Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Master Security Lock for Samsung M320?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    137
    Feedback Score
    0

    Master Security Lock for Samsung M320?

    Hello,

    I'm new to the Sprint world, coming from GSM (T-mobile). When my niece upgraded phones, she gave me her old Samsung M320 feature phone. I'd like to use it with a Sprint MVNO (Ringplus) but need to be able to manually set the MDN and MSID. For that, the phone wants the security (Master Security Lock) which seems to be a 6 digit code that locks the phone to the Sprint network. I called Sprint and after a LONG discussion with a supervisor, they swear they will not provide the code unless the phone is active on an account. This seems just backwards to me - if it's on a Sprint account, I dont need the darn code! I've had no problem getting SIM unlock codes from ATT and T-mobile.

    Can anyone help? Perhaps there are some "magic words" I need to say to the CS person to get them to give me the unlock code.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,701
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by drooper View Post
    Hello,

    I'm new to the Sprint world, coming from GSM (T-mobile). When my niece upgraded phones, she gave me her old Samsung M320 feature phone. I'd like to use it with a Sprint MVNO (Ringplus) but need to be able to manually set the MDN and MSID. For that, the phone wants the security (Master Security Lock) which seems to be a 6 digit code that locks the phone to the Sprint network. I called Sprint and after a LONG discussion with a supervisor, they swear they will not provide the code unless the phone is active on an account. This seems just backwards to me - if it's on a Sprint account, I dont need the darn code! I've had no problem getting SIM unlock codes from ATT and T-mobile.

    Can anyone help? Perhaps there are some "magic words" I need to say to the CS person to get them to give me the unlock code.

    Thanks.
    Are you sure you need to bother with a MSL? https://my.ringplus.net/device_validation_requests/new

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    137
    Feedback Score
    0

    Msl

    Yeah, their over the air programming does not work with this phone and it has to be manually programmed. It went thru their check, they assigned a phone number, but it will not update automatically. The phone still shows the old Sprint numbers.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Bend, Oregon
    Posts
    7,701
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6
    Carrier(s)
    Sprint
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by drooper View Post
    Yeah, their over the air programming does not work with this phone and it has to be manually programmed.
    I see, I'd try requesting it via online chat http://www.sprint.com/landings/chat/?ECID=vanity:chat

    I've read threads in the past where some have never had an issue getting the MSL while others have had to call several times.

Similar Threads

  1. CDMA: MSL (Master Subsidy Lock) for Blackberry Tour 9630 TELUS
    By Karim-S in forum TELUS Mobility
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 11:22 AM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-20-2009, 03:46 PM
  3. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 11-18-2008, 08:01 PM
  4. Why is bluetooth locked for samsung 920a
    By 03coupe in forum Samsung
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2006, 12:28 PM
  5. is there a security lock for 3360?
    By faisalp in forum Nokia
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 08-07-2002, 01:23 PM

Bookmarks