Page 2 of 76 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 52 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 1135

Thread: 'Unlimited' International Data Speedtest!

  1. #16
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    354
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    There is a video on YouTube with someone who got 5 Mbps while roaming.

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,087
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by CrzyP View Post
    There is a video on YouTube with someone who got 5 Mbps while roaming.
    That's on the first page, and isn't really recent enough to show the throttled speeds.

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    184
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superking264 View Post
    What plan do you have and when did you do the speed test?
    Speed test was done on Nov 3,4 and 5th.

    I have the New Simple Choice plan activated on Oct 21.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    0
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991135.309925.jpg
Views: 3676
Size:  35.8 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991177.198315.jpg
Views: 3690
Size:  71.8 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991224.834410.jpg
Views: 3851
Size:  32.2 KB in Seoul icn airport, was also connected to sk but had an error accessing the web. This is using simple choice mobile broadband plan post paid

    Sent with the HoFo App
    Last edited by superking264; 11-09-2013 at 05:22 AM.

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    3,087
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile
    Feedback Score
    0
    I remember going to SK a few years ago with the intention of getting a local SIM for my unlocked iPhone 4. Little did I know that they were ONLY CDMA :\. Leeched a lot of free Wi-Fi.

    I'm assuming both carriers showed up in Settings > Carrier?

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    2,238
    Carrier(s)
    Tmobile Post-Pay
    Feedback Score
    0
    Why are the speeds not up to 128k? Wodnering if the speeds are generally what Tmobile says they should be.
    “The further a society drifts from truth the more it will hate those who speak it.”


    ― George Orwell

  7. #22
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    2,393
    Device(s)
    iPhone 6 64GB, iPad Air 32GB
    Carrier(s)
    T-Mobile USA
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superking264 View Post
    Name:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991135.309925.jpg
Views: 3676
Size:  35.8 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991177.198315.jpg
Views: 3690
Size:  71.8 KBName:  ImageUploadedByHoFo1383991224.834410.jpg
Views: 3851
Size:  32.2 KB in Seoul icn airport, was also connected to sk but had an error accessing the web. This is using simple choice mobile broadband plan post paid

    Sent with the HoFo App
    Did the internet take long to load web pages or stream music?

    ^HSPA+ 42mbps---------------------------------------------- ^LTE

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    5,103
    Device(s)
    N/A
    Carrier(s)
    Verizon Wireless;
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by money69 View Post
    Why are the speeds not up to 128k? Wodnering if the speeds are generally what Tmobile says they should be.
    Indeed. 128kbps is 16KB/sec, so 7 KB/sec is low. *shrug* still beats getting massive data charges. Could the Seoul airport just have heavily congested network?

    Given those speeds, that is a bit faster than dialup (speedtest.net) and about the same as dialup (2nd test.) Normal pages would load OK although noticeably slower than normal; graphics-heavy pages would be quite slow. I wouldn't bother with streaming music, at 56kbps or so the only streams that'd work would sound hideous.

    Sent from my SCH-I405 using HowardForums

  9. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,682
    Device(s)
    LG-G4, wife S7
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Just got back from China and Hong Kong. In China, TM only roams on China Mobile and that system only has 2G (EDGE). Speed test was 128KBS as measured on Samsung tablet tethered to an S4. (Wife's phone.) There is no real way to measure speed on my BB because of the way BB processes data.
    I was able to tether because I had switched my account to a business plan in Sept. which was then offering low cost intl. data packages. This was before the new intl. roaming feature was announced. It allows for tethering. Supposedly you can't tether on the basic intl. roaming plan now in effect unless u order a hispeed pkg.
    As a test, I could play Pandora without a hitch on my BB and listen to my Ducks lose to Stanford clear as a bell.
    GoogleVoice (domestic call forwarding and cheap intl. calls) Use GV to give us a "home" number in a 2nd location
    6 T-Mobile lines - Unlimited talk and text, data. 2G fast data on each line . $120/mo. + taxes. We have had no landline in more than 10 years.

  10. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    105
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by hwertz View Post
    Indeed. 128kbps is 16KB/sec, so 7 KB/sec is low. *shrug* still beats getting massive data charges. Could the Seoul airport just have heavily congested network?

    Given those speeds, that is a bit faster than dialup (speedtest.net) and about the same as dialup (2nd test.) Normal pages would load OK although noticeably slower than normal; graphics-heavy pages would be quite slow. I wouldn't bother with streaming music, at 56kbps or so the only streams that'd work would sound hideous.

    Sent from my SCH-I405 using HowardForums
    I actually used more than 15 mb in like an hour or so of my times there. It was good enough for emails, Facebook, etc. I couldn't connect to sk because of pdp authentication failure on iPhone and currently in Cambodia , I can not connect, I have tried various methods like resetting network setting and restarting



    Sent with the HoFo App

  11. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    4,393
    Carrier(s)
    ·T···Mobile·
    Feedback Score
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by superking264 View Post
    I actually used more than 15 mb in like an hour or so of my times there. It was good enough for emails, Facebook, etc. I couldn't connect to sk because of pdp authentication failure on iPhone and currently in Cambodia , I can not connect, I have tried various methods like resetting network setting and restarting



    Sent with the HoFo App
    My biggest gripe with the throttling t-mobile does is the way they do it. It just destroys the latency of the connection. Granted i haven't been throttled in a year, when i did, it was absolutely terrible. The throttling method they used was so bad that an unthrottled gprs connection would work flawlessly than a throttled gprs connection.

  12. #27
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    8,472
    Device(s)
    Nexus 6p,iphone 6s plus
    Carrier(s)
    VZW,T-mobile,Cricket,Fi
    Feedback Score
    0
    If the throttling is too aversive, one can pay $50 for 500MB of full speed data. Still better than the international roaming plans of VZW and AT&T.
    "I didn't get fat by accident. This was a personal choice. " - Kevin Gillespie

  13. #28
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    667
    Feedback Score
    0
    It's the throttling and T-Mobile's limitations on choice of carriers. Believe me, if you had a native SIM or paid the full $50 you would get full HSPA+ speeds. The reason of the latency is because the data is being tunneled back to T-Mobile USA's packet core in the USA then out to the internet. If you do a reverse traceroute you can see this. This is why the speedtest latency is so damn high. If you selected one based on geographic proximity to where T-Mobile is exiting the 3GPP tunnel you should get the minimum latency. Finally in China T-Mobile for their FREE service only allows roaming on China Mobile is seems (2G EDGE). They don't allow roaming on China Unicom which has full HSPA+21 in major cities. Again in 95% of countries there is HSPA+, and it seems in certain countries T-Mobile is taking the cheap route.

  14. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    381
    Feedback Score
    0
    Has anyone tried putting their Tmobile $50 plan phone sim in an iPad. Does it work?


    Sent with the HoFo App

  15. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Berkeley and Miami
    Posts
    4,682
    Device(s)
    LG-G4, wife S7
    Carrier(s)
    T-M
    Feedback Score
    0
    Wouldn't work in Samsung tablet. CS said I would need to be on data plan for sim to connect

Page 2 of 76 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 52 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 119
    Last Post: 10-27-2013, 06:56 PM
  2. Unlimited International Data on Sprint?
    By Sonic McTails in forum Sprint
    Replies: 38
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 02:35 PM
  3. Unlimited International Data Access
    By CellGeek in forum AT&T
    Replies: 89
    Last Post: 01-03-2010, 08:33 PM
  4. unlimited international data
    By chasealicious11 in forum AT&T
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 07-07-2009, 02:53 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2006, 12:02 AM

Bookmarks