Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19

Thread: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    259
    Phone
    Droid Maxx
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Why doesn't ATT get a GSM version of these?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    676
    Feedback Score
    0
    You can get a gsm version of these... Not from Att though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    259
    Phone
    Droid Maxx
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Course you can. But then it's only compatible with some of ATT's network, not their LTE. You've got to do a little tinkering to get it to work properly.
    It'd just be nice to see ATT offer one of these super powered Motorolas. I mean the RAZR HD's do have a crazy cool notification LED.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,453
    Phone
    GN3|S4|One|iPhone5S
    Feedback Score
    0
    I would like AT&T to get a RAZR MAXX HD. I would buy it tonight.
    T-Mobile™: The carrier with the the worst reliability, data performance, call performance and text performance nationwide! -RootMetrics™ Go Uncarrier!!

    Phone History (from 2011): Galaxy Note 3, GS4, HTC One, iPhone 5S, iPhone 5C, XPERIA Z, GNII (x3), Nexus 4, Optimus G, Lumia 920, iPhone 5, GSIII (x2), One X, Galaxy Nexus, Lumia 900, GSII Skyrocket, GSII

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,197
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    259
    Phone
    Droid Maxx
    Carrier
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in
    Less LTE, right?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,453
    Phone
    GN3|S4|One|iPhone5S
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by PACWEST View Post
    Less LTE, right?
    Yes

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    3,037
    Feedback Score
    0
    They have the Motorola Atrix HD. It's pretty close to these phones minus the kickass battery in the RAZR MAXX HD.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    IA, NE
    Posts
    1,124
    Phone
    Nexus 5, Galaxy S4 GPE, Moto X, iPad Air, Nexus 7
    Carrier
    AT&T, VZW
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Wireless Junkie View Post
    My Verizon MAXX HD works fine putting my AT&T MicroSIM in
    Wait a minute, I thought Motorola disabled the North American GSM on the Verizon versions?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    676
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by PACWEST View Post
    Course you can. But then it's only compatible with some of ATT's network, not their LTE. You've got to do a little tinkering to get it to work properly.
    It'd just be nice to see ATT offer one of these super powered Motorolas. I mean the RAZR HD's do have a crazy cool notification LED.
    Have a look http://www.motorola.ca/consumers/MOT...ile-phones#tab

    http://www.rphones.ca/rogers-blackbe...ifications.asp

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Olympia, WA
    Posts
    2,129
    Phones
    HTC One M8
    HTC One M8 (Sprint)
    iPhone 5s (CBeyond)
    Carriers
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Actually looking at the Motorola link, it looks like it will work fine with all of AT&T's networks, including LTE--it supports Band 17.

    I wonder if Verizon has some sort of exclusive on the Razr in the US? None of the other major carriers have it, although a few tiny, tiny ones do--including some very rural GSM carriers which do offer the GSM version.

    --Nat

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    266
    Phones
    Droid Razr Maxx HD, Blackberry Z10
    Blackberry Z10
    Droid Razr Maxx HD
    Carriers
    T-mobile
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by sprke81 View Post
    Wait a minute, I thought Motorola disabled the North American GSM on the Verizon versions?
    A one byte edit of the NVRAM unlocks the GSM/HSPA radio for use on US networks. There's no AT&T LTE and I've read about some issues with international roaming using the modded radio, but the posters on XDA weren't specific about their roaming problems.

    I've successfully used AT&T, T-mobile & Telcel (Mexico) SIMs in my RAZR maxx HD for both voice and data. Switching back to Verizon is just a matter of swapping out the SIM.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using HowardForums

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Chicago area
    Posts
    107
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by zowwie85 View Post
    A one byte edit of the NVRAM unlocks the GSM/HSPA radio for use on US networks. There's no AT&T LTE and I've read about some issues with international roaming using the modded radio, but the posters on XDA weren't specific about their roaming problems.

    I've successfully used AT&T, T-mobile & Telcel (Mexico) SIMs in my RAZR maxx HD for both voice and data. Switching back to Verizon is just a matter of swapping out the SIM.

    Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using HowardForums

    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    Have unlimited talk, text, and data(grandfathered)4g/lte for less than $99 per month on Verizon

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,453
    Phone
    GN3|S4|One|iPhone5S
    Feedback Score
    0

    Re: Droid RAZR HD & MAXX HD

    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    I thought the VZW 4G phones came unlocked?

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Tapatalk 2

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,197
    Carriers
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by conan1071 View Post
    How did you do this? I have a maxx hd with verizon and bought an ATT sim, put it in the sim slot and changed settings to gsm and it didnt work. I am not rooted.
    This is very dangerous so follow all instructions to the T. Not responsible for any damages.. This is how I am able to switch between AT&T HSPA+/EDGE and Verizon LTE/CDMA with just switching my SIM and APN settings.

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=38503378

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola DROID RAZR MAXX Release Thread
    By FAUguy in forum Droid RAZR and Bionic
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 02-18-2012, 02:38 AM
  2. DROID RAZR MAXX Signal Issues.
    By tybo31316 in forum Verizon Wireless
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-16-2012, 04:19 PM
  3. DROID RAZR MAXX Pre-Release Thread
    By ajwillys in forum Droid RAZR and Bionic
    Replies: 48
    Last Post: 01-26-2012, 01:06 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 04:14 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks