Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Droid X2 freezes reboots loops

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0

    Unhappy Droid X2 freezes reboots loops

    I apologize in advance if this is the wrong forum for this.

    I've had my Droid X2 for about 18 months; the first year I had no problems with it. About six months ago, it started rebooting into an apparent infinite loop. After removing the battery to shut it off, I called Verizon support and they talked me through a factory recovery. Problem solved...for a while.

    Since then, it's happened two more times. It would work fine,then out of the blue it would freeze or reboot and loop. I've tried the troubleshooter at Moto's website with the same result. Factory recovery!

    I only install apps from Google Play Store and watch comments & ratings for red flags. SD card seems to be fine. The phone has never been wet or exposed to extreme conditions.

    I haven't seen this pattern talked about much on the forums...am I missing something? Anything I can do to extend the life between having to do recovery? I hope to get at least another 6 months out of the phone before I upgrade, probably to a Droid Razr HD or HD MAXX.

    Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,246
    Device(s)
    too many to list
    Carrier(s)
    virgin mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Is the phone rooted if not all I can say is R. I. P:sly:

    Sent from my Atrix HD using Tapatalk 2
    Peter Is A God AkA Gods Son

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    No, the phone has never been rooted. I've never considered rooting it as I use it for everything (no need for a wired line)...would rooting it improve reliability? BTW, I've gotten REALLY good at the recovery process. LoL

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    SW Missouri
    Posts
    3
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    I removed the SD card before I performed the most recent hard reset. After the recovery, I formatted the internal storage then formatted and re-installed the SD card (I had not done either in the 18 months that I've owned the phone). I'll update the thread if this seems to have helped. (I live in a rural area where 4G is just now becoming available, I'm not quite ready to throw in the towel on the X2).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    1,246
    Device(s)
    too many to list
    Carrier(s)
    virgin mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Turn phone off press and hold down volume down and press and hold power button at same time, choose reset.

    Sent from my Atrix HD using Tapatalk 2

Similar Threads

  1. Motorola M1000 Reboot Loop NEED Firmware!
    By vcabansa in forum Motorola Flashing/Flexing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-26-2006, 08:00 PM
  2. question and rant - reboot loop on 8900
    By Steve_Evans in forum UT Starcom / Audiovox
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-16-2005, 05:21 AM
  3. E815 Freezing/Rebooting issue
    By bottl3 in forum Feature Phones
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2005, 12:40 PM
  4. cdm 8900 in reboot loop
    By averagejoe15 in forum UT Starcom / Audiovox
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-30-2004, 09:57 PM
  5. SE T610 freezes, reboots and drops dead
    By Mehrius in forum SonyEricsson
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 03-09-2004, 05:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks