Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    260
    Phone
    iPhone 5S, Note 3
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Why doesn't ATT get a GSM version of these?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    728
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can get a gsm version of these... Not from Att though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    260
    Phone
    iPhone 5S, Note 3
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Course you can. But then it's only compatible with some of ATT's network, not their LTE. You've got to do a little tinkering to get it to work properly.
    It'd just be nice to see ATT offer one of these super powered Motorolas. I mean the RAZR HD's do have a crazy cool notification LED.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,507
    Phone
    iPhone6Plus
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would like AT&T to get a RAZR MAXX HD. I would buy it tonight.
    T-Mobile™: The carrier with the the worst reliability, data performance, call performance and text performance nationwide! -RootMetrics™ Go Uncarrier!!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,274
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    260
    Phone
    iPhone 5S, Note 3
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in
    Less LTE, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,507
    Phone
    iPhone6Plus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by PACWEST View Post
    Less LTE, right?
    Yes

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,037
    Feedback Score
    0
    They have the Motorola Atrix HD. It's pretty close to these phones minus the kickass battery in the RAZR MAXX HD.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    IA, NE
    Posts
    1,154
    Phone
    Nexus 5, Galaxy S4 GPE, Moto X, iPad Air, Nexus 7
    Carrier
    AT&T, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in
    Wait a minute, I thought Motorola disabled the North American GSM on the Verizon versions?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    728
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PACWEST View Post
    Course you can. But then it's only compatible with some of ATT's network, not their LTE. You've got to do a little tinkering to get it to work properly.
    It'd just be nice to see ATT offer one of these super powered Motorolas. I mean the RAZR HD's do have a crazy cool notification LED.
    Have a look http://www.motorola.ca/consumers/MOT...ile-phones#tab

    http://www.rphones.ca/rogers-blackbe...ifications.asp

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    2,232
    Phones
    HTC One M8
    HTC One M8 (Sprint)
    iPhone 5s (CBeyond)
    Carriers
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually looking at the Motorola link, it looks like it will work fine with all of AT&T's networks, including LTE--it supports Band 17.

    I wonder if Verizon has some sort of exclusive on the Razr in the US? None of the other major carriers have it, although a few tiny, tiny ones do--including some very rural GSM carriers which do offer the GSM version.

    --Nat

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    267
    Phones
    Droid Razr Maxx HD, Blackberry Z10
    Blackberry Z10
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    Carriers
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by sprke81 View Post
    Wait a minute, I thought Motorola disabled the North American GSM on the Verizon versions?
    A one byte edit of the NVRAM unlocks the GSM/HSPA radio for use on US networks. There's no AT&T LTE and I've read about some issues with international roaming using the modded radio, but the posters on XDA weren't specific about their roaming problems.

    I've successfully used AT&T, T-mobile & Telcel (Mexico) SIMs in my RAZR maxx HD for both voice and data. Switching back to Verizon is just a matter of swapping out the SIM.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using HowardForums

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    110
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zowwie85 View Post
    A one byte edit of the NVRAM unlocks the GSM/HSPA radio for use on US networks. There's no AT&T LTE and I've read about some issues with international roaming using the modded radio, but the posters on XDA weren't specific about their roaming problems.

    I've successfully used AT&T, T-mobile & Telcel (Mexico) SIMs in my RAZR maxx HD for both voice and data. Switching back to Verizon is just a matter of swapping out the SIM.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using HowardForums

    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    Have unlimited talk, text, and data(grandfathered)4g/lte for less than $99 per month on Verizon

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,507
    Phone
    iPhone6Plus
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    I thought the VZW 4G phones came unlocked?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,274
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    This is very dangerous so follow all instructions to the T. Not responsible for any damages.. This is how I am able to switch between AT&T HSPA+/EDGE and Verizon LTE/CDMA with just switching my SIM and APN settings.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=38503378

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola DROID RAZR MAXX Release Thread
    By FAUguy in forum Droid RAZR and Bionic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 02:38 AM
  2. DROID RAZR MAXX Signal Issues.
    By tybo31316 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 04:19 PM
  3. DROID RAZR MAXX Pre-Release Thread
    By ajwillys in forum Droid RAZR and Bionic
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 01:06 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 04:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks