Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 26

Thread: AIO: Will an AT&T locked phone work?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    70
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0

    AIO: Will an AT&T locked phone work?

    I have an HTC One locked to AT&T, running their stock OS (not rooted or anything). 2 Questions if I cancel my contract and go to AIO:

    1 - Will I be able to use the phone on AIO's network without unlocking it first? I'll eventually get it unlocked, but I want to keep my number. I can't unlock my phone until I cancel service. I can't cancel service until I port my number. With a ported number and a locked device, I'm worried I won't have a useable phone for days/weeks

    2 - Will the phone still receive software updates via the standard OTA method? HTC claims they are updating US HTC One to the latest Android by the end of September

    Appreciate the help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    1,884
    Carriers
    ekit, Truphone
    piranha, Worldsim
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by silentdaze View Post
    I can't unlock my phone until I cancel service.
    Are you sure?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    119
    Carrier
    Cricket
    Feedback Score
    0
    It should work. I tried out AIO for a month and during my month, I bought the GoPhone Galaxy Express and put my AIO SIM card in it, and everything worked immediately, including data. It notified me to let me know it was changing MMS settings, but that worked after it changed them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1,182
    Feedback Score
    0
    Your locked phone should work on Aio. However, you should be able to get your phone unlocked even though it is under contract. If they hassle you, tell them you're going overseas and you need to use your phone there. Worst case, pay the ETF (which you're going to have to do anyway) and then get it unlocked.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    560
    Phones
    Nexus 5
    Moto G
    Carrier
    AT&T (Cricket)
    Feedback Score
    0
    1. yes, put your SIM card in and turn it on.
    2. yes, you will continue to get updates.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    70
    Carrier
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks for the responses. I tried calling to get my phone unlocked and thought being honest about my plans since AIO is owned by AT&T would get me results - no one at AT&T either in store or in the customer care department had any clue what AIO was though and wouldn't help me out. Might be too late to try the "I'm going overseas" route - but since some of you are saying it will just work, I'll give it a shot

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Tampa Bay
    Posts
    560
    Phones
    Nexus 5
    Moto G
    Carrier
    AT&T (Cricket)
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by silentdaze View Post
    Thanks for the responses. I tried calling to get my phone unlocked and thought being honest about my plans since AIO is owned by AT&T would get me results - no one at AT&T either in store or in the customer care department had any clue what AIO was though and wouldn't help me out. Might be too late to try the "I'm going overseas" route - but since some of you are saying it will just work, I'll give it a shot
    Try this
    https://www.att.com/deviceunlock/cli...msAndCondition

    But, in the end a LOCKED ATT phone will work on aio.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    1
    Feedback Score
    0

    Angry

    Quote Originally Posted by poison7fl View Post
    But, in the end a LOCKED ATT phone will work on aio.
    THIS IS NOT TRUE!

    I have an AT&T locked iPhone 4S that works with StraightTalk's prepaid AT&T network. Last night I went to an AIO kiosk to change my service (because StraightTalk on AT&T has gone to crap) and the SIM card WOULD NOT work with AIO.

    I tried to submit a request to AT&T to unlock my second-hand phone but their computer system automatically denied my request. I've personally owned the thing and have been using it on ST for over a year now... I'm not sure how much longer it will take before AT&T may unlock it for me.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,873
    Phones
    Nokia E71
    Nokia E71
    Iphone 3g
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    both are right

    1 att locked phones other than iphones will not have an issue with aio

    2 att iphones must be unlocked to work properly with aio.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    515
    Feedback Score
    0
    Cooter - do AT&T iPhones have to be unlocked to work with GoPhone? How about with Straight Talk? Thanks!

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,873
    Phones
    Nokia E71
    Nokia E71
    Iphone 3g
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by aKansasKid View Post
    Cooter - do AT&T iPhones have to be unlocked to work with GoPhone? How about with Straight Talk? Thanks!
    no with either st or gophone the iphone does not have to be
    unlocked.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    515
    Feedback Score
    0
    Thanks, Cooter!

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Honolulu, Hawaii
    Posts
    3,341
    Phone
    SM-N900A Samsung SGH-I337
    Carrier
    AT&T
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by cooter55 View Post
    no with either st or gophone the iphone does not have to be
    unlocked.
    I hope u r sending at&t n tracfone billing for service rendered. U tell'm u do more dan just tech n CS dan their own people

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    6,873
    Phones
    Nokia E71
    Nokia E71
    Iphone 3g
    Carriers
    Straight Talk
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Elpidio View Post
    I hope u r sending at&t n tracfone billing for service rendered. U tell'm u do more dan just tech n CS dan their own people

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A
    i should but getting folks on the right program that fits there needs is good enough.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    27
    Carrier
    aio Wireless
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by beekir View Post
    THIS IS NOT TRUE!

    I have an AT&T locked iPhone 4S that works with StraightTalk's prepaid AT&T network. Last night I went to an AIO kiosk to change my service (because StraightTalk on AT&T has gone to crap) and the SIM card WOULD NOT work with AIO.

    I tried to submit a request to AT&T to unlock my second-hand phone but their computer system automatically denied my request. I've personally owned the thing and have been using it on ST for over a year now... I'm not sure how much longer it will take before AT&T may unlock it for me.
    This.

    As I mentioned in another thread, for some reason iPhones have to be unlocked to work on aio. I don't know why, since I've had numerous people come from ST to us and inquire. It's rather frustrating, especially since people can't get their iPhones unlocked for a decent price anymore.

    Also beekir, have you tried seeing if a friend of yours that currently has AT&T service could do the request for you?

    Apparently AT&T's current unlock policy for phones not on contract is something like:

    - Current subscribers can unlock 5 devices per year.
    - Former AT&T post-paid customers are allowed 5 device unlocks per former account.

    I just helped a couple of friends unlock their phones using my previous account information.
    Disclaimer: I work for an authorized aio Wireless dealer. I do not work for corporate.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-04-2007, 09:25 PM
  2. will Rogers locked phone work with Fido service?
    By mc9180 in forum Rogers Wireless
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2006, 03:57 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-15-2004, 04:46 PM
  4. Can US AT&T locked phone work in Canad's rogers?
    By tpzhamann in forum Siemens
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 09-05-2003, 07:56 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks