Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Phone band question -- Is this T-Mobile rep correct??

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    Phone band question -- Is this T-Mobile rep correct??

    Hi. Could you answer a question from a newbie?

    A T-Mobile rep said that any phone will work with T-Mobile for voice only without data. Mom wants a flip-phone and T-mobile does not sell new flip phones anymore, so I have to find it elsewhere. Chinese vendors have some flip-phones with GSM 900/1800 MHz bands. Could these work with T-Mobile? If not, then which bands are needed? Mom uses voice only, not data. Thank you for your advice!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,217
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile US
    Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    If they only have those two bands, they won't work.

    You need 1900MHz for T-Mobile 2G (GSM). For roaming where T-Mobile doesn't have coverage, it helps to have 850MHz, too.
    Carriers I've used: Sprint, T-Mobile, Cricket, AT&T, Verizon, Page Plus, Virgin Mobile, Movistar, AT&T Mexico, Telcel, Straight Talk, RingPlus.
    Phones I've used: iPhone 6S, iPhone 5c, HTC One M9, Samsung Galaxy S3, LG G2, BlackBerry Storm, Nokia 820, Motorola Atrix HD, iPhone 4S, HTC One V, iPhone 4, Nokia Lumia 900, Nokia N9, Samsung Focus, Samsung Captivate, Nokia N900, HTC 8525, iPhone 3GS, iPhone, Nokia E61i, Siemens A56...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thank you very much, Volaris!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    53
    Feedback Score
    0
    If you haven't already found a good flip phone try Amazon also try one of those mom & pop shop that sells allot of different phones also try Radio Shack. Good luck

    Sent with the HoFo App

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    96
    Device(s)
    Samsung N920T Galaxy Note5 | MS Lumia 640 LTE
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile prepaid | Consumer Cellular
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by irongiant369 View Post
    If you haven't already found a good flip phone try Amazon also try one of those mom & pop shop that sells allot of different phones also try Radio Shack. Good luck

    Sent with the HoFo App
    These days Radio Shack typically doesn't stock T-Mobile branded handsets. Unless I'm mistaken, T-Mobile postpaid account holders are permitted to swap their SIM cards into prepaid handsets. Thus the OP may have better luck visiting BestBuy. According to their website, there are 2 prepaid T-Mobile flip phones are available now:
    • Samsung t139
    • Alcatel 665


    Alternately, T-Mobile has recently unveiled a new model for postpaid users: Alcatel 768 (a.k.a. T-Mobile 768). It's also available in select markets from the MetroPCS side of TMUSA, but it's unknown if SIM swapping is allowed from MetroPCS-sourced handsets to T-Mobile postpaid *or* prepaid. Can any other HoFos confirm/deny this?
    Glad to be off contract since 2010...

    Device Reverse Chronology: LG E960 Nexus4 | HTC ADR6300 Incredible | Nokia Asha 303 | Palm Pixi Plus | Motorola W233 Renew | Motorola VU204 | LG VS740 Ally | Motorola V325xi | LG VX8560 Chocolate3 | Motorola V265 | LG VX5400 | Nokia 6015i | Samsung VGA1000

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thank you!

    Quote Originally Posted by mobileFonPhile View Post
    These days Radio Shack typically doesn't stock T-Mobile branded handsets. Unless I'm mistaken, T-Mobile postpaid account holders are permitted to swap their SIM cards into prepaid handsets. Thus the OP may have better luck visiting BestBuy. According to their website, there are 2 prepaid T-Mobile flip phones are available now:
    • Samsung t139
    • Alcatel 665


    Alternately, T-Mobile has recently unveiled a new model for postpaid users: Alcatel 768 (a.k.a. T-Mobile 768). It's also available in select markets from the MetroPCS side of TMUSA, but it's unknown if SIM swapping is allowed from MetroPCS-sourced handsets to T-Mobile postpaid *or* prepaid. Can any other HoFos confirm/deny this?

    Excellent ideas. Thank you very much!!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    4
    Feedback Score
    0

    Thumbs up Your suggestion was perfect!

    Quote Originally Posted by mobileFonPhile View Post
    These days Radio Shack typically doesn't stock T-Mobile branded handsets. Unless I'm mistaken, T-Mobile postpaid account holders are permitted to swap their SIM cards into prepaid handsets. Thus the OP may have better luck visiting BestBuy. According to their website, there are 2 prepaid T-Mobile flip phones are available now:
    • Samsung t139
    • Alcatel 665


    Alternately, T-Mobile has recently unveiled a new model for postpaid users: Alcatel 768 (a.k.a. T-Mobile 768). It's also available in select markets from the MetroPCS side of TMUSA, but it's unknown if SIM swapping is allowed from MetroPCS-sourced handsets to T-Mobile postpaid *or* prepaid. Can any other HoFos confirm/deny this?
    Your suggestion was perfect. For her birthday, Mom received an Alcatel 768 from the local T-Mobile store and she loves it! It works great with the post-paid account. Thanks for the excellent idea!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-26-2007, 02:04 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-03-2006, 02:38 PM
  3. File not supported in this phone ICJAL QUESTION
    By mstang5o in forum Software
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-01-2003, 04:44 AM
  4. Mobile Phone Sites Question
    By SmartEgyptian in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-04-2003, 10:57 AM
  5. A question about changing my mobile phone number
    By SilverCell in forum T-Mobile
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-14-2003, 07:07 AM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks