iphone 4
    Iphone 4
    Iphone 4
    Carriers
    ST
    Feedback Score
    0

    using Sprint iPhone 4s with Straight Talk?

    Folks, i've got someone asking me if he has a Iphone 4s currently on Sprint can he switch it over to be used on Straight Talk with a SIM card? I believe the Sprint Iphone 4s has a sim slot for roaming overseas. I currently use Straight Talk but with an ATT Iphone 4 and i know very little about the Sprint Iphone 4, if you can point me in the right direction please do so and thank you all in advance.
    Rockey

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Bloomington, IN
    Posts
    6,715
    Phones
    iPhone 4S
    Samsung R355C (wife's)
    Motorola V600 (oversea travel)
    Carriers
    PagePlus
    Feedback Score
    0
    If my rusty memory is correct, Version and Sprint iPhone sim slot are for oversea GSM network. Not domestic.

    Ok, my mistake. someone in the forum did have a sprint iPhone and got it unlocked to use here.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Donkey View Post
    If my rusty memory is correct, Version and Sprint iPhone sim slot are for oversea GSM network. Not domestic.

    Ok, my mistake. someone in the forum did have a sprint iPhone and got it unlocked to use here.

    Hey every one, I know this thread is pretty old but if any one has done this in the past or has recently done this, I was curious if all you needed was the AT&T sim card and just popped it in and away you went ?
    Or is there more work that needs to be done to the phone to get this to work.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    1,636
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ydkjman View Post
    Hey every one, I know this thread is pretty old but if any one has done this in the past or has recently done this, I was curious if all you needed was the AT&T sim card and just popped it in and away you went ?
    Or is there more work that needs to be done to the phone to get this to work.
    there's more work in order to get it to work on straight talk, you need this - http://www.gevey.com/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    173
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by october262 View Post
    there's more work in order to get it to work on straight talk, you need this - http://www.gevey.com/
    Thanks october262 for the fast reply.
    Are you or know of any one that has done this and know of any limitations you get from this? IE: maybe not having access to send MMS messages ?


    *EDIT* went back and looked and figured out I would need the CDMA Kit one from them.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-13-2013, 08:26 PM
  2. using other GSM phones with straight talk wireless
    By drdreww in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 60
    Last Post: 10-27-2012, 11:14 PM
  3. iPhone 4 with Straight Talk, Need help with receiving MMS
    By Dangie Grathoff in forum iOS Jailbreaking and Unlocking
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 11:04 PM
  4. Help using ATT Iphone 4s and Straight Talk- can't mms
    By mikec35 in forum Straight Talk
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-04-2012, 01:01 PM
  5. Is it possible to use Sprint Iphone 4s with VM?
    By ddyourself in forum Virgin Mobile USA
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 06:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks