Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27

Thread: Kyocera Kona

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,877
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, AT&T_ Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0

    Kyocera Kona

    Attachment 92190

    As per VM's FB page....

    The Kyocera Kona.
    Everything our Paylo customers need in a tight little package.

    Available now in Target stores only.
    http://simulator.vma.wdsserve.com/vd...networkId=1149
    PREPAID means I have all the power.
    They want me, but they can't have me...


    Virgin Mobile: $35 / $1 | AT&T PREPAID: .25/Min

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Mtns of Western NC
    Posts
    1,218
    Device(s)
    Ascend Y, Proclaim, Ascend Plus
    Carrier(s)
    America Movil, Virgin Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Oops, I posted in the Beyond Talk section about this phone. It is $10 at Target, now through May 18th. May check it out since reviews are hard to come by.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,877
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, AT&T_ Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    The Kyocera Kona is now LIVE on the VM site too !!!!

    Attachment 92654

    Top Features
    3G Network
    Fast surfing, messaging and downloading - that's the power of 3G.
    2.0 MP Camera
    Vivid picture and video power bring your life to, well, life.
    Flip phone
    Protecting your display from scrapes and scratches is an open and shut case.
    Dual Screens
    Personalize your phone inside and out with 2.4" internal and 1.44" external screens, with Caller I.D.
    Bluetooth® 2.1
    No wires? No worries. Wirelessly connect your earpiece, share files and more.
    Picture Messaging
    Share your favorite mobile snapshots through text or email.
    Mobile Web
    Go anywhere on the web with this sleek browser optimized for mobile use.
    Voice-Activated Commands
    Dial numbers, access messages and more, just by speaking into your phone.
    Facebook®
    Whatever you're doing, wherever you go, share it all on the social media sensation.
    Twitter®
    Twitter rules the world and now you can rule Twitter.

    Alarm
    Calculator
    Calendar
    Notepad
    Stopwatch
    3.5mm Headset Jack
    TTY/TDD Support
    HAC Rating: M4/T4
    Green Machine ULE Certified
    Speakerphone
    GPS Enabled
    My Account
    Games
    Ringtones
    Ringback Tones
    Graphics

    Only $19.99...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    142
    Device(s)
    ZTE Citrine (GSM), Samsung Galaxy Luna (CDMA), LG Rebel (CDMA), LG L238C (CDMA)
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    I might order one this week. $16! I got a Samsung Entro but returned it and got a Samsung Montage instead, but I think this Kyocera Kona might be even better than the Montage which was $50!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,877
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, AT&T_ Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by toronado455 View Post
    I might order one this week. $16! I got a Samsung Entro but returned it and got a Samsung Montage instead, but I think this Kyocera Kona might be even better than the Montage which was $50!
    Depends on what you like to use your phone for. The Montage is great for those that want a pure messaging machine, the Kona has an oversized Dial-Pad and a very nice display (compared to the VM Entro, S2100 and other previous basic flip phones) for those looking for a very nice low priced flip phone the Sprint Prepaid Kyocera Twins Kona/Coast are very good options.

    http://www.virginmobileusa.com/shop/...hone/features/

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    1,526
    Device(s)
    LG G4, Galaxy S6, Moto E LTE, Note 4
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile, FreedomPop, TracFone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by vmobi View Post
    3G Network
    Fast surfing, messaging and downloading - that's the power of 3G.
    That's false advertising. According to Kyocera's site the Kona supports "CDMA2000® 1xRTT dual-band (800, 1900 MHz)" which is not 3G by any modern definition. Sprint Prepaid Group claims a lot of the 2G 1xRTT phones are 3G on the Virgin and Boost sites. It's not a big deal as Sprint EVDO is not much faster than their 1xRTT in most places but it's still wrong.
    My site: PrepaidPhoneNews.com My other sites: wapreview.com, boostapps.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    I got this phone a few months ago and a single charge only lasts maybe 4 days on standby, at most. Also, google is nearly unusable on the browser, so you have to use the search box from VM's homepage. The only consolation for me is the large text font and number pad since my vision isn't so great.

    Also, I don't mean to go off-topic about the phone, but is it sometimes normal for calls to not go through on the first try with VM? I've had this issue on all of my VM phones, never with any other carriers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    142
    Device(s)
    ZTE Citrine (GSM), Samsung Galaxy Luna (CDMA), LG Rebel (CDMA), LG L238C (CDMA)
    Carrier(s)
    Tracfone
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by revlovejoy View Post
    I got this phone a few months ago and a single charge only lasts maybe 4 days on standby, at most. Also, google is nearly unusable on the browser, so you have to use the search box from VM's homepage. The only consolation for me is the large text font and number pad since my vision isn't so great.
    4 days standby seems a bit short lived. My last flip phone Motorola E815 could go for weeks. Even my current phone (Optimus V) can easily last more than 4 days standby without charging so long as I don't turn on the 3G.

    How are the keypad buttons? Do they feel cheap?

    I imagine the large font is about the same size as the large font setting on the Montage since it's all the same OS.

    I still haven't ordered one, but I may next week.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    3
    Feedback Score
    0
    The keypad feels fine.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    12
    Feedback Score
    0
    $4.99 from Best Buy w/. free shpg. (pricematch of Kmart)

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,877
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, AT&T_ Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by wesgreen View Post
    $4.99 from Best Buy w/. free shpg. (pricematch of Kmart)
    Now on sale @ Radio Shack for $4.99
    http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...=Virgin+Mobile


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,950
    Feedback Score
    0
    My phone activated, but its stuck on "UPDATING PRL".......it never updates. It will sit there forever until you cancel it. if you cancel it, the phone works fine, and the PRL UPDATE event does not reappear until you turn off the phone, and turn it back on......immediately after it reboots.... UPDATING PRL..... you can see data activity, but it never comes out of this. I've read on other forums of this issue with this phone, and others never mention it. How do I force it to update? or cancel it where it never re-appears?

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,950
    Feedback Score
    0
    5.99 at Walmart.com

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    On an Island...
    Posts
    5,877
    Device(s)
    iPhone, iPad
    Carrier(s)
    Virgin_Mobile, AT&T_ Prepaid
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wirelessly posted (NO Contract !!!: Opera/9.80 (Android; Opera Mini/7.5.33361/34.926; U; en) Presto/2.8.119 Version/11.10)

    Quote Originally Posted by greg4android
    My phone activated, but its stuck on "UPDATING PRL".......it never updates. It will sit there forever until you cancel it. if you cancel it, the phone works fine, and the PRL UPDATE event does not reappear until you turn off the phone, and turn it back on......immediately after it reboots.... UPDATING PRL..... you can see data activity, but it never comes out of this. I've read on other forums of this issue with this phone, and others never mention it. How do I force it to update? or cancel it where it never re-appears?
    I've seen a few exhibit that behaviour CS indicates that there is nothing wrong with the devices yet at times the phone will also fail to connect to check balance or pay your bill.

    Definitely not acting normal by any stretch.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    1,950
    Feedback Score
    0
    They are sending another device, like that's going to fix the issue. they had no clue about what I was talking about, and stated they have not heard about this issue. they stated the phone does not need data access to update the PRL. WHY THEN, are the data activity lights blinking on and off during this attempt?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Kyocera Smartphone QCP™-6035
    By reality416 in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 12-24-2003, 04:05 PM
  2. Kyocera 6035 NOW AVAILABLE
    By DarrenGuy in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-23-2001, 02:05 PM
  3. Kyocera 6035 on Telus?
    By Unregistered in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-16-2001, 05:39 PM
  4. Kyocera 2035
    By DarrenGuy in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2001, 12:59 AM
  5. Kyocera 6035
    By Saxophoneman in forum Bell Mobility
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-30-2001, 08:31 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks